Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winchester Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 476 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

This school really sucks. The major issue I had with them was that the teacher do not make the requirement clear, there is no daily/weekly homework for math, and graded tests are not returned until the end of the year. Parents have no clue what is taught in the school, what is required and what will tested. Daily homework assignment and syllabus will help the parents to know what is taught in school and what will tested on which date. I am so shock that the teacher do not provide any of these necessary items that are important for the students and parents to keep up the school work. This school really sucks! I hope the next year teacher is a little better...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2014

Shocked to see some of these reviews. Looks like some sour grapes. Sure we could use new computers. Most schools can. We are newer to the district and school. Head and shoulders better than the community we came from. Proud to be a Winchester Dragon. For all the naysayers, you should try helping instead of complaining. Set a good example for your kids. Be a part of the solution and not the problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Good school, we moved here last year and even though it is an old school and can use major renovation as far as facilities, it has great teachers who are invested in giving kids the best education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2014

Snobby/ controlling attitude of parents dictates too much. Seems to be more drama amongst parents that they take out on the kids. Judging & lack of communication is very apparent. New to this district, have an outsider perspective & see things with a fresh set of eyes. Principal is very much lacking certain skills that are needed for all. Great need for every student to fit inside a perfect little box. When you look at the test scores I feel that it has gone downhill & something needs to be done about it. Better technology better communication & a better structured education plan for all would help the kids. Parents not getting so involved and letting teachers & staff do their job. Let children fail let children work out the issues amongst themselves. Have empathy & understanding for the children that may not be in the perfect box. When these things happen as an entire unit then will communication & test scores go up. Parents just be a little nicer to one another. Have some empathy for the different and new kids. Some sort of connection between everyone is missing. Teachers are fine but with the money in the school technology should be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

Wow, I was shocked to read some of the reviews of Winchester that were so negative. We have had such a positive experience here. I have a third grader and every time I think we can't get a better teacher the next year, we do! The teachers genuinely care about the kids and nurturing them as responsible citizens. In terms of parental involvement, we have to have a lottery for who gets to go on field trips and there are too many people that want to help for parties! Also, this is the current principal's last year even though I always liked her, I did hear of people who said she had a tough time dealing with boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

The school teaches find. Yes the principle is short about things because she doesn't entertain parent drama. Business is Business the staff do a fine job. The technology in the school is fine for a k-5. Help teach my kids to read, write, do math..etc..it's k-5 relax and understand your kids are in good hands. Just don't bring baby mama drama to the school and you will have a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

Couldn't agree more with the posts THIS SCHOOL YEAR! EXTREMELY disappointed as well! The school itself lacks technology (outdated: some surrounding districts using ipads), major improvements/updates needed (ceiling tiles have mold stains, rooms overcrowded and dark). The principal is not approachable (lack of communication skills or arrogance?) Finally, fed up with the materialistic/snobby/"clicky" moms and their children. There seems to be no attempt by the administration to address these issues to improve the overall atmosphere at this school. There also seems to be no plan by the school board to use our tax revenue to improve these items either. We are shopping around for schools for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

The principal Pat Messing is a terrible. She lacks communication skills with the kids & has zero ability communicating with parents. This school has 1 male teacher & has no idea how to handle young men. I grew up in Northville & attended this school when I was a child. Go elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Unorganized..from room moms who act as though they are teachers (sending emails with PowerPoint presentations about craft ideas) horribly materialistic children and the principal seems to perpetuate that type of behavior. Its very concerning to me that in a district with great financial means and the families that are well above middle class you are constantly ask for money seemingly on a weekly basis for donations to this and donations to that when the PTA ask for money the beginning of the school year quite a large sum actually however we don't see where this money goes because the technology in the school system is really lacking. Some classrooms don't even have a computer they don't have white boards nobody is even able to use an iPad as part of the learning curriculum and we came from a school that was not as wealthy and had all these things because they are appropriated the money correctly. Where is the money going? Where is the money from all of our high tax dollars going?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2013

The school lacks in new technology compared to other districts. I have had 4 children walk these halls so I am very aware of the strenghts and weaknesses of this district and school. Some of the teachers are great. The principal not so great. If we could move we would be due to our jobs we are stuck. Parents are snobby and material things seem to mean more to them which they pass on to their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

We have 2 children that go to Winchester now and 1 that just graduated from this school. We have a child with a learning dissability at the school now and they found the problem, sent him to a rescource room for an hour a day and gave us work to do at home. He is doing well now. Some of the kids were not nice to my oldest, but he has high intelligence and is not very mature. They put on several anti-bullying programs at the school to try and help. The school does well on tests and the musicals are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

i've had two children go through this institution...if your child has any type of learning impairment or disability the principal will highly suggest/recommend medicating your child to fit their needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

the worst principal , mean kids and parents .they act like Gang and bully everyone elese my daughter was in such a pain that she was suicideal.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

After deciding to move to Northville, we looked at the various areas. Northville schools are great, however, some better than others. After viewing two of the schools, we discovered the classrooms have no windows!!! How can children (let alone the teachers) be in an environment with no natural light and fresh air! This is terrible! Natural light helps to improve mood, students score higher on tests, have less absences and there are less behavioral problems in a natural lit setting. This major issue needs to be addressed to provide the best learning enviroment for the children.


Posted March 24, 2010

I have my Son in KinderGarden. I really feel he is getting the best level of education at Winchester. Mrs Roney is very patient, caring and passionate teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Like any school, Winchester Elementary is as good as its teachers. Most teachers at this school are dedicated, experienced and thoroughly committed to providing an excellent educational experience. There are several teachers that are burned out and unfortunately, the principal defends them even though parents have complained. The principal is fine but could do more. The playground was treacherous for several years and despite parent complaints, the principal did not remedy problems. A parent committee run by the PTA finally stepped in and funded improvements. Also, extracurricular activities would be a plus. With the exception of a few activities available to the higher grades, nothing exists. Overall, children receive a good education here but improvements could be made to make it more well-rounded and exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

Winchester Elementary is a fantastic school. The teachers are all superior -- there is not one teacher in the entire school that could be considered 'below average.' I've had three children in the school, and have yet to have a teacher who is anything less than extraordinary. Parent involvement is very good, as is the leadership of the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

This school is most excellent in allowing each child learn at their individual pace. They have awesome, involved and experienced teaching staff that try to make each child feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

I loved going to Winchester for elementary school, the teachers were great, the enviroment was awesome and nothing was bad about it. Send your children to Winchester today.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2004

I loved going to Winchester! The enviorment, teachers and kids there are so awesome, I have the best memories at Winchester. A good half of the teachers there have been there forever and its just such a cool school. Nothing to complain about!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
Asian 13% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Patricia Messing
Fax number
  • (248) 465-2401

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16141 Winchester Dr
Northville, MI 48168
Phone: (248) 344-8415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





New Morning School
Plymouth, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT