Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Northville, MI
Students enrolled: 449

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Our Lady of Victory School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a teacher
This school is one of the biggest in the area, with 450 kids K-8. The academics are rigorous, but it is to ensure success in high school and beyond. Parents are very involved here. Teachers, myself included, love our job and the faith-based community. We do everything we can to help our students and stay connected daily with our parents. Our principal has been here for three years and has made many improvements to the school's policies and curriculum. Father Denis is an integral part of the school and does everything he can to help the students learn and live out their faith. There is now a dean of students who has really helped with the minimal disciplinary issues. I wouldn't want to work (or send my children) anywhere else.

Our Lady of Victory School 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Poor leadership. Lack of discipline and do not do anything about bullying or mean aggressive behavior even after parent meetings. Have heard that Principal does not address parent concerns. Their academics are not superior to the surrounding schools. Other schools offer a lot more activities and enrichment. Unless you just want to pay for the religion and the prestigious look of uniforms I would not waste my money. Very disappointing for a private school. I feel other schools offer a stronger leadership and mentoring program than OLV as well as challenging academics.

Our Lady of Victory School 4

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
OLV offers the best of both worlds, great teachers and families as well as a pleasant environment that revolves around our Catholic faith. There is a Learning Center in each wing to provide support for students that need it, staffed by patient and qualified teachers. I would highly recommend the school.

Our Lady of Victory School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
If it turns out your child needs extra help this school and principal is not for you. They only have a part time resource room teacher and make no secret about the fact kids need to function without help. This school only wants the really smart easy kids, so if you were hoping for the caring, we wont let your kid fail environment, keep looking.

Our Lady of Victory School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
I have been at Our Lady of Victory since kindergarten and love it here. It has become like a second home to many of us. The staff and teachers are truly one of a kind and have taught me many life lessons, inside and outside of the classroom. All of the stdents here are very warm and welcoming to our new peers. OLV has great athletic, as well as academic programs. A recent change of administration has really made all of us students happier, as our new principal is a terrific leader. OLV scores well above the national average on standardized tests, such as the IOWA. Our Lady of Victory is really preparing me for high school, as well as the world outside of the classroom. I will really miss it when I graduate in May.

Our Lady of Victory School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Our Lady of Victory for two years so I cannot speak to the former principal but the current one is fantastic. Love this school! The academics are far above the local public schools, the Catholic education is fantastic and the friends we have made are invaluable. It is a great school.

Our Lady of Victory School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a parent
New principal this year 11/12. She had such a warm charismatic personality that everybody is really attracted to. New positive changes, with a warm loving atmosphere. Teachers have a wonderful rapoire with the students, academic is challenging, school offers so much from spirit day, to tons of sports, cookie day, trash free Tuesday and tons more. Wouldn't have my 3 children go anywhere else.

Our Lady of Victory School 2

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
Since the change in administration several years back, OLV has lost its charm and total feeling of what a catholic school should be. Worried about saving money, they are cutting back on quality staff. The principal is poor at best, and the school is now losing students because of this. What a wonderful place this used to be. My child now attends a public school. I can only hope one day this school will return to what it used to be. How sad for the children who still attend. The parents on the other hand are wonderful and supportive and continue to be involved.

Our Lady of Victory School 2

Posted June 15, 2011
- a teacher
This school has the potential to be wonderful if they would get rid of the horrible administration. Great teachers, great students, great parents...horrible principal.

Our Lady of Victory School 1

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
Ask for details on their IOWA test scores. The results were terrible. School leadership will dodge any questions about the subject like a politician caught red-handed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady of Victory School
132 Orchard Drive, Northville, MI  48167
(248) 349-3610
Last modified Our Lady of Victory School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Our Lady of Victory School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top