Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
153 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Martha School 4

Posted October 20, 2015
- a community member
It's really great place and great school, I love how it operates and everything. That's why I gave it good.

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
I am a proud parent of a child that attends St. Martha. Yes, this school is small, but that is the beauty of it. The teachers at this school have the opportunity to get to know every student that walks into their classroom and teach to his or her personal needs. The combined classes have not had any affect to my child's abilty to learn. The school has 8 full-time teachers that teach PreK-8, not 3. Okemos Public Schools has the higher rankings, and this is fine, you can keep them. We are highly satisfied with the caring, dedicated teachers who go above and beyond everything they do while always having a smile on their face along with the happy, confident children who enjoy going to school. I would recommend St. Martha School to anyone!


St. Martha School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a teacher
St. Martha School is a great place to learn. The staff is truly dedicated, most having Masters Degrees and are specialized in their areas of instruction. Many staff members have been with the school for over fifteen years and all teachers spend countless hours working one on one with students to insure their success. St. Martha partners with the parents and the community to develop the hearts and minds of the students. As in any school, there are challenges that are faced and dealt with. The issues presented by the disgruntled parent below have no real merit because they are one person's opinion based on gossip and rumor rather than the truth. This past year, St. Martha graduates from 2009 graduated from high school. Four of those graduates were National Merit Scholar Finalists as well class valedictorians and winners of many academic, athletic, and service awards. These students are continuing their education at places like Notre Dame, MSU, and University of Michigan. Those students credit their success to the foundation they received at St. Martha. I am proud to be a part of their and many other success stories!

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
St. Martha School is the perfect school for children. It is a nurturing, loving, and caring environment where student's are successful. We had our children in the local public school and decided to transfer to St. Martha and couldn't be happier! St. Martha truly identifies each child's individual needs due to the small class sizes and extremely dedicated teachers. The local public school had large class sizes and my children were not truly cared for like they are at St. Martha. My children come home so much happier and much more confident now that they are at St. Martha. They receive a quality education and are becoming stronger in their faith. The teachers are so caring, the priest understands the importance of a quality Catholic education and is very dedicated to the school to help it strive and grow. I would highly recommend St. Martha School without reservation to anyone looking for a school to send their children.

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
An excellent environment for learning and growing with Catholic values. Teachers and staff are among the very best. Students and parents also contribute to the warm and friendly environment. There are many advantages to and opportunities for the relatively smaller size classrooms and school. Students are challenged at every level. All day kindergarten contributes to an early head start with high reading levels. Strong drama and math programs, spanish for all grades, weekly all school mass with an engaging pastor are just a few attributes. As a mother of four children, I have been very happy here for 12 years. I would encourage interested parents to visit.


St. Martha School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
I total disagree with the posting of May 30, 2012. St. Martha School has excellent teachers that are dedicated to their students and the school. They go above and beyond what is expected of them. The school community is like family, everyone looking out for the best interest of the children. The principal, who is retiring after this school year, is committed to maintaining a nurturing environment for all the students. People who are looking for an excellent faith based education for their children will find it at St. Martha School.

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
My children attend St. Martha School and they love it. The teachers are not only excellent educators, but they have created a warm, nurturing environment. The school is very fortunate to have a priest who is a staunch advocate for Catholic education, and who has recently undertaken to expand the school and parish facilities to ensure the school's future growth and prosperity. I recommend St. Martha!

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Responding to 'a parent' post of 30th May, 2012: As a proud parent of a student in a combined class, I can not say how proud I am for the accomlishments my son has made this year. Academics are certainly the top priority of the teachers, administration and church leadership. An amazing, nationally known Bullying Program has been implemented and will be beginning its second year this fall. I challenge any parent to find a comparable program in any other school system. The students, teachers, administration and parents (with the obvious exception of 'the parent' that thinks no discipline is in place) are 100 percent on board. The right school is one of the best decisions a parent can make for their child and if you are considering a school that focuses on values, academics (like proper spelling of the word combined and proper grammar use of the word 'there' and 'principal') then talk to a parent of St. Martha. You will be making a great decision for your child's future!


St. Martha School 5

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
I completely disagree with the previous rating. The parent that did the review evidently has personal issues with the principal and/or priest. I have two middle school students who are thriving. There is a clear discipline policy in place, and I can vouch that is it used consistently. The science teacher in the middle school is dedicated and experienced! She takes the students on engaging and meaningful field trips and is consistently looking for ways to challenge the students in and out of the classroom. Having a science lab does not make or break a science curriculum. St. Martha School is like a family to me. The parents are welcoming and value a strong Catholic education. I am confident that anyone who gives the school a chance will feel the same.

St. Martha School 5

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
Choosing St Martha school was the best decision made for our children. The academics and the life experiences our children have experienced have gone beyond our expectations. They are given the opportunity from kindergarten on to participate in a strings class and spanish and service projects that help them to grow and build skills that will stay with them for a life time. The teachers are amazing and truly care for each and every child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Martha School
1100 West Grand River Avenue, Okemos, MI  48864
(517) 349-3322
Last modified St. Martha School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Martha School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top