Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Martha School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Okemos

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2013

I am a proud parent of a child that attends St. Martha. Yes, this school is small, but that is the beauty of it. The teachers at this school have the opportunity to get to know every student that walks into their classroom and teach to his or her personal needs. The combined classes have not had any affect to my child's abilty to learn. The school has 8 full-time teachers that teach PreK-8, not 3. Okemos Public Schools has the higher rankings, and this is fine, you can keep them. We are highly satisfied with the caring, dedicated teachers who go above and beyond everything they do while always having a smile on their face along with the happy, confident children who enjoy going to school. I would recommend St. Martha School to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

This school has 3 teachers for k-8. All grades are combined and Most parish members do not send their kids to this school. Okemos is ranked in the top ten nationally.


Posted June 19, 2013

St. Martha School is a great place to learn. The staff is truly dedicated, most having Masters Degrees and are specialized in their areas of instruction. Many staff members have been with the school for over fifteen years and all teachers spend countless hours working one on one with students to insure their success. St. Martha partners with the parents and the community to develop the hearts and minds of the students. As in any school, there are challenges that are faced and dealt with. The issues presented by the disgruntled parent below have no real merit because they are one person's opinion based on gossip and rumor rather than the truth. This past year, St. Martha graduates from 2009 graduated from high school. Four of those graduates were National Merit Scholar Finalists as well class valedictorians and winners of many academic, athletic, and service awards. These students are continuing their education at places like Notre Dame, MSU, and University of Michigan. Those students credit their success to the foundation they received at St. Martha. I am proud to be a part of their and many other success stories!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2013

St. Martha School is the perfect school for children. It is a nurturing, loving, and caring environment where student's are successful. We had our children in the local public school and decided to transfer to St. Martha and couldn't be happier! St. Martha truly identifies each child's individual needs due to the small class sizes and extremely dedicated teachers. The local public school had large class sizes and my children were not truly cared for like they are at St. Martha. My children come home so much happier and much more confident now that they are at St. Martha. They receive a quality education and are becoming stronger in their faith. The teachers are so caring, the priest understands the importance of a quality Catholic education and is very dedicated to the school to help it strive and grow. I would highly recommend St. Martha School without reservation to anyone looking for a school to send their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

An excellent environment for learning and growing with Catholic values. Teachers and staff are among the very best. Students and parents also contribute to the warm and friendly environment. There are many advantages to and opportunities for the relatively smaller size classrooms and school. Students are challenged at every level. All day kindergarten contributes to an early head start with high reading levels. Strong drama and math programs, spanish for all grades, weekly all school mass with an engaging pastor are just a few attributes. As a mother of four children, I have been very happy here for 12 years. I would encourage interested parents to visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I total disagree with the posting of May 30, 2012. St. Martha School has excellent teachers that are dedicated to their students and the school. They go above and beyond what is expected of them. The school community is like family, everyone looking out for the best interest of the children. The principal, who is retiring after this school year, is committed to maintaining a nurturing environment for all the students. People who are looking for an excellent faith based education for their children will find it at St. Martha School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

My children attend St. Martha School and they love it. The teachers are not only excellent educators, but they have created a warm, nurturing environment. The school is very fortunate to have a priest who is a staunch advocate for Catholic education, and who has recently undertaken to expand the school and parish facilities to ensure the school's future growth and prosperity. I recommend St. Martha!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Responding to 'a parent' post of 30th May, 2012: As a proud parent of a student in a combined class, I can not say how proud I am for the accomlishments my son has made this year. Academics are certainly the top priority of the teachers, administration and church leadership. An amazing, nationally known Bullying Program has been implemented and will be beginning its second year this fall. I challenge any parent to find a comparable program in any other school system. The students, teachers, administration and parents (with the obvious exception of 'the parent' that thinks no discipline is in place) are 100 percent on board. The right school is one of the best decisions a parent can make for their child and if you are considering a school that focuses on values, academics (like proper spelling of the word combined and proper grammar use of the word 'there' and 'principal') then talk to a parent of St. Martha. You will be making a great decision for your child's future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I completely disagree with the previous rating. The parent that did the review evidently has personal issues with the principal and/or priest. I have two middle school students who are thriving. There is a clear discipline policy in place, and I can vouch that is it used consistently. The science teacher in the middle school is dedicated and experienced! She takes the students on engaging and meaningful field trips and is consistently looking for ways to challenge the students in and out of the classroom. Having a science lab does not make or break a science curriculum. St. Martha School is like a family to me. The parents are welcoming and value a strong Catholic education. I am confident that anyone who gives the school a chance will feel the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

