Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Northville, MI
Students enrolled: 782
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Hillside Middle School 4

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
School is very hard and challenging, it is not very easy to achieve A's or A+'s for that matter. School is very competitive with the students for grades and often times very stressful for the children. For academically gifted students, a class called "AR" or academic resource is offered for particularly gifted reading kids and honors and accelerated math for those who excel in math. The AR program is extremely challenging and takes up much time at home to do projects and such but is overall worth it because it teaches discipline. Be aware that if your child scores a B- or lower in any of the honors classes he/she will be put on probation to be put in the normal class if it happens again. Overall it is a very good and challenging school compared to most.

Hillside Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Excellent Middle School with very caring teachers. Principal is excellent and has high expectations for student behavior and achievement. Award winning educator that is highly visible and interacts well with children.


Hillside Middle School 3

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
My family recently moved and I have been very disappointed in the quality of teachers. Most teachers have NO idea of what they are talking about. there is way to much busy work with no study hall of flex whatsoever. extracurricular activities are poor along with the music program . they do not offer orchestra, drama club, and many sports. For gifted students there is only advanced math and a dumb pointless class called "AR". they do not offer honors english. A disapointing school. Just look at the test scores

Hillside Middle School 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
I have two children (6th and 8th) currently attending Hillside Middle School, and they have had a great experience so far. The Principal actively enforces a strong anti-bullying policy, and he works hard to ensure that each student feels welcomed and stays involved. From band to athletics to Lego Robotics, there is an activity for every student. The teachers respond to parent emails in a timely manner. The class sizes have increased over the years due to budget cuts, but that is true everywhere. The school is large, because it used to be the high school, but my children learned their way around very quickly. The school also has programs for both gifted and special needs students, and it is in the process of offering the International Baccalaureate. All in all, I highly recommend Hillside Middle School.

Hillside Middle School 2

Posted September 08, 2011
- a community member
Building is to big and confusing. Classes are 40 kids and rooms are too cramped. Supplies and books are old and outdated. Academics are one year behind most schools. Kids must walk a ways to get a bus to drope them home. Chewing Gum is allowed which is dangerous.


Hillside Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in 8th grade here and I have been very pleased with the entire staff at the school. The Principal is outstanding. He is very involved and has respect of the students.

Hillside Middle School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
The principal at this school is excellent. He far exceeded our expectations. He personally reviews all of the report cards, and he is very involved with the kids. He (and the staff) were always prompt and effective in resolving any academic concerns that I raised. The principal also takes bullying very seriously which was a concern to me at the middle school level.

Hillside Middle School 3

Posted October 30, 2010
- a parent
The class sizes are too big. My son is in 6th grade and the vast majority of classes are 37-40 students to 1 teacher. I notice that the teachers miss certain things possibly due to the very large class sizes.


Hillside Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a student
Great teachers, awesome school lunches and a great principal! :)

Hillside Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a student
i love hillside it is awesome

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillside Middle School
775 North Center Street, Northville, MI  48167
(248) 344-3600
Last modified Hillside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillside Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top