Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Key Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter had been attending this school from pre k and is now in the 5th. My daughter had loved most of her teachers and so have me and her mom. They could be some improvements.. I don't think they are teaching these kids too there highest potential.and maybe that's a cultural matter. And some of the student are a little ghetto, but well assume the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.. With that dad i have seen some improvements this year as fat add security and possibly instrumental music classes. I wish them the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

A strange yet unruly environment for me and my children. They need a more male instructors or younger or male principal to establish structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

i would like to start by saying i loved my kids teachers.. with that said i had 3 boys who went there who are mixed and were constantly teased, and bullied.. i had addressed this issue multiple times and the bullies received MINOR discipline. also there is not enough parent involvement i had missed alot of events that i had no notice of. my kids will not be attending this comming school year. they will be attending a school who deals with bullying situation and is more of a mixed crowd where they will be accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

With just a little less than a month in school I am impressed. Keep up the good work teachers....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I rate this school a 4! It has many good qualities and the principal works well with the paretns to resolve issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My child was a new student to oak park schools this year. It's already rough on a child going to a new school. In the first week my child had a situation with three children against him. The next morning I went up to the school. Principal Snow did an excellent job handling the situation. The children were disciplined and the issue was lectured to the whole class. My child and the other children have resolved the issue. Sometimes children do the wrong things but that's why they grow to learn. If parents and the school- heads work together, our children will be successful. As of now, though this is only his second week there, Key seems to be a good school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

My son attended this school for 3 years. It has been nothing but frustration. No notification of activities, I can't tell you how many functions I missed because I found out the night before. I also don't feel like they are watching the kids like they should be, too much happens. It's too bad because their are some teachers there that are great, but the school needs a lot of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

I think Key is a great elementary school. I loved the way the staff & teachers are so involved in my children sucess. I think they need more activity for the kids to partipate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

My son attended a better school in the district last year, till the school district closed a perfectly good schhol. I am considering of pulling my son out of this school because they had made changes due to enrollment 5 weeks after schhol starts and the teacher my son has he will no longer have. better yet they did not give parents any notification. And to top it all off they did it on a Friday. I do not feel welcome and I don't like the fact that they do not give parents any proper notification of changes
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
10%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
1%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 91% 18%
White 8% 69%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brenda Snow
Fax number
  • (248) 336-7618

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23400 Jerome Street
Oak Park, MI 48237
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 336-7610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT