Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Novi High School

Public | 9-12 | 2002 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Novi High School is a great school. The Principal, teachers, counselors & staff are excellent. All the teachers my daughter has are caring & very dedicated to teaching. They make learning fun & interesting. There is something of interest for every student & an opportunity to excel. Glad my daughter is a part of Novi High. Zenobia. H. Naterwala
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Grading in this school seems arbitrary among different teacher within same course. My experience with the counselor of this school was not positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

The school has nice facilities and offers a wide array of activities for student's to participate in. They have numerous sports teams, clubs, honor socieities, and co-op opportunities. They also have a great band, choir and theatre program. The number of options available allows students to find what they're interested in and get involved. The school also has great resources available for college prep. The staff is very knowledgable about the process and about the opportunities available for students. The teaching and administrative staff also does a good job with the students. Overall, if students take advantage of the opportunities available to them, they can become well-rounded individuals who are prepared for college years and beyond.


Posted November 14, 2010

Budget cuts in Novi, similar to most other schools across Michigan, have had an enormous negative impact on the school as a whole. Poor choices by the school board have made matters even worse, for example, spending thousands of dollars to train teachers and become certified to teach International Baccalaureate classes while at the same time, cutting other programs because of budget issues. The school offers a variety of "7th period" classes that take place after school, such as jazz ensemble, or additional IB courses. However, the administration does not treat these as legitimate classes, by allowing simple things to disrupt the class, such as an announcement being made over the PA system every 20 minutes or so. The school is also not very generous in giving teachers adequate planning time during school hours, making it difficult for them to prepare for the next day. The school is also constantly having issues with its air circulation, most classrooms being either extremely hot or extremely cool, and many rooms are depressurized, with a significant draft going into the room, and a large pressure change whenever a door is opened.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2010

Novi High School doesn't even deserve the one lone star I gave it. With the acception of the wonderful music program here, I have had nothing short of a terrible experience these past four years due to politics in and among teachers and administrators alike, and an over-controlling administrative body. These goody-goody reviews are completely and utterly false.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

The opportunities available to my child were amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

As a student of Novi Highschool, the kids that apply themselves and actually try are the kids that end up going above and beyond. The majority of the teachers are fantastic at what they do, however there are those few that no one [of the student body] like. But they have those at every school. Extracurricular is amazing. There are so many things to do its almost impossible to stay away from them. Teachers are good at listening to students needs and helping them with them. Counselors are helpful and caring. Novi Highschool is a great school overall
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

As a parent of two Novi High School graduates currently attending Big 10 Universities, I would recommend this school to anyone interested in an exceptional education. The teachers, counselors and administrators are very caring, devoted professionals who help prepare students for higher education if they so choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Overall, I was fond of the way the school is run. The teachers are very caring of their students and provide excellent educational environments for them. It's sad that some of the kids don't appreciate such a astounding and profound school. If I had the option, I would attend that school in a heartbeat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Excellent teachers and great support and encouragement from staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Novi High is an excellent scholl. The teachers are very knowledable and they take care of students very well educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

It's not that good. The smart kids that care about their future bring up the Novi name. The curriculum there is so-so.


Posted January 9, 2008

Novi High is a wonderful school. At heart, the staff does have the students over all safety, well being, and success in mind. There is even scheduled time every week for students to seek help from their teachers to prevent us from falling behind. Considering that Novi is quite a rich community the lunch prices are not rediculous. And students whose families just don't have the money can get free or reduced price lunches through speacial plans.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2007

My son graduated from Novi High in 2007, and my daughter is currently a junior there. Novi High school provides a high quality education with many wonderful teachers and an absolutely terrific principal. The students have so many wonderful class chocies. The Japanese and band teachers are the best you could possibly find. My son spent years in the special education program in Novi schools, and the high school special ed teachers did an incredible job with him. He's currently doing very well in college. The only problem I find with the high school is the high proportion of spoiled students in this affluent community with little respect for the wonderful educational opportunity they are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

I moved to Novi in 2005 my 9th grade year. Before going to the best school in the state of michigan (in my eyes) i was going to a wayne county public school and was doing really bad. Teacher did not care about nothing but the money they were making, but when i came to Novi High school they showed me a lot of love.They showed me how much they cared about me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2007

I attended Novi and it was by far the best school I had ever gone to. I learned so much from my experiences and I can say that it with out a doubt prepared me for college. I now live out of state but I am considering moving back to Novi so that my son can benefit from a Novi education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2006

well I'm not necessarily a parent, however, I was a student there from 2001-2005. Novi High School is a fantastic school. The extra-curricular activities (sports, music, art, writing seminars...etc.) were above and beyond. I, specifically, participated in the English and Art department and learned more than I ever thought I would. True, the lunch prices are a little steep, but you can get by quite easily (pretzel w. cheese is a buck). 80% of the administration are very nice and will help students with what they need. But be careful of some of the office secretaries (if you are not stern, you'll get tramped on. And this is coming from someone who dealt with them on a daily basis and watched her mother deal with them as well). Novi is a fantastic school. I miss it terribly and many of my favorite memories are from days at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2005

Novi High is a fantastic school! The special education department is one of the best around; With first-hand experience, I can say that the students are well respected, given every possible opportunity to grow in a world where they are often shunned. John Lawrence is a very caring man who, as principal, is in a position that was made for him. Wonderful man -- I can't say enough about him! Yes, maybe some of the lunch costs are a bit high, but what isn't in this world of ours. Novi High School is a class act and deserves recognition for the fine job they do producing quality students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

The Novi school district is one of the best in the country. If one doesn't like the lunch prices, just bring lunch instead. The administration is devoted to their work and what is best for the students. Novi gives students a great learning expierience for a better future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2005

This school is rediculous. The lunch prices have to be at least 2 or 3 dollars price gouged. All of the administration is rude, and somewhat ignorant except for one woman.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

480 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

479 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

482 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female58%
Male64%
African American26%
Asian86%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learners52%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
African American51%
Asian85%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners19%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students59%
Female56%
Male61%
African American23%
Asian71%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learners5%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female69%
Male74%
African American46%
Asian81%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners24%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
African American47%
Asian87%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 69%
Asian 25% 3%
African-American 10% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nicole Carter
Fax number
  • (248) 449-1519

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24062 Taft Road
Novi, MI 48375
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 449-1530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cooke School
Northville, MI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT