Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kinawa School

Public | 5-6 & ungraded | 616 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

My school kinawa middle school is the best school ever the teachers are really nice and so are the students!!!!


Posted May 19, 2012

Great school and curriculum! Extra help is ALWAYS provided. Fun after school activities. Just wonderful.


Posted April 24, 2012

Test scores are good, but that's due as much to demographics and parental education as anything happening in the classroom. The administrators are lazy and "too busy" to meet with parents. Interpersonal issues between kids (e.g., bullying) are not addressed without significant parental follow-up. The teachers teach to the bottom of the class, presumably for test-score purposes, and blame "administrative requirements" for their unwillingness to step things up for more accelerated students. We've had children as students in the district for over a decade, and have noted a marked deterioration in the quality and leadership capabilities of the administrators in the last several years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I being a parent HATE this school, teachers are horrible, principal does nothing all day and lots of homework
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2011

I have a well behaved, intelligent child. I find the curriculum to be appropriate and the teachers, for the most part, to be highly motivated and caring. I do not think the homework is excessive or problematic. My child is safe and comfortable in the Kinawa setting. There is always room for improvement, but I do not see any major flaws with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Bullying is not addressed by the principal or the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

The homework piled upon the children is extreme. The children leave the school looking exhausted. I would not recommend this school if you are concerned with your child's psychological well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

School has a Montessori Middle School. Challenges students. Friendly atmosphere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

Kinawa is an amazing middle school. The teachers are kind, the course work challenging, high end science with daily labs work, computer centers, and a wonderful music program. The school is fun with social events, tons of school spirit, and a challenging but fun gym class daily. The gym teachers are motivational and kind. One of my children has been ill and all of her teachers were concerned with the gym teacher modifying their program for her, both of my girls went through a family tragedy but gym, the compassionate teachers, and their friends carried them through it. The middle school offers two periods during the day to take different elective classes from giving to those in our community to video production. I love their school but most importantly my two girls love it and want to be there even when things are tough. What more could a parent ask for?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

Kinawa is an amazing school. Even though it's not in the best of shape, it has a great atheletic program and an outstanding music program. This school also houses one of the most advanced video production labs in the state (for middle schools that is). Although this school has a reputation of having rich kids that are mean and snobby, most of the kids are nice, friendly, and easy to get along with, even if you're a new student (I was one). The teachers are fenomenal, they do a fantastic job of teaching and making things easy to understand for the students and stil manage to maintain a sense of humor. If you ever have had some interest of sending your child to this school you should definitly look into it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I used to go to this school. Okemos' reputation isn't very good, being 'a bunch of snobby rich kids'. This is not true. New students will be welcomed within minutes and everyone gets along no matter how much money they have. Kinawa has a great teaching faculty who are fun to have as teachers and they make learning fun. Kinawa is a great place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

This school is very good, even though a couple of the teachers are not the best, or the nicest. But overall, Kinawa is the best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

We were lucky to have our son at Kinawa. The teachers are outstanding, principal was wonderful, counselors are incredible and compared to what we have now, Kinawa gets an A+++++. Wish we could go back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2004

A safe school with no major problems, excellent music program, but as a parent I am not satisfied with this school academically. Some teachers are great but some are truly awful. Administration is not very supportive. Parent group is a somewhat effective cheerleader but seems to have no motive or power to push for changes toward excellence. Big topic in district for past three years is where to make cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

289 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

292 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 69%
Asian 20% 3%
African-American 8% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Hood
Fax number
  • (517) 347-9824

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 Kinawa Dr
Okemos, MI 48864
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 706-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Macdonald Middle School
East Lansing, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT