Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manchester High School 2

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
I have a child at this school and cannot recommend it...sorry! This school is like a crooked government. If a child is receiving an F, they are punished instead of helped, even if they are getting all A's in other classes. Their policy on Failure is not an Option punishes children for needing help/ If a student is failing because they need help, not simply for screwing up and not doing work, it dont matter. They get a detention! Its a horrible thing to see that the kids are being forced to teach themselves.

Manchester High School 1

Posted March 11, 2012
- a student
Take it from some one that went through this school system. Going to MHS was not that great. There are rules that are set to follow but not every teacher enforced the rules. When I was there, there were only 3 teachers that did and the student body didn't like them just because they were doing there job. That and because their classes were hard and they didn't want to do any real work. I felt like a lot of the teachers there let the students get away with a lot just so they would be liked. When I graduated and went to college, it was a huge step and was very hard so i do not believe Manchester does not do a good enough job in educating and preparing their students for the next step, college. Also, they let the students get away with so much that they can pass a lot of classes by doing very little work. If you're a parent concerned about the education you child is getting don't send them to Manchester.


Manchester High School 5

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
Manchester is not as large as the fancy high schools in Ann Arbor, and has fewer resources. But there are many great teachers and competent administrators. One of my children was accepted into a VERY selective college (and did well), and my other child was accepted at another VERY selective school (and did well). They mentioned on several occasions how their high school classes had prepared them completely for some of their math/science classes in that much of the college material was review. And every teacher and staff member knows every student by name.

Manchester High School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a community member
Great school and a safe neiborhood. Small class sizes let the teacher and the student connect and learn better. I have been to other schools in the district and never seen more motivated teachers. The AD is a GREAT man with morals that cares about the education and wellfair of the students more than the sports the school offers. Make a visit, i guarantee you will love this school.

Manchester High School 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
Ideal sized school had the highest test scores in Washtenaw County; it is in the top tier statewide. 400 students is perfect size. New principal has brought many much needed changes. Big school class offerings, small school attention. As the site says, one of the best schools in MI.


Manchester High School 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Manchester High School 1

Posted November 21, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Manchester High School 1

Posted June 01, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Manchester High School 3

Posted January 02, 2006
- a administrator
discipline level low, football players given leeway, athletic director is football coach so theres no soccer program. dress code fairly non existent, VERY short skirts are allowed. rather close-minded community, some decent young teachers. paraprofessionals available, they do little good though (glorified babysitters). Parents not very supportive, community influence holds schools forward progress back. Principal leaving next year so he's a lame duck.

Manchester High School 5

Posted November 16, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manchester High School
20500 Dutch Drive, Manchester, MI  48158
(734) 428-7333
Last modified Manchester High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manchester High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top