Choosing St Martha school was the best decision made for our children. The academics and the life experiences our children have experienced have gone beyond our expectations. They are given the opportunity from kindergarten on to participate in a strings class and spanish and service projects that help them to grow and build skills that will stay with them for a life time. The teachers are amazing and truly care for each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

St. Martha has done a wonderful job preparing our children for life from both an educational perspecitve and a spiritual perspective. The teachers are second to none and I could not imagine a group of teachers more dedicated to excellence. Additionally, they do an excellent job with children with a variety of different talents and needs (this is shown in the standardized test results). The parental involvement at the school is truly special. We have a wide variety of parents who dedicate their time to education of not only their children, but to all the children. St. Martha is a close-knit community of teachers, parents and children. The family armosphere makes the school special. The bottom line is that my children love going to school and are surrounded by great kids. The decision to go to St. Martha was one of the best that we have made for our children, and we would do it again in a heart beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

Saint Martha is a great school that provides superb academics to our kids in a loving and caring environment. Our alumni succeed in the high schools they attend, and move on to very good colleges. The teachers, principal, priest and staff are phenomenal in their dedication to provide the best in general courses, arts, religion, spanish and music. DEDICATION and COMMITMENT to excellence is the key at Saint Martha. The priest relates very well to the students; knows every student by name and engages them in his homilies at every weekly school mass. There is a huge commitment by the parents to be involved in the school working close with the teachers to give the best experiences available to the kids. Discipline is implemented at Saint Martha, being one of the few schools in the area with a anti-bullying program I feel very fortunate that my kids are in such a caring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

Seriously, I have no idea what that one reviewer was talking about. All I know is that SMS is a very inclusive school. You got the wrong school? More people should move to MI and go to SMS!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2009

From the time my children started at St Martha until now I've felt blessed for the opportunity to have my children here in such a loving environment. I pray that the previous reviewer can find a place that they feel included. I don't recall being one of the 100+ families that was snobbish, non-inclusive, and unmorally principled, but I will reflect. The only blanket statement I can make is that I've never seen everyone at St Marthas tax return. David Dec St Martha parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Very snobbish. Parents are cliquish and very non inclusive. Unfortunate for you if you are poor, i pulled my kindergartener from here for fear of being influenced negatively, And to think that it is a catholic school with some basic moral principals----i was appalled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

The drama girls are just amazing. This 08-09 8th grade class has the potential to do amazing things. If anyone wanted to book them, they would surely be willing. Actually all the students are quite amzing, driven by the school's intellectual and spiritual advancement. There are literally no fights here. It's an amazing school and also not a rich snob school. But it's cool and anyone who has the willpower to brace yourself for a better education (and a better musician and theater advancement- 08-09 eighth grade girls!!!!) can join here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2008

well, what is there not to like? St. Martha is a learning enviroment , with good studies, people and and amazing musical arts programs, with amazing talents. Everyone gets good attention, and everyone there has amazing potential There are really fun kids there and great teachers and a truly heartwarming principal. When some kids started to protest on the playground, because they were not allowed to use the swings, she got to the bottom of it and there was an understanding. St. Martha has 3 extra added years of school, if you go there from kindergarten to 8th grade. Thank you SMS for being wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 71%
Multiracial 14% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
African-American 2% 20%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Helen Hillman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 West Grand River Avenue
Okemos, MI 48864
Phone: (517) 349-3322

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kinawa School
Okemos, MI





Wilkshire School
Haslett, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT