Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ojibwa Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 658 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

This is truly a great school. I moved my kids here this year, from a private school and I was blown away by how wonderful the teachers and the Principal are. My children have come so far and are above grade level. The Principal goes above and beyond any other principal. To the person who posted 2 negative reviews about detention recess...I had a child in 4th grade and I made sure we stayed on top of AR. The teachers made it easy by having parents sign the AR log every week, so it should not be a surprise. If the parents do not want to hold their children accountable, thankfully the teachers will! They are doing it to better the child, not be mean. My only complaint with this school is that many parents PARK in the drop-off lane in the morning, get out and chit chat or sit in the car and watch their kids stand in line. It makes it near impossible and frustrating to drop off your kids. I think a drop off/park procedure needs to be implemented and periodically enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I always thought Ojibwa Elementary was a good school. This change when I found out that my child from the fourth-grade pod was serving a long term detention for failing to attain their reading goals with Accelerated Reading Program. They have also been serving their detention with students who are there over behavior issues. This was done to my child without my knowledge. From this experience, I found that this tactic is used by all the teachers who reside from the Fourth-Grade Pod. As well, this policy is also supported by the school's Principle. For this reason only, my child will not be attending Ojibwa next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

My school is great. Except, they take away a child recess and put them into detention with children who have behavior problems in school because they fail to meet their reading goals with the Accelerated Reading Program. For this reason, I am moving my children to a different school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I disagree with the unfair review of Mrs. K. My children had her as teacher and I found her caring and organized. She gave my daughter extra attention in reading and my daugher grew to love reading. I thought her technology skills were a real plus, too. It's kinda lame to lump tenure, unions, and "these awful teachers" in a review like this. And to say " every parent I've talked to.." - that's just gossip. If you have a problem with every teacher, then maybe you just have a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

the comments posted about Ms K may be considered libelous and as such inappropriate for public dissemination. It seems these comments have violated the GreatSchools Terms of Use and as such should be removed. It is not helpful to the community to be exposed to defamatory remarks about the teachers who educate our children. I am disappointed to see this type of material on this website.


Posted May 19, 2011

I am very pleased with Ojibwa. My child has excelled at this school and enjoys the school very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

Mrs. Kimmel is, by far, the worst teacher my 3 kids have ever had. She's uncaring, unorganized (loses kids homework), negative. Not once has she put a positive comment on a paper or test. She wants to be in Technology so she has a chip on her shoulder and takes it out on the kids. My son hated school thanks to her. We had to do damage control to undue all her influence. Every parent and neighbor I've talked to whose kid was in her class had the same complaints and she turned their kids against liking school to. Thanks to unions and tenure we're stuck with these awful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I have to say that Mr. Rose, is a very caring Principal. I am very happy with how my concerns were addressed when it came to my daughters dissaproval of her teacher. I think some teachers do not need to be so overly strict. My daughter became so distraught she did not want to go to school anymore. And that's where I draw the line. So my experience, and my daughters was not a positive one. Whoever heard of detention recess anyway?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

My Children went to St. Thecla Catholic school (awful experience) and we made the switch to Ojibwa. The transition was very smooth with wonderful caring teachers and principal active in the care of our 2 children. They are 'A' students and are now surrounded with a more loving and nurturing community ! Who would have thought that a public school had so MUCH MORE to offer ! Thanks Ojibwa !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

I have been very satisfied with Ojibwa. My daughters are currently in 2nd and 4th grades and have done very well. The teaching staff continues to get younger, bringing in those that have the most recent training and are willing to try new things (especially programs that are researched-based and proven to work). Like any school, there are a few teachers that seem to still be stuck in the 1980s mode of teaching, but I'm sure you'll find that anywhere. The principal is a very good guy, and the PTO is quite active and provides many opportunities for our children to interact in fun and educational ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

My experience at this school has been very negative. I think that teaching is a profession that only few very talented rare individuals can handle. It is not just a 'job' and should not be treated as one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
African-American 6% 18%
Asian 4% 3%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Rose
Fax number
  • (586) 723-6401

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46950 Heydenreich Rd
Macomb, MI 48044
Phone: (586) 723-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT