Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mohawk Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 512 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

This school has great community involvement. The principal has handled any problem we have had wonderfully and quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This is a review of the office staff. They are not knowledgeable and need training to stay up to date. We were told that our State issued Birth Certificate was not indeed a birth certificate. Very rude, told us to call the county to get a real birth certificate. Well, it turns out this is a real birth certificate. Sorry to the incompetent office staff who can't read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2013

My daughter started here in the fall of 2012 and I must say it has been a wonderful experience so far! She is already reading and is so happy to go to school every morning. Her Kindergarten teacher is so dedicated and works so hard with the students. The new principal is amazing and I attribute the positive environment to his great leadership skills. The activities are endless and well I cant say enough about Mohawk!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

I LOVE Mohawk! After six years at the school, my kids have experienced many of the teachers and we've enjoyed them all. My oldest son just started middle school this year and we're finding that he was definitely well-prepared by Mohawk's teachers. Also, for my middle child who struggled with reading and fine motor skills, but not enough to qualify for special education services, Mohawk provided very effective remediation instruction which has helped him "catch up" to his classmates. Very happy overall with Mohawk!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I just moved my child to this school, and so far I am pleasantly surprised. Our third grade teacher has been wonderful. My child is very happy at Mohawk, and they have been great about challenging her academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

the quality of academic programs at Mohawk for the past 4 years are not acceptable, the teachers need to be held accountable. Extracurricular activities are above average. Parent involvement? What parent involvement, I have tried to volunteer for 4 years and only was welcomed 4 times, once a year. Teachers do not want the parents ionvloved because then everyone will know what they are not teaching our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I'm pretty pleased with this school so far, my kids are reading and they have just started 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Oh my god! since we moved to our new house, and my kids went to Mohawk i had such a problem with this school. At one point they told me that my son has ADHD when i have him tested with 4-5 different doctor's psychiatrist, all comes back negative..I was so upset and call her back and start questioning on how they handle the kids in this school. this just proves to me that this school is not capable of teaching any children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

Our child only went to kindergarten here and it was the longest year of his (and our) lives. The teacher had favorites from the very beginning. When phone calls came home she was defensive and very condescending. The principal does not have a clue what is going on in the school. This school is a disgrace. We will never be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

I left Mohawk after K-3 with my daughter. Teachers lack enthusiasm to go the extra mile. I never met the principal. My child always complained of boredom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

This is my daughters first year at Mohawk(came from a different CVS). I am very impressed with the caring and thoughtful teaching staff. I am surprised by the negative comments by parents. I spend a lot of time in the school and see the dedicated staff working above and beyond what their duties are. The curriculum that my daughter is receiving exceeds state standards. My daughter who is in first grade is reading far more then any of her peers that are attending different schools (private and public). I also believe reading (or any learning) is something that has to be reinforced at home. I believe if parents invested more time with their child they would be surprised how important their involvement is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

The staff at Mohowak is second to none. They are kind, caring and enthusiastic. I have several children in this school. We are very happy with the quality of education provided. The support staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I have to agree to most of the posted messages. This is my daughters first year at Mohawk,and two weeks in ,I am already concerned with the academic portion of her learning. Yes, she can make green frogs and purple cows out of construction paper, yes she can play in the gym, but where in all this is the learning? I can send her to a play group for those things. When I called to express my concerns I was met with indignation...and a phone call from the teacher with a blanketed reprimand for not being at the open house...some of us have to work. I am also very aggrieved with the fact that they are treating this school as a business; Entertainment books, catalogs, booth rental, the list..and the paperwork goes on and on..I fear that my daughters education is not the focus; but making money is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Absolutely concerned with the lack of education my child has received at Mohawk Elementary School. Many of the teachers are lazy and are there just to collect a paycheck. Even the teachers I used to respect have greatly disappointed me these last 2 years. If these teachers are not held accountable for the failures and/or success of their students, I should have the right to put my tax dollars into a school that cares, without having to move. There is no proud moment in admitting what elementary school my child attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

We came from a blue ribbon school of excellence in a different state, and boy can you tell the difference. The curriculum is sub-par, most of the teachers are dull and uninspiring, the office staff is miserable. My children will not be in this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

On our second student at this school, with one more to go. Not crazy about the music or science specials. Front desk staff not super friendly, so I feel sorry for the kids that have to go to the office. Haven't seen any new ideas in the way of curriculum or projects. Sometimes it seems as though they are doing just the basics. Live just far enough away to not get a bus, but am stuck in the traffic out on main road. Will probably homeschool my 4th grader next 2 years to keep student out of here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 6, 2005

I have to totally disagree with the other reviews given here. Mohawk Elementary is a great school! My child is in the first grade. I have found the staff to be very knowledgable about child development, as well as exceptionally caring! As with any good school, there are many teachers that go beyond the minimum. One does not have to look hard to find them among the staff at Mohawk. Supportive parents are amongst them as well. Together, the staff works as a team and provide an excellent education for the students. Additionaly, Mohawk is an excellent school outside of the classroom. Their art and gym programs are second to none. I would not send my kids to school anywhere but Mohawk. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

There are bright spots among the faculty, but not many. The same kids are the teachers' pets year after year. There is little in the way of innovation and many of the teachers often seem indifferent. The front lobby is not vibrant and the office staff is well-known for being less than welcoming. I know exciting programs exist elsewhere and elementary school can be fascinating. Just not at Mohawk. I am not a picky parent, but I have been thinking that my kids would get a superior education in neighboring school districts. Mohawk provides an unenthused, bare-bones educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

Overall the instructors at this facility are burned out. They manage to get through the 'school day' and then race out of the building in front of their students. Very little concern for the leaders of tommorrow!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Asian 4% 3%
African-American 3% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher Gardner
Fax number
  • (586) 723-6201

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

48101 Romeo Plank Rd
Macomb, MI 48044
Phone: (586) 723-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT