Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lessenger Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 318 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Lessenger has some excellent teachers, and the Chinese program is a huge bonus. I would recommend lessenger without reservation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

I am very happy with the Teachers and Principal. I think they try very hard to teach our children to really start to forward think and empower the kids to think for them self. I love the conversations I have with my kids about school. The Parents are a part of the school and I think that makes a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

Coming from the Madison District, it didn't take much to impress me; however, this school is beyond anything I could have hoped for! My children (1st and 5th graders) are both excelling and really enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

I have always loved that the teachers work so hard with the students and also with the parents. I will miss it when my daughter is done in a year. I have never not be happy with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

THe kindergarten and Kindergarten Enrichment programs are great. My twins go there and love their teachers and love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Fantastic school in a fantastic district! I went there and I wish we lived closer so that my daughter could go there too!


Posted September 20, 2007

I have two children at Lessenger pre-k and 4th grade. The Teacher teaches the curriculum but they also give great social support at lessenger. I know that when my child is away at school they are in good hands. I do not have to worry about either of them. My children stay intrigued, stimulated and organized at lessenger. Mrs. Jarvis is great the teachers highly qualified and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

This is the worst school ever! I had three children enrolled (preschool, 2nd grade and 4th grade) and the teachers were all terrible. Let me make my self clear... Both of my school age children were very advanced and had no issues in prior schools.(My son won the spelling bee, etc) Lessenger does get high marks for academics... It's nice to know how well the teachers score on the MEAPS. Also in closing, I was the Room Mom in my childrens class and was the V.P at the prior school. My children are now at Hiller and very happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

As a parent of 2 children attending Lessenger since 2003, I have to say I'm totally impressed with everything about this school. Coming into the school, my oldest had some behavior and socialization problems. The teacher tried everything in her power to help. The principal was beyond helpful! As a team, we worked to find a 'cure.' We helped him to become a better student. The extracurricular activities are fabulous. Parental involvement is stellar. I've read a couple of negative reviews and think that maybe these parents weren't the kind to give to the school, but only wanted the school to give to them. I recommend this school extensively!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

This school is wonderful, my son gets all the support he needs. I'm so glad there is schools of choice. My daughter now attends kindergarten at Lessenger and loves it! There is more parent & staff involvement than I have ever seen at my sons previous schools. My youngest attends the preschool at Lessenger also and she loves it. If I didn't take my son out of the district we belong to he would still be having such a hard time and being made fun of by other kids. This doesn't happen at this school. The staff are all great. Our whole family loves Lessenger!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

I sent my daughter to this school and I have to disagree with the comments before mine. This is not the
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Good school overall with caring staff.Teachers available if any issues arise with homework or other matters involving your children. Would reccomend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

I am shocked as well with the comment from Nevember 2004. This school has done so much to help my child. Everyone there does so much. We come from another district & the difference is very noticable. So I can say I am glad also that there is schools of choice! If not my child wouldnt be getting the extra help he needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

I am shocked by the November 2004 comment by a parent. Perhaps that student had some issues? Lessenger is a wonderful school. My children have all thrived here. The teachers (including art, music and gym), the principal, latch key staff, lunchroom staff, secretaries and janitorial staff are ALL wonderful. We couldn't ask for a better school or curriculum. The extra-curricular programs and events are well thought out and maintained. With so many working parents in the school community I am still amazed at the involvement we have here at Lessenger. Thank you Lessenger for enriching my children in so many ways. I never have to worry about my child, I know she is safe and in good hands. There is never a day that she does not want to go to school! What a loving and caring school we have! Chris
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I love the principal of this school! She is genuinely concerned with the children and their families. There is a high number of special needs students here. She is willing to work with the parents concerning school discipline for each child's individual social/emotional needs. I had a serious issue with bus transportation that no one else seemed to want to try to solve. As a last resort, I contacted the principal not knowing if she would care or tell me bus trans- portation was not her concern. She was very pleased that I talked to her. She said she thought there was an issue with this particular bus, but had no idea it was that serious. She dealt with the problem and made a phone call. I did not have another problem. Had I known her level of concern I would have gone to her earlier concerning this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

Lessenger has been nothing short of wonderful. I find the Teachers and staff more than willing to help. They offer Cooking club, which my children LOVE, they also have family fun nights at no charge. It is a wonderful school family to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2004

The more my child is at this school the less I am impressed. I am told that this is the best elementary out of the 4 elementaries in Lamphere. If that is true, they better re-define the word best. The teachers teach the cirriculum but not the student. Lamphere district is not as great as I was told. The test scores may be right up there but the standards, ethics and conduct are not. I fault the district administrators as well as the school's faculty. Wake up Lamphere - your district is failing the grade with parents and students. Thank goodness there is school of choice - I intend to exercise that option.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
Asian 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 4% 18%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jane Jurvis
Fax number
  • (248) 589-8853

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30150 North Campbell Road
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 589-0556

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Japhet School
Madison Heights, MI



Keller Elementary
Royal Oak, MI


Hiller Elementary School
Madison Heights, MI


Edmonson Elementary School
Madison Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT