Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Peter Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 585 students

Christ- Centered Education

 
 

Living in Macomb

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $171,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

My child learned much more at a faster pace in the local public school system. I feel I wasted my money here. Lots of cliques (students and their moms), mean-spiritedness and materialism that I would not expect in a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

We love St. Peters! Our two daughters have been attending St. Peters since preschool. We were drawn in by the wonderful teachers and the community that helps support this school. Both of my daughters classroom size is on the small side, which we love. They have alot of one on one contact with their teachers which has benefiting them tremendously. The new Principle for the past couple years has been moving this school in a great direction. I love that the school goes up to 8th grade. The middle school years are full of great service projects, Outdoor Education and Washington D.C. trip. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

The school has very caring teachers. We transferred here last year and the teachers were great about helping my kids adjust to the new school. There is great communication between the school, teachers, and parents. I have been really impressed with my children's education here. I have been very happy with my decision to send my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

Our family loves St. Peter school. We feel blessed that our children are being taught in a Christian environment, with caring teachers and staff! We love that the school goes up to 8th grade, with no middle school transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

We LOVE St. Peter Lutheran School. It not only provides my girls with a top notch education, but they are taught daily how much they are loved by God. My daughters are growing up in a Christian home and at a school where they can be also be taught in a Christian environment. The teachers, staff and families care about their school, their fellow students and the well being of the families. Education at St Peter is excellent . The love is learning is witnessed daily by both teachers and students. I recommend St Peter to anyone who wants a wonderful education for their child and an environment where they are taught that God loves them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

St. Peter teachers really care about their students and their student s families! Our family has gone through a very difficult time the past few months with the loss of a father/grandfather and sister/aunt. These family members lived out of state which made everything more difficult because we couldn t always be there in person to support them. Our family received such support from our friends, school faculty and church staff. We could not have gotten through this time without our praying friends at St. Peter. One of our teachers took some extra time to write a note to my mother to let her know that she had been praying for our family. The note touched my mother s heart and comforted her to know that her grandsons were in a Christian school that had such caring teachers! Our family is so thankful for the countless hours our teachers put in to our children s daily life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this school. It has been such a wonderful place for my children to grow and learn. We came from a public school system, it was overcrowded and impersonal. My children are now not just a number and they love going to school each and every day. The staff is very kind and caring. My kids are learning more than they did at their other school. Sports and extra curricular activities abound. We are so glad we discovered St. Peter Lutheran School, and made the move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

As a graduate of St. Peter Lutheran School, I am proud that all 3 of my children are students there today. They are receiving an excellent academic and Lutheran based education. Homework assignments are helpful and reinforce the lessons learned during the day. The course load is challenging and we believe preparing them for the next steps... high school and college. Our children are really involved in the extra curricular sports and we are grateful there are so many opportunities to be active after school. We are truly proud to be St. Peter Patriots and we are grateful for our teachers, adminstrative staff and pastors who lead our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

Choosing this school for our 4 children has been one of the very best decisions we've made as parents! We've attended for 7 years, and 2 years prior in the preschool. It has been an amazing experience and we would and have recommended it to anyone. We love the small class sizes, the caring staff, the academic program, extra-curricular activities, close-knit family feel, but most importantly the Christ-centered education! We not only have invested in our children's academic future, but in their eternal futures as well! How God has blessed our family through this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

After trying out several schools in the area, St Peter met and exceeded all of our expectations. The teachers have the experience and certifications to meet academic standards and have a genuine love for the children. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

We are new to this school, but so far I am very impressed with the education my children are receiving. It is a tight knit, caring community. I feel lucky to have my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Both of our children were being bullied and being told they both had ADHD and needed drugs. When we talked to the principle all he could offer was to "pray" We pulled both of them and they are now honor students and in the AP program. No regrets at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

My child was not taught what he should have been. We left and do not regret for one second our decision. The principal needs to retire and they need to liven it up. With all the cliques, it feels like high school all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

I attended this school for my entire elementary experience and it is a tremendous school. The principal and teachers are top-notch and are caring Christian examples for the students in their care. It is a large school that still retains the small school feel.


Posted June 3, 2004

My son who was dismissed by Chippewa Valley educators as 'disorganized' and 'unmotivated' attended here for 3 years. He is now on the honor roll at Lutheran High North. My other son will graduate from St. Peter this year, and my daughter will graduate in 2 years. Lots of parent involvement and extracurricular activities from sports to music to camp to an 8th grade Gettysburg/Washington class trip. There is a strict dress code that is enforced and discipline that is not heavy handed, but also strict. This school was actually recommended to me by a Chippewa Valley 5th grade teacher (who by the way sends her own kids to private school--a very telling gesture).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
African-American 0% 19%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kyle Chuhran
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (586) 781-9296

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17051 24 Mile Rd
Macomb, MI 48042
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 781-9296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oxford Academy
Macomb, MI



Beacon Tree Elementary School
Shelby Township, MI


Richard J. Duncan Elementary
Shelby Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT