Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sequoyah Elementary School 3

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
While Sequoyah is a good/okay school...it is way too big for the under 7 years old. The little ones need to move around not practice for school district tests. Like all schools...there are a great deal of free days where I wonder why my kids are going to school around the holidays and the conference pre/post days. There is no reason to have kids struggling when you can use these days to help the kids who are behind. Don't get me wrong there are a great deal of good things going on at Sequoyah...it's just too big. Why do the 1st graders have specials at the end of the day? They have science at the end of the day when the hour is cut short since the science teacher had to help the kids get dressed to leave. Poor planning. I also feel like the kids have to "conform" to the overall class. If they don't fit the mold then the kids are considered the one that should get extra help outside the school.

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. We've been so fortunate to have such fabulous teachers. My kids love school and I am looking forward to sending my 3rd daughter to Sequoyah this Fall! The parents are very involved in the classroom and the principle is active in the classroom and receptive to the parents always.


Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
We are just starting there in the fall, and have been very impressed with the Principal and his responsiveness to a few requests we have made. We also attended a kindergarten open house in the spring and the staff was very prepared to address any and all questions. If the school year is anything like our first impressions, it will be a great school

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
This year was my first experience with Sequoyah and I couldn't be happier. I had high expectations and the school has surpassed them:) My son's first grade teacher (Mrs. Collar) is amazing. We have one starting K in the fall and are very excited to have 2 at Sequoyah.

Sequoyah Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
Our son went to 2 seperate private Montessori schools for 1st and 2nd yr. preschool which was extraordinary! So my expectations were set very high. I was extremely nervous about the public schools but had heard mostly positive things about Seqouyah. He started K-garden and he is completely obsessed with school. He gets ready 1st thing in the morning and he doesn't start until 12:40. He was a strong reader prior to Seqouyah but now he is at 3rd grade level per his teacher at this weeks conference. We are very happy. It's always important to work a lot with your child at home, which we do so much but it is just an added bonus when our children have a great experience at school, both socially and academically. I'd like to see more disinfecting and washing of hands but our son has never had more than a cold!


Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2010
- a parent
The principal is a very professional and dedicated person. I definitely recommend this school.

Sequoyah Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
We have at Sequoyah since it opened and have never had any problems. I think that the illness notices are overkill. With that many people in one place there are bound to be germs. Saturating the place in disinfectant is only going to cause more sickness from the excess toxins in the air. In the time that we've been there my children have never been sick. That said, the staff and teachers are great. Problems are quickly resolved and parent involvement is welcomed.

Sequoyah Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
The only thing that I really do not like is that they are not really parent friendly. We go in the school and wait for our children and we have absolutly no where to sit and wait. They should have benchs at least. Because all the kids come out at different times and sometimes we stand there for a half hour and some people who have problems with hips or legs and so on have a difficult time standing there. The other problem with the school is I rarely see a Janator cleaning and this has been the first school that I get notices from telling us about so many illnesses. Flus, and diseases and lice and so on. I think they need to disinfect more. A lot more. My kids never got this sick as they have at this school. I really wish I would see more cleaning going on.

Nearby schools

Sequoyah Elementary School
18500 24 Mile Road, Macomb, MI  48042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (586) 723-7000
Last modified Sequoyah Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top