Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Novi Woods Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 487 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2012

If moving to Novi or already live in the area, Novi Woods is the elementary school of choice for you and your children! The principal at Woods works very hard to maintain an environment where children can learn and be successful leaders in our community. His love of the school and his profession is evident in every decision that is made. Novi Woods has teachers that love what they do and it shows in the way they teach and treat their students. Many of the teachers live in the community and send their children to Woods by choice. It is common to see older students in the community return to school with their siblings, often just to see their favorite teachers from previous years. There are plenty of ways that parents and even grandparents can help throughout the school year. The PTO sponsors many different types events for the students and their families during and after school. Whether you work full time or not, if you enjoy volunteering and working with others with children's best interest at heart, you won't be let down! Come see for yourself, it's a fabulous, neighborhood school with leadership that constantly seeks ways to improve your child's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Excellent school if you work full time and have no interested in participating in your child s school experience. The principal is weak and questions nothing. There are 3 white women who run everything. Considering almost half of the population is not white or women, they do not represent the school community well. They discriminate and keep everything exclusive and behind closed doors. The community has given up trying to do anything about it. Not a great place to live or participate, unless you are a friend of one of the self appointed three. But if you don t care, the curriculum is fine and the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My children started their schooling at this school last september (2010). I am seeing the school is doing excellent to the student. My sons have learnt a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Novi Woods is an exceptional school with remarkable teachers! I am GRATEFUL that the Novi Woods staff recognizes that one child's inability to control themselves should not rob other children of the opportunity to learn. Children are expected to be responsible for their own behavior. U wish our entire country would operate this way! As a former teacher turned stay-at-home mom myself, I do not believe that a child with special needs should be allowed to negatively affect the learning of other children! If you think that your responsibility ends when you drop your child at school, and if you believe that ADHD, ADD, or special needs are an excuse for inappropriate classroom behavior, then Novi Woods is NOT for you! If you want a school that will provide a superior education in PARTNERSHIP with you, then this is the perfect place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Academics are good, support for special education children, not so good. There are a few teachers that resort to yelling and name-calling when children misbehave in the classroom, even children with special needs. If you have a child that thrives in the school environment in general, this is a great school. Otherwise, proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Moved my kids from Deerfield. Novi Woods teachers are excellent and are more experienced than Deerfield teachers. Very happy with the school, principal, teachers, facilities and activities. The office staff is exceptional and cordial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

We also recently moved to Novi from another state. We looked at several school systems (in several towns) and felt that Novi Woods would be an excellent choice. We were right! I thought my children were fine at our old school. Novi Woods has put everything into perspective. The principal is extremely approachable and the staff is phenomenal! I love the 'Woods Workout' concept, other schools should take note. I have also been pleasantly surprised by the way that they involve parents. There is always a performance or workshop on the calendar for all grades. These kids are proud of what they do at school and they are given the opportunity to show that to their families. I could not ask any more from a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I am a teacher at Novi Woods and have been since 1984. I can tell you firsthand that this school has always enjoyed an excellent reputation. The staff here are truly dedicated and go above and beyond what is expected. ALL children are given many opportunities to grow and learn, regardless of their level of academic performance. The staff here at Woods want every child to succeed and become a lifelong learner. I stand behind the exceptional reputation of our staff and the continued support and involvement of our wonderful parents. It is an exceptional place of learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2007

Indeed I am very happy that my daughter is one of the few chosen lucky kids that get such high quality education even at the first grade. I am now anxious to see my daughter's remarkable performance through the rest of her elementary school years at Novi Woods. The teachers are extremely dedicated, committed and do cater to each child's learning abilities. I am a very proud parent of a first grader at the end of school, this summer. I am really appreciative of the learning and work that have been done from Fall 2006 to Summer 2007. I am only expecting this experience to continue for the rest of my daughter's elementary school years. Hail the teachers, Principal, staff, parent volunteers. three cheers to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

Very innovative with their teaching techniques. The teachers spend additional time training, with support from Novi Woods, to keep current with new ideas and creative options to learning. I have been very impressed and pleased to see my children's progress. When I compare to other parents children from other nearby cities, I feel that my children's education is superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

We are new to Novi Woods and actually bought a house based on the schools our children would be attending. We have experience with other school districts and are very pleased with the teachers, curriculum, 'extra' subjects, and even the level of activity present in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Novi Woods is an excellent school. The vast majority of teachers truly care about the kids and it shows in their daily activities. My kids benefited from the special services that were available, such as reading specialists, and I felt they were well prepared for the next level of education. The 'specials' such as music and physical education are things we take for granted but, truthfully we are very fortunate to live in a district that offers such a well rounded curriculum. The level of parental involvement at Novi Woods is overwhelming and makes for an even richer elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

All thing great are not popular and all things popular are great. This school systems thinks its both. Sometimes its ok to admit you need work. We did not use to have MLK birthday off, so what they did is change its to records day and the teachers still have to work, they think that because they have a friend that black all is well in Novi land. If your child is not white the chances of them being called for a play date is slim. this school system has a lot of racial problems that are sweep under the rug. If you are white all your concerns are heard but if your black they are not important. In dispite what they think, not all teachers in this system are great, Some just want their check and summer vaction. How can a leader lead behind closed doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This is best school to enroll kids. This school is perfect for everything including quality of teachers, extra carricular activities, safety, location, and staff strength.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

This is not a good school for students with special needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2005

Novi Woods has created an awesome way to add physical activity to the curriculm. They call it 'Woods Workout'. It is done for about 20 minutes before 'special'(art, spanish, ect) so the kids will focus more on their special class and have less of the 'wiggles'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 69%
Asian 44% 3%
African-American 4% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Ascher
Fax number
  • (248) 449-1239

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25195 Taft Rd
Novi, MI 48374
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 449-1230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





William Allan Academy
Northville, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT