Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Michigan Center, MI
Students enrolled: 657
 

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a community member
I graduated from Michigan Center High School a few years ago and it is one of the worst schools in the state. The leadership in this school fails its students daily. It did not prepare me for college in any way, shape, or form (besides Spink's college writing class). Also, the whole "Anti-Bullying" and "Nurtured-Heart Approach" is a joke. My younger brother was and is bullied at MC, yet every time we report it, the principals don't do a single thing about it. Two of his past bullies were on the football team and when we reported the bullying, nothing happened because the football team was headed to playoffs, & they didn't want to risk losing 2 players... seriously? Also, MC only cares about the Cheerleading team. Their own coach cares more about the sport than teaching her own math class. The cheerleaders get pep rally's, assembly's, and trips to Cedar Point, all for winning state championships in the lowest division in the state. The teachers treat students poorly. The students who get all the college scholarships are the ones who's parents are either on the school board or faculty. Terrible school. Terrible leadership. Terrible education. Avoid at all costs.
5 people found this helpful

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing and many students go onto college. If your child is smart enough they can get anywhere. Students have gone to Yale before and Columbia.


Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 2

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from this school in the Summer of 2010. If you want to succeed and have the determination to- it really isn't hard to do here. While some things are challenging, Mr. Spinks' College Writing class, Chemistry w/ Mr. Withers, Trig, and a couple others. I would definitely recommend to any student/parent who has a kid in this school to look into Dual-Enrollment. This will help them so much more and they'll get a real dose of what the future entails. One thing I want to shed light on since everyone that's reviewed this school is saying "cliques rule all, even with parents". Trying not to look at this bias but seeing it from my point of view this is incredibly true. If your parents aren't involved with the school, none of the coaches in sports know your parents then you'll probably get shafted in extra-curricular activities. Unless you're a freak of nature. The teachers that are coaches ultimately do play favorites and will help students that need eligibility "help". Just ask the '07 Bowling Coach haha. I would send your kid to Napoleon High School. Even with that area being "hick-ish" their school seems to revolve around homework and determination. Stay ClassyorGet Smart?
1 person found this helpful

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 4

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
This school is a great school, you have cliques, but then you have cliques in ALL schools. The teachers work with the kids, there are many programs to help mentor kids if they need additional help, you just have to ask for it. The sports programs are good programs and they do their best with the kids. I have had one graduate and another that is still in the school, and I enjoy watching them grow and learn.

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 2

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This school is not all that great. The teachers dont really care about the students and really dont help them. There are many cliques in this scool they will make fun of you if you do not wear the 'right' clothes. Also the sports coaches are not that great sure they will help you but they will also scream and yell if you dont do something right. Altogether this school is not reccomended by me.


Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 2

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
this school is notorious for cliques. the parents are just as bad as the students. the teachers do not show these children how to learn good study habits. i rarely see homework come home and not many study notes. these kids are supposed to be in the real world someday soon and need better preparation for it.
1 person found this helpful

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a student
Michigan Center High school is one of the best schools I have ever gone to. The class scheduling is great. The teachers answer your questions and encourage you to pass. The Teachers try and help you out to the best f your ability. The only thing I noticed while I was attendin Michigan Center High school was that there are some really bad students there who never really cared about there schooling. They only really cared about being around friends which can frustrate teachers. What a student does is out of a teachers hands. They cant really stop you from doing anything exsept pulling you away from somebody you are fighting. The after school activities are really great too.

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
The elementary schools are doing some wonderful things. The high school, however, could use some work on how to treat all children the same. They have the tendency to label kids and treat them according to the label they assigned to that child. The curriculum has no options for the child to choose. Only one teacher and one class and class is a requirement for graduation, especially in the area of English.


Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 2

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School
400 South State Street, Michigan Center, MI  49254
(517) 764-1440
Last modified Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Michigan Center Jr/Sr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top