Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Novi Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1010 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2012

Novi Middle School is an excellent school. Great amount of homework. Teachers are mostly caring and they seem to challenge the children academically. Attendance office staff need to be personable to both students and parents. There seem to be arrogance in this department. Though the teachers are the most important in a school, the staff can show good support especially the ones who interact with parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

Overall, very happy. My student is in 8th grade, has mostly A's, doesn't get in trouble, does extra curriculars and has been in Novi Schools since K. Most teachers have been good/excellent and great to work with. Academics are very strong and students are challenged in realistic ways. That said, 2nd grade teacher was not so good and a few of the Middle School ones are lukewarm. The school district has a "parents as partners" motto that seems to more be talk than substance. I've been disappointed in the principals of all three schools as they each talked a good game, but when asked to take action on a problem, they prefer the ignore and hope it goes away approach. Bottom line - very strong school district with the same problems you are likely to find anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

This is our third year in the district. I must say if you are looking for a quality education then this is the place for you and your family. However we are not looking for slackers or bullies. This is a peaceful school district and we would like to keep it this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I go to this school right now and I'm in eighth grade. This is an amazing school! They really give you an amazing education without forcing you to work your butt off 24/7. All the teachers are really nice and supportive and the facilities are very clean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2009

A great school with great activites, facilities, resources and most of all Teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

I am a seventh grader in this school right now and I love it! The school focuses on the education as well as extra curriculuar activites and they have a lot of after school clubs. If you or your parent can't pick you up don't worry the school offers late buses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2007

My daughter loved her 7th and 8th grade team teachers at Novi MS and entered high school this year well-prepared. Wonderful teachers and administration combine here with an amazing building and sports facilitiy to offer a very special learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I am a 8th grader at Novi Middle. This is my first year at this school and in this district. I really love the school and the administrtive staff is very nice. Novi is a great district overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2007

This school is so great it is the best thing i could ever want i am happy and have a lot of friends.The after school activities there are really educational and keeps me from being a couch potato and if my parents can't pick me up when i stay after school the late bus takes me home. The cafeteria there is really clean and has great healthy food or snacks. My teachers are doing a really good job of teaching me and my classmates and finding out good fun projects of learning and doing homework.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2004

A great school! Teachers are caring, attentive and heavily invested in the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

543 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

541 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

541 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

515 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

517 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

515 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 69%
Asian 28% 3%
African-American 10% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Stephanie Schriner
Fax number
  • (248) 449-1619

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

49000 West 11 Mile Rd
Novi, MI 48374
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 449-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cooke School
Northville, MI


James R Geisler Middle School
Commerce Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT