Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fern Persons Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 436 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2013

Fern Persons is a fabulous schools. It is innovative and a place where EVERY student matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The school systems all around in olivet,care about there students and they are great at providing a wonderful enviorment for all children to learn and have fun learning,as well as an excellent physical education, and sports activities.


Posted October 19, 2009

They are wonderful they work good with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

We live in a neighboring school district & decided to take advantage of Schools of Choice & enroll our kids in FPE. This was one of the best decisions we've made for our children because they are really thriving as Olivet Eagles. Yes, the curriculum is more advanced for a child starting Kindergarten, but they go a full day so they have more time to learn. Preschool is very important for kids waiting to start Kindergarten at FPE because they jump right in to learning. Amazingly they have a lot of the kids reading, writing, & doing easy math by the time they start first grade! The teachers & support staff are wonderful & the communication & open door policy really put my mind at ease when first sending my kids to school. FPE may be a small town school but it has a global mindset for success. A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I feel they have a caring enviorment for children to learn. They try hard to have all essentials to teach every student in their own way. Noing not every child learns the same. We are a small town, only a mile long, but we great honor in our schools. We don't have enough money in our small community to provide everything posible though. I feel the elementry deserves the money the most because they smart our childrens schooling and feel the sooner you start learning at the best of your ability you will continue to learn, instead of struggeling. I know for a fact, I went through Olivet Schools and loved it. I would explain their requirements to other students from different schools and their jaws would drop. I thought it as nothing really, it was a good challenge but with the support you get from the staff and teachers it was an awesome experience. I graduated with a endorced diploma with extra credits and a GPA of 2.75 with learning disabilties. I loved my school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I could not wait for my son to enter FPE! I new he would think it was the place to be!Even when he was sick he wanted to call his teacher. He even said he was ready to go back to school at 4:00 p.m. even though the day was over. That says a lot about FPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Fern Persons Elementary in Olivet seems organized and put together. I have volunteered to help there in the past and really enjoy the way their school day is put together. The teachers seem to really like their jobs and work with the children the best they can. I am especially happy about the way the children get off the bus and into the school and at the end of the day as well. They have someone out there guiding them, it is really nice. My child is in Kindegarten and really enjoys it. We don't have tons of homework like I was afraid of...The teacher really does a good job in the classroom. They have your typical gym, library and music too that my child loves. The school is open to volunteers and has a great open door policy for teachers, principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

The staff at FPE are jsut as wonderful as they were when I went there. I made sure that when my kids were ready for school they were going to FPE to get a great start for there life. Because of FPE my child loves school and can't wait to go everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
African-American 0% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brock Peters
Fax number
  • (269) 749-4621

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4425 West Butterfield Hwy
Olivet, MI 49076
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 749-4611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Charlotte Sda School
Charlotte, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT