Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Custer Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 1090 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

Awesome teachers and devoted staff! Many extra opportunities for children that need enrichment: robotics program, quiz bowl, iTeam (older students help younger students learn effective usage of their iPads), spelling bee, science fair, etc. In contrast, there are also many people on staff to help children that are having difficulties learning a concept. There is a beautiful walking path for exercise, which the PTO helped to fund (and they help with many other projects as well) The bulling issue my child had knowledge of was taken care of quickly and effectively. I think this school is better than EXCELLENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Custer elementary school Is a horrible school. If I had other options for buses in my district I would transfer my daughter out in a heart beat. I've addressed bully issues with them. Nothing was done about it. They would make my daughter sit in a classroom by herself. Through out the day. And now all the excused absences my daughter has they are trying to hold it against me. I definitely would not even give it a star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers are so creative and involved in the childrens learning.


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter was been at Custer for 3 years & she loves it. Each of her 3 teachers has worked with her closely to get her into the swing of school. My daughter has a hard time sitting still & concentrating on one thing till it's done. But her teachers were great. They sent home progress reports constantly. They kept me updated on her behavior & would tell me things I could do to help her. There is all kinds of different teachers with different teaching styles, So I was able to find teachers that Meagan needed to help her along the best way. I was able to find a teacher that is more active with her class & doesn't just make all the kids sit all day & work from the books. Her teacher has them up out of their seats & doing stuff. We love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I have four grandchildren in this school. I find the teachers as well as the principal very interested in the children. I recommend this school very highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

My child started school this past year and all the teachers and staff at Custer were extremely helpful and full of support. I can not wait to get my other child in here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

I have very much enjoyed having both of my children in this school. The principals at this school will do anything they can to help you or your child. They are bery interested in what's going on in all aspects of your child's learning process.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
African-American 10% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jennifer Bennett
Fax number
  • (734) 265-4301

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5003 West Albain Rd
Monroe, MI 48161
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 265-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Waterloo School
Monroe, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT