Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deerfield Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 432 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2012

One of my children did enjoy Deerfield very much, and my other child didn't care for it much. Some of teachers were great, especially Mr.Mcurdy! I really missed Mr. Njus after he retired and the vibe at the school seemed to really change for the worse. The new one definitely wasn't as friendly to the children or as open. Also, the secretary in the main office is VERY RUDE!!!! She will talk to you and treat you like a child. She has very little patience or respect parents. I'm sure she is nice to the staff because that HAS to be the only reason she still works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Had two kids go thru this school for a total of 8 years worth, and I have to say the quality of the instruction and the amount of learning they received was just outstanding. Very dedicated and competitive teachers who strive to not just do good, but excel to be the best is something we haven't seen in other schools. This is a top school in every regard in my view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

This school has been an amazing school and I look forward to all my children coming here. Along with the outstanding teachers, volunteers and outstanding tests scores, I'd say we made the BEST choice staying here!! I loved the previous principal and I and my children are loving the new principal!! Thank you for making the learning so exciting and fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

I have to say, I am glad Deerfiled is getting a new principal. If he liked you....great. If he didn't, you and your child were toast. The infighting with among the teachers is aweful. A new principal will be the best thing that ever happened to that sham of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Deerfield involves the parents to be a part of the children's education as well as teaching kids the importance of being good citizens. The kids earn higher scores than most schools and are excelling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

I am a parent at this phenomenal school. The principal and teachers are amazing. It is based on best practices. It offers multi-age and differential learning. My family has been at this school for seven wonderful years. Due to unwarranted redistricting, my children will no longer be allowed to remain at this school and will be sent back to their neighborhood school. For all who will be allowed to attend this fine school, enjoy and embrace this amazing program. You are very fortunate. It is truly awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Great School! Am glad my daughter went to Deerfield. Principal and teachers do a great job and I feel good knowing my daughter is in a safe environment. It would be great if the school could pay more attention to kids with allergies like dairy. (School parties & school lunches). Alternative arrangements should be considered. On the whole an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

We have been very happy with Deerfield Elementary. The parental involvement is excellent, the facility is beautiful and the quality of education is outstanding. The art, music, and spanish programs have outstanding resources and are excellent. The Principal, teachers, and parents take great pride in this school and it shows in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

I am extremely happy to see my son's progress in 4th grade. Even though he has moved from a neighboring school district in 4th grade, the school has helped him to transition in the most efficient way and my son has made remarkable progress in the first 7 months of his schooling at Deerfield. The school's emphasis on music, spanish, technology in addition to the behavior and leadership qualities are excellent and unparalled. The best elementary school in Michigan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

I am very disappointed in the way the school handled the situation of my granddaughters teacher who is taking a leave of absence. We were notified one week before the teacher was leaving and we were notified the day that the teacher was leaving that the class would be taught by a teacher who just received her teaching cerftificate in April of 2003.


Posted October 6, 2003

If you are looking for a school that really cares about kids and views parents as partners in education, look no further. Deerfield is exemplary in its standard of excellence and Basic School philosphy. I have had 3 children pass through Deerfield's system. One of my children was in Special Ed. With the love, care and attention to the whole child, we were able as a family to focus on life itself and not get caught up in details. This school superceded our expectations of elementary school; the staff is extremely talented and full day Kindergarten is successful. Upon leaving 4th grade at the end of their term, these kids are respectful learners, confident and capable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 69%
Asian 39% 3%
African-American 4% 18%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Julie Bedford
Fax number
  • (248) 449-1709

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26500 Wixom Rd
Novi, MI 48374
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 449-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT