Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Melvindale High School

Public | 9-12 | 877 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2012

As a Former student I didn't like MHS at all some of the teachers didn't teach good they lacked a care for the students, the principle is very mean and doesn't know how to be understanding at all, Melvindale is not a choice to send your child Too much drama and not enough teaching
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2011

I despise this school, I've been here for 4 months now and can not wait to transfer schools. While the teachers are kind, they lack the ability to control their classes and some seem to have less knowledge then their degrees say they have. If you want a quality education I strongly advise you to avoid this school at all costs. The extra curriculars are the only good thing about this school, but how long that will last is unclear because they continue to shell out all their money for sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2010

The alleged racism of which some reviewers write is a ridiculous accusation in my opinion. Every indication that I get from personal and second hand experience is that the color of a student's skin is irrelevant at MHS. Of course, if by the term 'racism' you mean that minorities do not receive special treatment, then I think you are right. But I thought equality was the goal?
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2008

I feel that Melvindale High School is a great place to go to school. This is my second year at the school and I have never seen a fight. They have an after school tutoring program for the kids who are struggling. The teachers and principals seem to care about the kids. I am glad Mr. Fish came over from the High School, because he keeps the school safe and the kids listen to him. GREAT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

i have to say that if i had the money that i wouldnt be going to melvindale but i really have no choice. The principal seems not to care at all and she seems to care about nothing but the money i cant say that all the teachers are bad there are a lot of good ones and as far as the school board they seem to care little about the students and a hell of a lot about the money the dean mr. fish is very fair and nice and as far as the whole issues involving racism i must say that i see fights brake out every day this school is very much based on the color of your skin i cant make the choice for you to send your kid here or not but i can say think about it melvindale has a lot of ups and downs
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

As a freshman at melvindale high school. i love it. everything about melvindale is great. they are some what strict but what school isnt. ive had so much fun going to this school. ive played golf this year and mr. mazurek is awesome. we had so much fun. everyone at melvindale is actually pretty friendly. dont go by first impressions because mr.fish does look mean. but give him a try hes actually real nice. some things about melvindale wasnt the best though. we did have some crazy things happen this year. but over all this school is one of the best. the teachers, students, and principals are awesome. and the golf team rocks so get it right. heck yes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

As a alumni of class of 2006, i feelings about m-high is that it is a great school but it could use some work. The teachers are awesome especially mr. geiger he was so cool he was like one of the students. Mr.Hanna was a big help in my senior year when i was strugglin really bad and didnt think i was going to graduate,he helped me get the extra credits that i needed when i had to drop out when i got pregnant. Who ever made that comment about the janitors making the racial slurs, need to be thinking the janitors for keeping the school look so nice, they really work hard and need a big thanks. The staff needs to be so stricked because of the open district and to keep the school in one piece. So my over all of the school is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

i think it is a wonderful school for any parents having a hard time finding their kids a school, Melevindale is the one. my kids hve learned sooooooo much!!!! Awsome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

All of the students and teachers and students that wrote decent reviews about this school must be white because the racism in the school from the staff to the students, is unbelievable in 2008. The principal has no compassion and shows no care for the students. I don't recommend anyone to send thier children there. One would think that the barriers and issues involving racism would have diminished at this point in our nation's history. The school does not even recognize Martin Luther King as an influential figure in the effort to end racism. My recommendation to the school board is to implement Meet the Challenge to end racism for the staff as well as the students. It is time that the American people live in true liberty and harmony. The school has a lot of growing to do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2008

im a student at melvindale high school... n its good and all but the racism is crazy in this school..... there are janitors calling students racist slurs and kids calling each other racist slurs.. kids with the flags that represents the slaves on there cars.... i think this school is a -5 but too bad i have no choise.... my family doesnt want to move until we graduate.... im a junior at this school... n this school sux.... the principal is far too rude.... in the past 3 years i have never seen a smile on her face... she doesnt do nothing but scream in the hallways.... but the dean is nice...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I go to Melvindale High School and am a freshman. I think the school is great and everything in it. The teachers are fantastic and helpful, and the school is just awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2007

I go to Melvindale High School and I am a freshman. I think this is a great school with great teachers. There are a lot of programs and extracurricular activites along with athletics. I wasn't expecting this school to be as good as it is. I reccomend it because mot of the people there are friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2006

My kids say this is a really good school and I think that Melvindale High School is a great school too it has helped my kids a lot the school has taught them to me responsible so when they go to college they can success of what they are doing and the school has also thought them that they should do their best on everything and if they try they can do it but they can t give up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

My daughter goes to this school and she really likes it she says that her teacher are awesome and that they actually are fun and kids are some kids are looking forward to going to some classes. Everything else is good . I think that this school is good it help my daughter do sports without her going crazy over her homework to get it done they have homework tables everybody who joins sports has to do at least a half an hour of homework tables so they don t get behind in there work. I think this school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

My daughter attends school at this school and I know alot of children that attend. I am ashamed to say that I believe Melvindale is headed straight downhill. I have younger children that will never attend the jr. or high school in Melvindale. I think it is a shame when money comes before the children. Soon the parents that live in district will be sending there children out of this district to go to school. You know its bad when your child has a class in the boys locker room and she is not a boy. There are children afraid to walk in the halls at certain times. But, unless the parents speak up the board can get away with anything. Yes there are some good teachers and until open enrollment we were doing ok, but now we don't stand a chance. I hope the money is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

Melvindale High School has been going steadily downhill for some time now. It is even worse now that it is a school of choice. Students that have been suspended from several other schools are now enrolled in regular classes at the high school, making it difficult for serious students to get any work done. Also, the school places more emphasis on sports than on academics. Sports programs receive more attention and funding than other extracurricular activities, such as band and robotics. Good luck to anyone who sends or chooses to send their child to this school, as they will surely find it extremely hard to suceed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 20, 2005

My daughter loves this school and I do too. There are alot of good teachers and the Principal is a good man too. But the Dean of Students blowind an airhorn if the student is still in the hallway after the bell ,is just plan out rude that can mess up are kids ears! But besides that this school has some pretty nice classes. I like this school alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

I have lived here (melvindale) all my life, and it has improved from when I went.(apperance). The biggest downfall in the school, and I'm sure it's not just melvindale, is open enrollment. There are just too many students now. The kid's tell me by the time they get through the lunch line they have only 5 minutes to eat, and the classrooms are packed. How can we expect teachers to be able to meet our's kids academic needs? I really don't think alot of thought was put into the decision, except maybe the money aspect of it. What a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

I had heard alot of negative things about the high school before my son went there. I have found the school to be good. The staff and administration are excellent. The curriculum is challenging. the only reason a student wouldn't do well here is if he/she didn't apply themself. Students with active parents really excel. There are plenty of extracurricular activities in all areas and a diverse population of students. There could be more parental involvement, but what can you do about that? The community is invested in the school and has pride in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

I think the school has gone down hill since the new principle came. No students are wanting to go to school and the percentage that do go hate it. They've taken a lot away from the students that had worked to get what they want. This is no choice of school for me to send my kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

257 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
8%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students7%
Female7%
Male7%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Hispanic3%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White10%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities8%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female57%
Male42%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learners26%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students10%
Female6%
Male14%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities11%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students24%
Female20%
Male27%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities26%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students45%
Female55%
Male37%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities48%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 69%
Hispanic 33% 6%
African-American 18% 18%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Shannon Luppino
Fax number
  • (313) 389-2072

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18656 Prospect St
Melvindale, MI 48122
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 389-3320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lincoln Park High School
Lincoln Park, MI


River Rouge High School
River Rouge, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT