Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Foley Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Madison Heights

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $67,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

Bishop Foley is great for quick learners, unfortunately neither the teachers nor the guidance counselor knows how to deal with kids that do not understand the first time something is explained to them. As a parent, I tried to be involved but was told it was my son's responsibility and the school would help him. I am still waiting for the help. For the cost to attend, I would expect the teachers to make sure he is learning and not just stand in the front of the room and lecture,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

An excellent school with caring and compassionate teachers who care about providing an education with a solid moral foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

Bishop Foley Catholic challenges children to be the best they can be, and then a little more! The staff cares and knows every student, and are often seen at functions after their school day is over. Foley gives every child the tools they will need to be quality citizens and well prepared college students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

All three of my children have attended Bishop Foley. I am proud to be an alumnus parent. Not only were they given an excellent education, the teachers there gave their time to see students before and after school and offered help when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Our family has been involved with Bishop Foley Catholic High School since 2001. We preferred our children attend a Catholic school of their choice. Even though our oldest was offered a scholarship to another school, she choose BFC. Our other two children also chose BFC. BFC offers a strong religious foundation, challenging course work and the opportunity to interact with Christian faculty and students. Extra curricular activities and sports help students learn new skills outside the classroom. The school is large enough to offer many different programs but not so big that interested students are excluded. Our oldest graduated from MSU in 3 1/2 years and felt very prepared for the challenge. Our second is attending Oakland University. Both were able to earn college credit by taking the AP classes and tests offered by BFC. Our youngest will graduate soon. We will miss being involved with BFC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Bishop Foley is a top notch educational institution grounded in Catholic values. Having attended Foley for 4 years, I have seen the level of education provided. They offer a wealth of AP, Honors, and College Prep classes to prepare and challenge every student. The technical training available is top notch, featuring multi-million dollar drafting software. The arts department constantly produces brilliant fine and performing artists. The extra-curriculars available are top notch and appeal to a wide range of tastes. From our nationally-acclaimed robotics team to theater to sewing, there is something for everyone. The administration is always willing to work with students and parents alike to make sure that you are truly part of the Foley Family. Best of Luck, MD Class of '08
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

Bishop Foley not only excels in the classroom and in extracurriculars, as I have already stated, but it is also a force to be reckoned with in athletics. Competing in the Catholic League, we constantly face off against the best teams in the state. With 13 state championships in soccer (11 women's, 2 men's), winning is a proud tradition. Each and every one of our teams has numerous league, district, and regional championships. Our teams are annually ranked in statewide competition. However, the size of the school allows all students a chance to play and learn in a stress-free environment. JV teams exist and most sports, with Freshman level teams in many as well. Foley's size and Catholic background make it a winner in all aspects. Sincerely, MD Class of '08
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

As a parent of eight children it was important for us to find a school that fit the needs of so many different personalities. Bishop Foley offers a variety of levels of classes that fit any students needs. The courses are wonderfully taught by highly qualified caring teachers. The Honors and AP courses are great. Extracurriculra activties are numerous and varied. Great school, great staff. Family friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I am the mother of 2 very different children. One is involved in sports, the other in anything but sports. Both my kids have found their own 'home' within Bishop Foley. The classes are challenging and the teachers are very receptive to interaction with the parents. I have never waited more then 24 hours for a response to any of my questions. If you want to be an involved parent, you are welcomed with open arms. It is a great feeling to be able to contribute your time and energy to making your child's high school experience the best it can be. The school is small enough that my kids don't get lost, but large enough to offer a wide range of activities and organizations to participate in. One of the best decisions in my parenting career!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My family loves Bishop Foley Catholic. The academics are superior, with the most AP courses we could find in any area Catholic school. The athletics, robotics club, two school plays per year, etc. -- I could go on and on. Most importantly, however, and the reason why we are at Foley, is the strong traditional Catholic education. Unlike other area schools, it is authentic and it is emphasized. It is a welcoming, co-educational community and I simply cannot recommend it more highly. Talk to Fr. Gerry and you'll see why I feel as I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Bishop Foley Catholic High School is nothing short of spectacular. From the academics, the sports to the clubs that are available to students. We have been at the school for two years and find it to fit all the needs of my high schoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

5 stars for sure! Bishop Foley Catholic is an awesome high school. The students show a tremendous amount of respect for each other, parents and staff. At sporting events, it is nice to have nice families who are having fun and enjoying games, rather than the rude and egotistical parents I met at NDP. Foley is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

at first i was torn between bishop foley and mercy, my child wanted to go to bishop foley with her friends but i wanted her to go to mercy. finally i gave in and sent her to bishop foley. I will never regret making this desicion and i feel very strongly about foley and i know that my daughter has made many new friends and also kept the old ones. she particaptes in many different extracurricular programs and now dances, plays soccer and plays softball at foley. We love it!


Posted January 24, 2008

Bishop Foley is an amazing school. It truly is a family atmosphere. The teachers are great. Many are willing to come early and stay late to help kids not only with school subjects but life in general as well. The teachers truly care and are relatable. As a student here for four years and having older siblings attend BFCHS I can say that Foley has been apart of my life for a long time and I am thankful for that. I feel prepared and ready for college. Foley is not only great in the classroom but athletically as well. The soccer program is amazing. Every year the team is a family with a great coach. Looking at other schools such as Regina, Ladywood, Marian, and Mercy, Foley beat them all. I would recommend Foley to anyone, academically, athletically, and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

Dear Parent, In respect to education standards, Bishop Foley was a wonderful environment to promote mental growth and learning. The High School strives to provide its students with all the necessary information to achieve high test scores. Also, the athletic and music program is phenomenal. If your child is interested in the school, but may have no friends that will be attending with them... why not send them on an observation day. A shadow or an observation day is a nice way for your son or daughter to sit in on classes and activities for the day and make friends before they choose to attend. Lastly, I was very pleased as a multicultural and multiracial student. If your child is multicultural or multiracial, this school definitely will celebrate their culture. , Sincerely 03' graduate SNB
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2007

I love bishop foley! .They have such a great soccer program. If you have a child who plays soccer I would strongly suggest sending them there. We've looked at Ladywood, mercy, marion and regina but bishop foley tops them all!


Posted September 4, 2007

I went here a few years ago and there are many extracurricular activities at this school. Great soccer program and other sports programs. The Spanish, English, and Biology departments are strong but if you wish to excel in the challenging Math courses, do not choose this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2007

I have just graduated from Bishop Foley this May. It has been a wonderful 4 years there. I think that the classes are very challenging and have well prepared me for college. I believe taht the veteran teachers are superb and have much knowledge to share with students. For those people who put up unfavoring opinions, they are obviously people who were not up to the challenge and discipline a catholic school like Foley offers. There are plenty of opportunities to join sports teams and clubs at Foley. The parents never cease to give their time to Foley. I personally love Foley and I would never hesitate to send my future children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2007

Foley has been an exceptional school for my two daughters. The academic standards are very high and students are challenged to excel in a variety of areas. Academics and athletics are very important but not as important as the individual. Each daughter found she was valued as a person with a unique identity. A profound spiritual core helped to anchor my daughters especially in these difficult times. The administration works diligently to provide a secure, spiritually strong, college prep campus for all those who enter Foley. Opportunities are unlimited and all a student needs to do is take the risk to join either sports or extracurricular activities. Bishop Foley has been a legacy that continues to reward my daughters everyday. It was a blessing that we discovered this Catholic centered caring community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

My son came in as a sophmore from another catholic school, he was treated ok, has had a little difficulty adjusting as far as the kids go, and classes are a little more involved which we think is a good thing, we are overall very positive about the school so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 69%
African-American 5% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Patricia Domagala
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 528-2753

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32000 North Campbell Road
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 585-1210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lamphere High School
Madison Heights, MI





Lamphere Center
Madison Heights, MI


Royal Oak High School
Royal Oak, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT