Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

L'anse Creuse High School - North

Public | 9-12 | 1874 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

L'anse Creuse High School North, is absolutely the best school, I have 1 grad 2013, and a sophmore going here currently, I am so pleased how this school will not tolerate saggy pants, skipping school, grades are actually watched by the school and by parent portal (which I love) and drugs and bullying will NOT be tolerated. My sons graduation was 4 hrs long and that was due to recognition of 3/4 of the graduates were graduating with honors and national honors. I am looking forward to having 2 more children graduate from this school, oh and btw I almost forgot this school broke so many eduacational records in 2013 too :) This school is 5 stars not given lightly either
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

out of 5 i would give a 3 1/2 Last year i was a freshman there and it was THE BEST school year ever!!!! And the school is so nice looking and it only gets better each year. SAdly my home was wrecked by a tornado and my mother couldn't afford it so we had to move to Detriot. I was still kinda happy though because i thought i would still be able to go to North WRONG they said I couldn't stay!!! just because i lived in Detriot doesn't mean I dont deserve a good education they should have let me finish my last 3 years i've been in the district for 5 yrs for goodness sake... the Teachers are great!! But the administration is cruel and mean!!! L'anse cruese north used to be an open district WHAT happend!!! Well now I'm going to Warren Mott this year which is a better school anyway as far as sports, looks, and learning I just hope the people are as nice as they are at North. (Few racist kids but other than that everyones cool people also are kinda devided by Preps, Band geeks, Pot heads but for the most part everyone talks to everyone)
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2012

The administration is absolutely ridiculous. If you want them to get something done, you have to march down and actually demand it, otherwise you are out of luck. Many of them are also very rude, not only to students but parents alike. My mother was treated very rudely by someone in the main office when I first transferred into the district and came in for paperwork. In addition to that, many of the teachers there simply show up for just a paycheck. I will admit there are some wonderful teachers in the building, but so many teach straight out of the textbook and don't contribute anything interesting or unique in their lessons. The school has a strict tardy policy, but does absolutely nothing for unexcused absences. They put on a strict facade, but are lax on so many rules and definitely need to straighten out their priorities. I'd suggest looking at a different school in a different district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2006

I graduated from LCN in 1990. I now have 3 children in the district. The teachers and staff work with me as the parent and they are absolutely wonderful and supportive of my children and their success. The sport programs, are well managed and the coaches are very dedicated along with the parents. I highly recommend L'Anse Creuse Schools. They rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My 3 girls have had an excellent eduction in the LC District. My concerns are some of the disciplinary policies -- hall sweeps, tardy, and zero tolerance policies. These policies are highly antagonistic approaches. My girls had perfect attendance until high school and were marked absent for excused, school-related activities. Despite several attempts, the problems were never corrected and we all gave up. The approaches of Camp Cavell, peer counselors, student leaders, student courts, small schools, Pankow and its expansion, are much more effective, most of which LC is employing. My girls are accepted to top universities in this country and I credit LC and Butcher with giving them the education, study skills & opportunities. I truly believe that LC does an excellent job of teaching critical thinking skills and those could be deployed in designing resolutions to student disciplinary policies. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

I graduated from LCN in 2003. I think LCN is one of the best high schools around...the acidemic programs do get students ready for college if the student applies themselves. Teachers are wonderful and know what they are talking about. The counslers are always promoting college and trying to help students find information. I LOVE LCN!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2005

This school has some great sporting activities. Almost all the sports in the world. Gymnastics is one they dont have and i think they should. Lessons are boring but you have to do them. The teaching is good but some teachers are too soft on the bad students. I have seen fights and there handeled well. Sweeps in the halls though are ridoiculous. Your always panicking on where youve got to be and if yourll make it. It stresses people out. Overall, great school and excellent district!! im proud to say i go to lcn and show it off on all occasions possible. Lcn boys swim team rocks - crusaders!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2004

I believe that our school is maintained pretty well and that our principal shows very good leadership. Many parents think that our rules are not enforced well enough but I guess they do not understand how hard it is to be in high school since times have changed so much since they went to school. At LCN we have hall sweeps and in school suspension. We have a pretty high drop out rate and I think that things would change if it wasn't so hard to get to class instead of getting swept. So overall I do believe that our district including our school is excellent and I am proud to say that I go to North!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2003

L'Anse Creuse High School-North is not always the most pleasant school to be dealt with. Usually it's the overreactions of the teachers or miscounseling of the administrators. On the other side it's a nice district.


Posted September 18, 2003

Hallways, stairways, cafeteria, and desks have terrible litter and pop spills every single day, and gum under desks and on floors. The clean-environment policy is poorly enforced, and I recommend to be enforced greatly. This state of the school makes numerous of students nauseous just looking at the terrible litter everywhere. It smells terrible in the cafeteria, and poor food quality. Students should be informed when cars and lockers are checked for unappropriate items in school, such as beer bottles that I've seen numerous of times out of people's locker. Pocket knives being carried around alarms me. The fact that the principal smokes on school grounds is a terrible role model for students, and hypocritical. Drug tests should be enforced. Students behavior, language, attitude, apathy, lack of American Pride to sign simple petitions or donate to save historic sites, etc... are appalling. Students shouldn't be required to own a horse for the equestrian team, etc.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

495 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

424 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

427 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female32%
Male38%
African American8%
Asian64%
Hispanic18%
Multiracial9%
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female64%
Male52%
African American39%
Asian82%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students25%
Female21%
Male30%
African American8%
Asian50%
Hispanic18%
Multiracial9%
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students38%
Female37%
Male39%
African American23%
Asian64%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female54%
Male51%
African American29%
Asian75%
Hispanic36%
Multiracial27%
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

90%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
African-American 10% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Greg Dixon
Fax number
  • (586) 493-5275

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23700 21 Mile Road
Macomb, MI 48042
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 493-5270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dianne M. Pellerin Center
Charter Township of Clinton, MI






Mount Clemens High School
Mount Clemens, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT