Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allendale Elementary School

Public | 2-5 | 865 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

I would not give any stars to this school. My oldest son has special needs and this school was not able to offer much of any help and even made things worse by their uncaring manner and after my son went on to middle school, his little brother is still there and I find they treat him wrong because of the feelings they had with his older brother. There are a few good teachers, but I can only name two or three. The Asst. principal is unfair and prejudiced. The principal leaves everything up to the asst. principal. I even went to the Board of Education with my concerns and I received a vm that they stand by their teachers and administrators and could do nothing to help me. They consolidated all the elementary schools into one and now the school is so large, it is harder to control and this is why things are this way. Not to mention too many administrators there are uncaring, probably only there to get their paycheck. This is why I am moving. I have decided to leave the district and just move somewhere else. I can't deal with them anymore let alone my poor kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

I have read several of the reviews. Most mentions loving the schools security measures. I have two children in Allendale and have never seen any security measures. As far as the school, I wouldn't recommend it for minorities as many of the staff there are racist. I regret having ever placed my children in that school and school district! One thing I do like is the music and band class they offer for the students. I believe having children in an arts program to this magnitude is important in helping to create well-rounded students/individuals. The band teacher does an amazing job in teaching al of his students music and instrument playing rather they are on an beginning level or more advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I love the safety and security that Allendale provides for its students. They also have many activities provided for the kids by the PTO, more than most schools provide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Wow! This is a great school to be in. I believe the academic program is great. I do however think that a child could have a small homework assignment a night - not an overwhelming amount though. This school is a wonderful new school with great people and a great principal leading it. I know for a fact that the security measures and evacuation procedures put in place are excellent. Music/band is made avail to the children but extracurricular and other activities such as sports are not provided to my knowledge for 2thru4th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

This is an amazing school! In my opinion, Allendale should serve as a model for every elementary school. They provide an exceptional reading program, have outstanding art and music programs, and work with students of all levels to help them reach their highest possible potential. The safety program is very well coordinated, the Principal is very involved with the students, and the teachers are absolutley outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

My child attends this school currently. I am very impressed with the security, and the teaching programs. The parents must be involved with their child's education, and interact with the teacher in order to recieve progress reports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

213 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
3%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 69%
Hispanic 31% 6%
African-American 11% 18%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial N/A 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Robert Bateman
Fax number
  • (313) 389-8713

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 Oakwood Blvd
Melvindale, MI 48122
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 389-4664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lafayette School
Lincoln Park, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT