Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Melvindale, MI
Students enrolled: 877
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Melvindale High School 1

Posted January 13, 2012
- a student
As a Former student I didn't like MHS at all some of the teachers didn't teach good they lacked a care for the students, the principle is very mean and doesn't know how to be understanding at all, Melvindale is not a choice to send your child Too much drama and not enough teaching

Melvindale High School 1

Posted May 04, 2011
- a student
I despise this school, I've been here for 4 months now and can not wait to transfer schools. While the teachers are kind, they lack the ability to control their classes and some seem to have less knowledge then their degrees say they have. If you want a quality education I strongly advise you to avoid this school at all costs. The extra curriculars are the only good thing about this school, but how long that will last is unclear because they continue to shell out all their money for sports.


Melvindale High School 4

Posted February 17, 2010
- a student
The alleged racism of which some reviewers write is a ridiculous accusation in my opinion. Every indication that I get from personal and second hand experience is that the color of a student's skin is irrelevant at MHS. Of course, if by the term 'racism' you mean that minorities do not receive special treatment, then I think you are right. But I thought equality was the goal?

Melvindale High School 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a student
I feel that Melvindale High School is a great place to go to school. This is my second year at the school and I have never seen a fight. They have an after school tutoring program for the kids who are struggling. The teachers and principals seem to care about the kids. I am glad Mr. Fish came over from the High School, because he keeps the school safe and the kids listen to him. GREAT SCHOOL!

Melvindale High School 1

Posted November 06, 2008
- a student
i have to say that if i had the money that i wouldnt be going to melvindale but i really have no choice. The principal seems not to care at all and she seems to care about nothing but the money i cant say that all the teachers are bad there are a lot of good ones and as far as the school board they seem to care little about the students and a hell of a lot about the money the dean mr. fish is very fair and nice and as far as the whole issues involving racism i must say that i see fights brake out every day this school is very much based on the color of your skin i cant make the choice for you to send your kid here or not but i can say think about it melvindale has a lot of ups and downs


Melvindale High School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2008
- a student
As a freshman at melvindale high school. i love it. everything about melvindale is great. they are some what strict but what school isnt. ive had so much fun going to this school. ive played golf this year and mr. mazurek is awesome. we had so much fun. everyone at melvindale is actually pretty friendly. dont go by first impressions because mr.fish does look mean. but give him a try hes actually real nice. some things about melvindale wasnt the best though. we did have some crazy things happen this year. but over all this school is one of the best. the teachers, students, and principals are awesome. and the golf team rocks so get it right. heck yes.

Melvindale High School 4

Posted April 16, 2008
- a student
As a alumni of class of 2006, i feelings about m-high is that it is a great school but it could use some work. The teachers are awesome especially mr. geiger he was so cool he was like one of the students. Mr.Hanna was a big help in my senior year when i was strugglin really bad and didnt think i was going to graduate,he helped me get the extra credits that i needed when i had to drop out when i got pregnant. Who ever made that comment about the janitors making the racial slurs, need to be thinking the janitors for keeping the school look so nice, they really work hard and need a big thanks. The staff needs to be so stricked because of the open district and to keep the school in one piece. So my over all of the school is good.

Melvindale High School 5

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
i think it is a wonderful school for any parents having a hard time finding their kids a school, Melevindale is the one. my kids hve learned sooooooo much!!!! Awsome


Melvindale High School 1

Posted March 28, 2008
- a teacher
All of the students and teachers and students that wrote decent reviews about this school must be white because the racism in the school from the staff to the students, is unbelievable in 2008. The principal has no compassion and shows no care for the students. I don't recommend anyone to send thier children there. One would think that the barriers and issues involving racism would have diminished at this point in our nation's history. The school does not even recognize Martin Luther King as an influential figure in the effort to end racism. My recommendation to the school board is to implement Meet the Challenge to end racism for the staff as well as the students. It is time that the American people live in true liberty and harmony. The school has a lot of growing to do.

Melvindale High School
no rating

Posted February 24, 2008
- a student
im a student at melvindale high school... n its good and all but the racism is crazy in this school..... there are janitors calling students racist slurs and kids calling each other racist slurs.. kids with the flags that represents the slaves on there cars.... i think this school is a -5 but too bad i have no choise.... my family doesnt want to move until we graduate.... im a junior at this school... n this school sux.... the principal is far too rude.... in the past 3 years i have never seen a smile on her face... she doesnt do nothing but scream in the hallways.... but the dean is nice...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Melvindale High School
18656 Prospect Street, Melvindale, MI  48122
(313) 389-3320
Last modified Melvindale High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Melvindale High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top