Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mason High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1038 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2013

I moved from another state four years ago and started eighth grade at Mason. I loved every minute of my eighth grade year. I am now a senior. I have a 3.6 GPA and I have loved each and every one of my teachers. I moved from a school where I had no friends. I was bullied constantly and because I didn't play soccer of football I was an outcast. Mason has made me feel so welcome. They care equally about sports and acedemics. The Mason community is very supportive of each other as well. Mason is a wonderful school and community to move to. I am so proud to be a part of Mason and I am very happy that my family moved here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2011

I wasn't the best student when i attended mason. That being said I had soooo many teachers that worked really hard to help me get the grades i needed to not only pass but actually make honor roll. While i was in school I wasn't thrilled about the fact that it is a smaller school caught between country roads and an antique town, but now that i am older I really think that had I gone to nearly any other school I may have dropped out all together. My teachers were amazing and actually really care about the students. My fiance also went to mason and he loved it while he attended mason schools.


Posted October 11, 2010

As a former student, I do feel as though MHS is a pretty decent school. Just keep in mind, however, it is in a conservative city.


Posted December 21, 2009

First off, I would just like to say that I find it shameful that anyone would attack the staff and students of this great school. Most of these comments seem to be based in ignorance, not fact. Either way, Mason High School is a school filled with great teachers, students, and programs. The staff is always there to help, offering before and after school labs, and taking a hands on approach to teaching. In addition to many math, science, and literature courses, Mason High School offers many courses in technology, programing, and electronics. Mason High School also has a wide variety of choices for it's lunch, ala cart, and vending machines.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

My son with Down's syndrome attends Mason High school and has been loved and cherished by both staff and students alike. The CBI teacher as well as another mainsream teacher are amazing and gifted individuals who have made my son's experience at the school both amazing for him and for the student body. This School is number one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Mason Public Schools staff care about life long learning for all people to live to their fullest potential. The staff motivate students and instill the love of learning. Mason High School staff and students are caring, contributing members of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Mason High School has great instructors who care about your child. They have a program that helps your son or daughter be accountable for their grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great staff, caring staff and awesome students and parents in the Community Based instruction Program. School-family-community team!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

MHS is the most awesome high school. The Special Ed. program is the best! The aides and teachers go way beyond what is expected and make it so the students really benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

Whether referring to numerous advanced courses or a wide range of after school activities, Mason High school offers a tremendous amount to its students. Counselors, teachers and principals are constantly offering ways to get involved with the school. After all, the more that is put into a school and an education, the more that will come out of it. Lessons are actively taught and many teachers invest the time in preparing students for future college courses through different teaching methods. In fact, most teachers promote learning information beyond what is required in the curriculum. Even if you're having trouble in courses, teachers will meet with you after school and/or suggest peer tutors. Plenty of opportunities are offered by Mason High school, a school that establishes a strong base for a successful future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

I would like to say that Mason's mathematics program is one of the best in the area. The teachers at Mason developed their own curriculum to meet state standards and don't teach from a textbook. Students are given resources from all over the country. Math classrooms at Mason High School use technology as a tool and use innovative lessons to teach students not only what they need to learn, but also what is necessary to be a successful student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2007

Masons Math program is very poor. Even most of the teachers did not agree w/it. This will be changed next year, too late for my children. Several poor quality teachers in core areas who don't teach or if you're not in the sport they coach don't treat you as well as those who are. Maybe a survey would help, wait even the bad teachers are protected by the union. Who will protect our kids? We have had to suppliment at home. I am a very involved parent w/my childrens education and feel I have a good understanding. Other schools in the area have more to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

Very good school with excellent Honors and AP programs. Sometimes too much emphasis on sports programs, however.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 6, 2005

I am a former student form Mason High School and it's the best school I've ever been to. I've moved around many times and been to many schoold but none have been as great as Mason. The teachers were great and I often felt that i could talk to them. There are many different programs and although they may not be as diverse as most places everyone is excepted in one way. The only loners in that school are the ones who want to be loners. The counslers do a great job in assisting the students to figure what they want to do. If i could go back i would deffinantly go back, no doubt about it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2004

Mason High school is a wonderful place to recieve an education. Principal Lance Delbridge has done a great job with administration as well as student relations. Mason offers exellent programs in Music, Sports and most importantly adademics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2004

The only good thing I experienced at Mason High School was the soccer program. The principal leadership is very poor (they're never around), the teacher quality is also poor because they have an 'it's your problem, not mine' attitude when you ask for assistance. There was little or no parent involvement at all. As far as safety and discipline goes, I think the daily fights can speak for themselves. Two possible scenarios could make Mason High School a well rounded school: 1. The school and it's staff changes. Or, 2. Every student who goes there will have to change instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I graduated from Mason. It was a wonderful experience the teachers where nice and the principals were nice also. And if your student if one to have trouble learning in big classes. Then I would recommend Mason's alternative high school. Some people say that its where the bad kids go but thats not true. Its a nice place where there is only about 12 students per class. The principal is Katheren Bertolini, she is the nicest person had ever met. All of the teachers were real nice too. It changed my life around, I was to the point of giving up school, until I went to Summit. I you decide to go to check it out tell them that Ben sent you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 10, 2004

Mason High School is a very good school to send your students. This school welcomes all different ethnic backgrounds and does not discriminate. This is an equal opportunity school. My children attended this school and they both did very well. Mason prepared them for college and they both were not afraid to make friends and they enjoyed their high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

My experience in this school was not a very good one. I graduated with a 3.2 Gpa. However, this school is not very diverse at all. I was the only african american and the students were not accepting to minorities at all!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

254 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

81%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Lance Delbridge
Fax number
  • (517) 244-6412

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 South Barnes St
Mason, MI 48854
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 676-9055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Slc/Evergreen
Mason, MI





Edtrek
Holt, MI


Dansville High School
Dansville, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT