Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Novi Woods Elementary School 2

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
The school generally ranks well on test scores and other metrics that one would expect from an upper middle class suburb, and as such is listed on quite a few rankings. However, the down side of this is that their blue ribbons and rankings have given the school officials and teachers a superiority complex (as well as many of the more emotionally invested parents). They are unwilling to listen or acknowledge feedback if it isn't in line with their predetermined reasoning. As one would also expect in a middle class suburb, a particular clique of PTO moms runs the show and seem steer the teachers and principal according to their collective wishes. Many of the teachers here are aging and tired, and it shows in the quality of interaction the children receive. They're all treated as mice in a maze, herded towards the school district's next accolade-driven benchmark instead of as individuals with individual needs. The before/after latch key program (CARE) is also a flat, uninspired holding tank for children. If you have a choice in districts, choose another that is more child-focused and diverse in approach to education. Novi's glory days are behind it, and it has become somewhat of an "Uncle Rico," feeling the need to constantly remind people how great it is based on past achievements. A truly great school and district shouldn't have to work so hard to be seen as such.

Novi Woods Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
I'm indifferent here. All schools give more homework than in past generations. I disagree with the overload, but can't blame this particular school.


Novi Woods Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
Perhaps in that some are forced to go uphill the whole way, but here's just as much a chance of having the opposite outcome.

Novi Woods Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
I do not feel it does. Children are labeled, for better or worse, and it's no secret to staff, other students, and the "in" parents.

Novi Woods Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
My kindergartener loves her school. I can see her growth through a few months. She always wants to go to school and sings the school song all the time. I like the great leader program which encourages kids to be confident and willing to try. Teachers are great and work closely with parents. The Facebook, Twitter and Email system keep everybody updated very important for busy parents who want to know what s going on every day. I appreciate the school keeps up the security process after all the tragic news I heard these years. It might make less flexible but I d rather kids to be safe.


Novi Woods Elementary School 3

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
Stiff atmosphere. Not the same school/parent-involvement that there used to be. It is run more like a prison. I believe the background checks are required by state, and I understand the need to check in visitors, but parents are not allowed to enter the school past the front office for any reason now. The principal said it got to be too much of a distraction for teachers, so no more observations by parents of their children in their classroom setting or no more quick kisses to your kindergartner when you drop off a forgotten lunch. It's a recipe for bad teachers to thrive. What a shame. Also, the new principal would make a good politician. You'll feel like you'll need to wash your hands after talking with him, he is fake and acts like he cares about your issues, but just likes to give lipservice. He has a selfish complex. He raffles of spending time with him as a prize during school events. Glad my child left while it was still a good school. What a shame.

Novi Woods Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
If moving to Novi or already live in the area, Novi Woods is the elementary school of choice for you and your children! The principal at Woods works very hard to maintain an environment where children can learn and be successful leaders in our community. His love of the school and his profession is evident in every decision that is made. Novi Woods has teachers that love what they do and it shows in the way they teach and treat their students. Many of the teachers live in the community and send their children to Woods by choice. It is common to see older students in the community return to school with their siblings, often just to see their favorite teachers from previous years. There are plenty of ways that parents and even grandparents can help throughout the school year. The PTO sponsors many different types events for the students and their families during and after school. Whether you work full time or not, if you enjoy volunteering and working with others with children's best interest at heart, you won't be let down! Come see for yourself, it's a fabulous, neighborhood school with leadership that constantly seeks ways to improve your child's education!

Novi Woods Elementary School 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school if you work full time and have no interested in participating in your child s school experience. The principal is weak and questions nothing. There are 3 white women who run everything. Considering almost half of the population is not white or women, they do not represent the school community well. They discriminate and keep everything exclusive and behind closed doors. The community has given up trying to do anything about it. Not a great place to live or participate, unless you are a friend of one of the self appointed three. But if you don t care, the curriculum is fine and the teachers are great.


Novi Woods Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
My children started their schooling at this school last september (2010). I am seeing the school is doing excellent to the student. My sons have learnt a lot.

Novi Woods Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
Novi Woods is an exceptional school with remarkable teachers! I am GRATEFUL that the Novi Woods staff recognizes that one child's inability to control themselves should not rob other children of the opportunity to learn. Children are expected to be responsible for their own behavior. U wish our entire country would operate this way! As a former teacher turned stay-at-home mom myself, I do not believe that a child with special needs should be allowed to negatively affect the learning of other children! If you think that your responsibility ends when you drop your child at school, and if you believe that ADHD, ADD, or special needs are an excuse for inappropriate classroom behavior, then Novi Woods is NOT for you! If you want a school that will provide a superior education in PARTNERSHIP with you, then this is the perfect place!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Novi Woods Elementary School
25195 Taft Road, Novi, MI  48374
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (248) 449-1230
Last modified Novi Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top