Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meads Mill Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 965 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Meads Mill is a very good school. Every teacher we have interacted with really cares about the kids. The support is there, both academically and socially. I do agree with the previous reviewer that there WAS an issue with office staff, but there has been a staffing change this year...I can now say that the entire office staff is welcoming, upbeat and helpful. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

Meads Mill is a very good school. Every teacher we have interacted with really cares about the kids. The support is there, both academically and socially. I do agree with the previous reviewer that there WAS an issue with office staff, but there has been a staffing change this year...I can now say that the entire office staff is welcoming, upbeat and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

Office staff is horrible. Money is the main focus of this school, not the children. This is the worst school in Northville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

I love this school and it is great. I am in seventh grade and the sport oppurtunities and school is good. Advanced math programs are available and I am in them.


Posted November 26, 2008

i love this school it is so fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2007

Meads Mill is an excellent school. Both my daughters go there and I am always pleased with the staff, curriculum, and the enviorment there. I am most especially pleased with my daughters good influence from her peers. No wonder it' s a michigan accreted school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

My son attends Meads Mill School. The principal, staff and the facility are excellent. Children are encouraged to reach their full potential. Teaching is excellent. As they say: 'A School is only as good as the Teachers' and with such good teachers, no doubt this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

Meads Mill is the best middle school your child can attend in Northville. I am a current seventh grade student, and my experience is very pleasant. The teachers are excellent, and much emphasis is put on the academics. The athletics are varied, with track, cheer, football, basketball and volleyball. The musical programs usually have a great turnout. Art is availble, but not necessarily important.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2005

Meads Mill is a great school with a great learning environment. Althought the building is not in the greatest shape, my daughter enjoys school and loves the teachers. She is taught the material very well, and with hard work she gets good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2004

I went to Meads Mill and didn't have the greatest experience. Throughout my three years of science, I had terrible teachers that didn't explain very well, and in result I had bad grades. The inside of the school is very old and the kids are spoiled brats.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

233 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

267 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
Asian 21% 3%
African-American 5% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sue Meyer
Fax number
  • (248) 344-3701

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16700 Franklin Rd
Northville, MI 48168
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 344-8435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




New Morning School
Plymouth, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT