Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Delta Kelly Elementary School 2

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
We like the overall feel and environment of the school. The security measures are good, as far as getting into and out of the building. As a parent of a full-time special needs (SN) child, we are not privy to the general or overall school system, so our experience is focused. I can say that the school fet like a nice-seeming place for a typical child who was independent academically. However, this is not the case for our older child. We found a large lack of integration - in comparison with surrounding districts (Troy, Lake Orion, etc.) the SN kids only watched the typical kids during lunch and recess and rarely interacted with them. This is a poor example for the typical kids (who need to learn acceptance) and for the SN kids (who really need to see how typical kids act, since mimicking their behavior is a good way to learn typical social skills). It is clearly not DK's goal to main stream and integrate kids, though that idea is alive and well in neighboring districts. I would like to see DK in 10 years time with a change of staff to see how far they can come and if they can catch up to their peers. For now, though, we will not be attending DK and will be going elsewhere.

Delta Kelly Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
Again, until this school begins a serious effort to mainstream and integrate all students, it will not foster compassion, caring or empathy in it's student body.


Delta Kelly Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
As my previous comment stated, without a serious effort to mainstream and integrate children of all levels and needs, all kids are missing out on learning about empathy, tolerance and helpful citizenship.

Delta Kelly Elementary School 2

Posted August 09, 2014
- a parent
I was very disappointed with my son's experience at DK. Despite being labelled one of the best elementary schools in the district, the class sizes at Delta Kelly are far too large, averaging a 30:1 ratio. If you have a child who us academically strong like my daughter, they will be fine. However, if you have a child who has an undiagnosed learning disability, they will be in trouble as with our son. The teachers he had in second and fourth grades didn't have time to help with the struggles he experiencing and kept trying to label him ADD (Inattentiveness only). We left halfway through his 4th grade due to a transfer. Within a month at his new school, (class size 21:1) his new teacher called me and had basically pinned exactly what his issue was-further testing confirmed it as Auditory Processing Disorder, which is basically Dyslexia for hearing. Oh yes, his fourth grade teacher at DK used to hover over him, sigh loudly and ask him why he wasn't listening to her. Now he has the proper support and is progressing extremely well.

Delta Kelly Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends Delta Kelly. She has a small class size. There are about 20 kids. The class is well structured, the teacher is very kind, and communicates very well. Very pleased parent


Delta Kelly Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
My daughter was informed by her teacher if she couldnt sit in her chair all day, like a good girl she would be downgraded. 30 students a class. Additionally, there were issues of older boys were using obscene language and frightened her deeply,did not receive a response back from administration. So I yanked her out of there.

Delta Kelly Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Delta Kelly is the best elementary school. One of my daughters graduated from this school and one still attends it. Both my daugthers loved the school, it has the best teachers and the best facilties.

Delta Kelly Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This school is awesome!! We moved to Michigan in late 2007, and our children (now ages 8 and 10) did attend a local private school for the remainder of the 2007-08 school year. We had heard so many nice things about Delta Kelly, so we did look into our kids doing the following school year there. Mrs. Andres (the Principal) was prompt at returning my calls, and so easy to discuss our children and their needs, with her! Our children had great school years there last year, and we are sure this one will be even better. The staff are absolutely the best you can get - super qualified teachers, that truly love teaching children. Our son is 'gifted', and we found the teachers so willing to meet with us as much as we needed, to discuss his needs and achievements. Mrs. Andres and Mrs. Doerr (the Learning Consultant) have also been so very receptive, guiding and helpful with finding the right level of challenge for our son! In summary, we cannot say enough good about Delta Kelly Elementary . . . it has made our kid's transition to school in Michigan so much easier, and best of all - they love it there too!! Surely due to feeling accepted and nurtured for who they are; not always easy to do in a class of 25-29, but these awesome teachers get it done beautifully!!


Delta Kelly Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school with very dedicated teaching staff and involved parents in the community. Wonderful new facilty filled with energetic Principal and teachers.

Delta Kelly Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school with very dedicated teaching staff and involved parents in the community. Wonderful new facilty filled with energetic teachers that help make a difference in our childrens lives

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Delta Kelly Elementary School
3880 Adams Road, Oakland Charter Township, MI  48363
(248) 726-3500
Last modified Delta Kelly Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Delta Kelly Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top