Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deerfield Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
One of my children did enjoy Deerfield very much, and my other child didn't care for it much. Some of teachers were great, especially Mr.Mcurdy! I really missed Mr. Njus after he retired and the vibe at the school seemed to really change for the worse. The new one definitely wasn't as friendly to the children or as open. Also, the secretary in the main office is VERY RUDE!!!! She will talk to you and treat you like a child. She has very little patience or respect parents. I'm sure she is nice to the staff because that HAS to be the only reason she still works there.

Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
Had two kids go thru this school for a total of 8 years worth, and I have to say the quality of the instruction and the amount of learning they received was just outstanding. Very dedicated and competitive teachers who strive to not just do good, but excel to be the best is something we haven't seen in other schools. This is a top school in every regard in my view.


Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
This school has been an amazing school and I look forward to all my children coming here. Along with the outstanding teachers, volunteers and outstanding tests scores, I'd say we made the BEST choice staying here!! I loved the previous principal and I and my children are loving the new principal!! Thank you for making the learning so exciting and fun!

Deerfield Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
I have to say, I am glad Deerfiled is getting a new principal. If he liked you....great. If he didn't, you and your child were toast. The infighting with among the teachers is aweful. A new principal will be the best thing that ever happened to that sham of a school!

Deerfield Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Deerfield involves the parents to be a part of the children's education as well as teaching kids the importance of being good citizens. The kids earn higher scores than most schools and are excelling!


Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2007
- a parent
I am a parent at this phenomenal school. The principal and teachers are amazing. It is based on best practices. It offers multi-age and differential learning. My family has been at this school for seven wonderful years. Due to unwarranted redistricting, my children will no longer be allowed to remain at this school and will be sent back to their neighborhood school. For all who will be allowed to attend this fine school, enjoy and embrace this amazing program. You are very fortunate. It is truly awesome!

Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
Great School! Am glad my daughter went to Deerfield. Principal and teachers do a great job and I feel good knowing my daughter is in a safe environment. It would be great if the school could pay more attention to kids with allergies like dairy. (School parties & school lunches). Alternative arrangements should be considered. On the whole an excellent school.

Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2006
- a parent
We have been very happy with Deerfield Elementary. The parental involvement is excellent, the facility is beautiful and the quality of education is outstanding. The art, music, and spanish programs have outstanding resources and are excellent. The Principal, teachers, and parents take great pride in this school and it shows in every way.


Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2004
- a parent
I am extremely happy to see my son's progress in 4th grade. Even though he has moved from a neighboring school district in 4th grade, the school has helped him to transition in the most efficient way and my son has made remarkable progress in the first 7 months of his schooling at Deerfield. The school's emphasis on music, spanish, technology in addition to the behavior and leadership qualities are excellent and unparalled. The best elementary school in Michigan.

Deerfield Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2004
- a community member
I am very disappointed in the way the school handled the situation of my granddaughters teacher who is taking a leave of absence. We were notified one week before the teacher was leaving and we were notified the day that the teacher was leaving that the class would be taught by a teacher who just received her teaching cerftificate in April of 2003.

Nearby schools

Deerfield Elementary School
26500 Wixom Road, Novi, MI  48374
(248) 449-1700
Last modified Deerfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top