Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

West Shore Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 4 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Muskegon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2013

wonderful teachers that care for their students. Great safe school. My grandson feels so at home with all the teachers. Lots of family nights where parents can meet other parents through their kids. Worth every penny. 1st grader and already knows multiplication and some division.


Posted December 4, 2009

I recommend West Shore to anyone seeking to give their child the opportunity to do their best, in a safe environment. West Shore is about teamwork, parents and teachers working together to help the student achieve their full potential. What more can a Christian parent ask for in a teacher, than one that prays for their students?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

We are thrilled with this school. Mrs. Jensen is a wonderful preschool teacher, so patient and kind. We strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

We have 3 children in this school, and they have all been at West SHore Lutheran School since pre-school. I was raised in public school and I am astonished at the difference. The biggest and best area of praise for this school is that the teachers teach and model the christian life each day. That alone would keep my kids firmly rooted at West Shore. Now add academic excellence to my children's education and you will see why we are so pleased with this school. You would be hard pressed to find a better school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My son has attended WSLS since be began pre-school. He entered kindergarten not knowing how to read and came out reading at a 4th grade level! The commitment of the teachers and staff far exceeds anything I have ever experienced in the public school setting. What I find interesting is that several of the children who attend this school have parents who are teachers in the local public school district. I think that alone speaks volumes about the quality of the education each child receives. Parents are highly involved and it is encouraged. Families matter! My son is now in the 3rd grade and he is allowed to attend classes at whatever grade level matches his abilities. That's not something you find in many other school. I live in the Mona Shores district and as long as I have the means, he'll stay at WSLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

West Shore Lutheran is an incredible school that teaches a Christian life. The staff practice what they teach the children in their everyday life, in or outside school. Our oldest daughter went to West Shore and her public school teachers knew right away she was a student at West Shore because of her outstanding academic and social behavior. Many of her teachers commented they enjoy having a West Shore student in their classes because of this. We expect the same accolades when our younger son finishes West Shore Lutheran School and goes into public. We cannot recommend West Shore enough to any parent, and they offer tuition scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I am a past parent and I can't say enough about West Shore Lutheran School. The staff goes the extra mile for every student. Students graduate the 8th grade and excel in the High School of their choice! High expectations and low discipline problems - great place for your son or daughter to grow and mature into a teenager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

My son is in preschool at West Shore Lutheran. I was very nervous about sending my son to school as I am a stay at home mom and former teacher and social worker of abused children. I love West Shore Lutheran and so does my son. I feel very comfortable sending him to school and know that he is in a safe, caring, educational environment while he is out of my care. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

This school offers such a great education for children. I myself went there from preschool until 8th grade. My mom works as the 3rd & 4th grade teacher. West Shore offers everything that other schools offer, just with a Christian education.


Posted February 6, 2007

This is the best private school ever!! You have the availability to be involved in 3 sports as a team. Other than that you do more sports in gym class. Parents are very involved in everything and each kid gets very personal attention from the teacher. That is the good thing about having a smaller size school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 69%
African-American 7% 19%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brad Feenstra
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (231) 755-6942

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3225 Roosevelt Road
Muskegon, MI 49441
Phone: (231) 755-1048

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Lakeside Elementary
Muskegon, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT