Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillside Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 782 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

Excellent Middle School with very caring teachers. Principal is excellent and has high expectations for student behavior and achievement. Award winning educator that is highly visible and interacts well with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

My family recently moved and I have been very disappointed in the quality of teachers. Most teachers have NO idea of what they are talking about. there is way to much busy work with no study hall of flex whatsoever. extracurricular activities are poor along with the music program . they do not offer orchestra, drama club, and many sports. For gifted students there is only advanced math and a dumb pointless class called "AR". they do not offer honors english. A disapointing school. Just look at the test scores
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I have two children (6th and 8th) currently attending Hillside Middle School, and they have had a great experience so far. The Principal actively enforces a strong anti-bullying policy, and he works hard to ensure that each student feels welcomed and stays involved. From band to athletics to Lego Robotics, there is an activity for every student. The teachers respond to parent emails in a timely manner. The class sizes have increased over the years due to budget cuts, but that is true everywhere. The school is large, because it used to be the high school, but my children learned their way around very quickly. The school also has programs for both gifted and special needs students, and it is in the process of offering the International Baccalaureate. All in all, I highly recommend Hillside Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Building is to big and confusing. Classes are 40 kids and rooms are too cramped. Supplies and books are old and outdated. Academics are one year behind most schools. Kids must walk a ways to get a bus to drope them home. Chewing Gum is allowed which is dangerous.


Posted September 8, 2011

My daughter is in 8th grade here and I have been very pleased with the entire staff at the school. The Principal is outstanding. He is very involved and has respect of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

The principal at this school is excellent. He far exceeded our expectations. He personally reviews all of the report cards, and he is very involved with the kids. He (and the staff) were always prompt and effective in resolving any academic concerns that I raised. The principal also takes bullying very seriously which was a concern to me at the middle school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

The class sizes are too big. My son is in 6th grade and the vast majority of classes are 37-40 students to 1 teacher. I notice that the teachers miss certain things possibly due to the very large class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Great teachers, awesome school lunches and a great principal! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2007

i love hillside it is awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2006

Our son enjoyed his time at Hillside and as parents we have only had good experiences with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

My child goes to hillside and I am very happy with the school and the teachers. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I go to Hillside, and I think we have the greatest school supplies, teachers, and principals. The principals are very nice, and just want to be your friend, I like that. We have a good learning program, and everything at our school is always clean, and ready for the next day of school. I love it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

340 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

292 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
Asian 11% 3%
African-American 3% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jim Cracraft
Fax number
  • (248) 344-3601

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

775 North Center St
Northville, MI 48167
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 344-8493

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cooke School
Northville, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT