Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Niles, MI
Students enrolled: 98
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mary School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Sadly, St. Mary's School is in critical condition. Poor decisions and a very poor attitude on the part of the principal have resulted in a marked drop in enrollment in this already struggling school. Enrollment under previous principal was 100+. Current enrollment is less than 40. Speaks for itself. Families have voted with their dollars. Their dollars go with their children to other schools as parents seek a quality education. Even with the small class sizes, families who have transferred children to other schools are consistently finding that these former St. Mary's students are lagging behind their peers academically and often socially. It is unfortunate and is a difficult reality to face for parents who truly believed that St. Mary's School was the best choice for their child. Unfortunately, parents don't realize their error until their child has moved on to another school and struggles with higher expectations.

St Mary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
St Mary School in Niles is the best. I have 2 children who go here. The small class sizes and one on one attention is great. Both my children have excelled at this school.


St Mary School 4

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Small classes sizes. If your child is needing additional help, they will work with your child. The administration is wonderful, encouraging and has done a lot in terms of helping the school. It is a wonderful sense of family and community.

St Mary School 2

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
Low tuition and small class size continue to be positives at St. Mary's School. Due to low enrollment, classes in the upper grades have had to be combined in recent years. Extra-curricular opportunities are non-existent. Expectations for behavior and academics is often lower than expected. Dissension within the school continues to be a problem. St. Mary's would benefit greatly from a strong, unifying leader.

St Mary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
My son was in the Leaps and Bounds program for two years. He has grown so much. The teacher, Ms Rhonda, done an amazing job. The principal, Mrs Gregorski, is so involved in all aspects of the school and has noticed the huge personal growth my son has achieved. We have a sense of family and community at St Mary's. I encourage everyone to send their child to St Mary's!!


St Mary School 3

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
It could be a great school. It has a lot of great aspects including the student to teacher ratio. The negative is that a handful of parents think they control the school. Good luck to any principal that dares try to help the school.

St Mary School 4

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
St. Mary's is a great, little school. Small classes ensure that each student is taught at their own level and the teachers take time to work with each students' needs and strengths. My daughter went through St. Mary's from 1st through 6th grade, and it was a successful, nurturing experience. I would highly recommend St. Mary's School.

St Mary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
St. Mary's has taken on positive changes. We have a new administrator, Dr. Doyle, who has been a very positive influence for the parents, teachers, and students. We have a family based environment and believe that 'parents believe, children achieve'. We are a very fortunate group of parents and children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary School
217 South Lincoln Avenue, Niles, MI  49120
(269) 683-9191
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
St Mary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top