Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy School

Public | K-6 | 417 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

JFK is a dream come true. A school filled with smart, creative, polite, kind children, caring, hard working, happy and appreciated teachers and staff, AND parents who gladly volunteer their time! Other schools should take note. This is what public education should be! Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My daughter attends JFK and they practice good behavior and exhibit importance of making student feel like they are a special. She feels safe. I am glad that I kept her in this school district. She loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I have a second grader and a kindergartener at Kennedy. The more I talk to parents with kids in other schools, the more I am convinced that Kennedy is a rare gem. Parent volunteers are trained provide kids in the lower grades one-on-one tutoring in math and reading several times per week, giving the teachers time to focus on more in-depth teaching activities. The kids are taught to be responsible, independent and curious learners, working at their own level and pursuing their own interests whenever possible. The PTA is very active and involved, and JFK has the highest green school rating, giving students a daily model of environmental stewardship. The teachers and staff are enthusiastic and caring. Because of the high degree of parent involvement, I know my kids' classmates and their parents. Kennedy is more like a community than just a school, and I can't say enough positive things about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

My husband and I have been very impressed with all the teachers and assignments that are given at Kennedy. My two children love the school and look forward to school each morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers and active parents are fantastic and the new principal is bringing it all together!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

My child was in the Multi Age program and is pales in comparison to the Open Program. There is way less parental involvement, more behavioral issues, and more special need students being mainstreamed. The problem with the Ferndale District is that not every student is getting the same quality education as the other. And the terrible part is that the superintendent and other administrators will not or cannot change this unfortunate fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

They have an awesome family-style community feeling. Parents are highly encouraged to be involved and to give their input. They also have an excellent green school rating and are working to reduce their urban footprint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

I went through the Open Classroom program when I was a child when in was taught at Taft Elementary, and I was excited to put my own children in the program 20+ years later. They even have some of the same teachers! The children did great in the Open Classroom program. But, we had to move out of state two years ago and we mourn JFK. Even though both kids are now in a school rated '10' and 'Exemplary', they are bored out of their minds with the traditional rigid classroom structure. We will always miss JFK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

My daughter attended JFK and I was not very happy with her teacher. Each time I went into the classroom children were never in their seats. Some children were in the classroom, in the corner, under the desks, in the hallway, everywhere but in their seat learning. Maybe it was the teacher, but I took my daughter out of JFK because she was not learning in a structured environment. If your child needs structure, I do not recommend JFK.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

The major problem with Kennedy is the separation (segregation) between the Open Classroom and Multi Age programs. It's very obvious to me (and probably to all the children) that the Open Classroom is the preferred program, because of it's full capacity and waiting list. I don't think this is a healthy learning environment for our children, especially the Multi Age minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I have 3 children at Kennedy school in the Open Classroom program and we LOVE it! We have considered moving to the Grosse Pointe district, or further north, and the one reason we're still here is because of this school! My kids are getting a wonderful education, our teachers are phenomenal, and the parents and families are the warmest, kindest people we have ever met. There are loads of parents in the classrooms every day helping all the children, from those at grade level, to those needing extra help, to those needing challenges. My kids are involved in art club, math club, girl scouts, cub scouts, band, and a wonderful music program. We couldn't be happier! Go Ferndale schools!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My two oldest daughter went to Kennedy and my youngest is going into 4th grade, at Kennedy. As a Kennedy family, we have had a great educational experience. We have a close knit community and all our needs are address. I have only positive things to say about Ferndale School District. If you want your child to succeed they will, but you need to get or stay involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My son has attended JFK for the last 3 years, and I wish that this wasn't his final year. The staff is amazing! The support and communication are excellent. My son and some of his classmates played basketball for a church league in the area and his teacher, Mrs. W. made it to at least half of the games. These were games that took place on Saturdays, mornings and afternoons and had nothing to do with the school except that some of her students were involved. The kids were thrilled and know that Mrs. W. truly cares about them and their outside successes, her concern doesn't end at 3:30, Monday thru Friday - how awesome. The academics, extracurricular activities from the Sock Hop to the Fall Festival, the music program, all outstanding. Like my son and I say, all the cool kids go to JFK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I have a son in Third grade at this school and he is in special Ed and they have done an excellent Job with him he can read now and his grades have improved and his teacher is the sweeties lady that you could ever meet and she has a lot patient and she cares about her student and there learning and that is what our kids need today
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My son started in the first grade in the open classroom program at JFK. He has had nothing but great teachers and support staff. The program allows him to advance in math without waiting for the class. This keeps him interested in his studies. Each household is responsible for 40 hours a year of volunteering so there is always a parent in the classroom. The music department is excellent. They have several concerts throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My son is only a kindergartner, but the culture of learning and support at Kennedy give us confidence in both the pedagogical apporoach of hte open classroom and multi-age philosophies as well as the general positive environment of Kennedy. For an elementary school in an inner ring suburb of a supposedly 'rust-belt' city, Kennedy has thus far provided nothing but a positive expetation for our son and daoughter's education at this vibrant public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 69%
African-American 23% 18%
Multiracial 11% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Derek Adams
Fax number
  • (248) 586-8780

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24220 Rosewood Street
Oak Park, MI 48237
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 547-0880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Burton Elementary School
Huntington Woods, MI


Lubavitch Cheder
Oak Park, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT