Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hickory Woods Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
They do not bother to call when a child is hurt. The office staff needs to be removed and bring in fresh young staff

Hickory Woods Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
Average school outdated interior and rude office staff. The office staff will role their eyes at anything you say. They can't be bothered. The prime time staff are loud and obnoxious. Removing my son from the program as they are all uneducated misfits. Not one of the prime care staff have any background in childcare. They refer to this as a licensed program....


Hickory Woods Elementary School 1

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is sub par, to say the least. There is a complete lack of adult supervision. My son (in kindergarten) fell off of a play structure and bumped his head on *concrete-and I did not even get a phone call! Constantly issues with my son getting hurt at recess or in the classroom with no adults around to witness or help. I pulled him from this school in 2 nd grade and Hickory Woods is just a bad memory, now!

Hickory Woods Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
My daughter's school is safe. As a mother, I am very happy to say that teachers are doing excellent job. My daughter loves her school.

Hickory Woods Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2011
- a community member
I went to school here starting in 99 and i loved it! I dont think i could have had a better experience. Every aspect of this school has something to offer each student and the lessons stick! the teachers made it so that i still remember so much because of the unique methods and all of the different accomidations each of them made in order to secure that every child is getting the help they need and deserve!


Hickory Woods Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school with astounding leadership! The principal is the best educational leader I have ever met. A wonderful music program that is miles ahead of other schools.The school has a great environment and parental involvement. I highly recommend this school!!!!!!

Hickory Woods Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
I absolutely love Hickory Woods. I have had at least one child in this school since 2005. I have two children that currently attend and have nothing bad to say. Two yrs ago I moved and made sure I stayed in the Hickory Woods boundary. The extra reading programs, art, music, and physical education are top notch.

Hickory Woods Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Hickory Woods is a great Elementary school that focuses on keeping our kids safe, building self-esteem, and providing high quality education.


Hickory Woods Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
Overall this is a very good school. All the teachers my daughter has had are excellent and very caring. The facilities are in excellent condition and very well suited to the elementary student. The major dissapointments with this school are a lack of any foreign language program in the curriculum and the elimination of the gifted program.

Hickory Woods Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 05, 2008
- a parent
My daughter is going to grade 3 now and has liked this school from the day one in FIrst grade. Instruction is rendered based on the individual child needs - depending upon the student's appetite for challenging stuff and interest. She likes everything at the school - the art, music classes gym etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hickory Woods Elementary School
30655 Novi Road, Novi, MI  48377
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (248) 956-2600
Last modified Hickory Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top