Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carpenter Year Round Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 447 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

Wonderful. My daughter has attended this school since grade K. Teachers are wow, excellent. The building, classrooms, play equipment, ect. are in top notch condition and managed well. Parents are very active in volunteer roles at this school. "Year Round" is misleading, school starts August 1 (4-weeks earlier) but otherwise ends with the rest of the Lake Orion School District in mid-June. The short 6-week summer helps my daughter carry-over what she learned into the next grade without needing any review time. The short 6-week summers also help my wife and I afford daycare/daycamp. Location is AWESOME, close to I-75 when you need to get by the school going/coming from work. I really wish the entire school district would get on this "Year-Round" schedule! It is a life saver for working parents, the kids all benefit from a longer learning cycle and fun-focused intersessions, and shorter summers. Look at the grades and test scores. Carpenter Elementary is consistently in Top 2% of all schools in Michigan! It is a role-model for all schools to follow, a privelage to be a part of. I am a proud parent and supporter of this wonderful school and highly recommend for all K-5 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I had my 3 kids at Carpenter almost for the entire Elementary grades. We were extremely happy with the school, the principal and the teachers. We knew about one bullying case and it was attended by the principal IMMEDIATELY. We were very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

This is a great school. My daughter just started kindergarten this year and it was a smooth transition. Her teacher is phenomenal! The other staff is excellent as well. They care as much as I do about her education. My wife and I feel blessed that she is in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!!!! Teachers are wonderful -Principal is HANDS ON and the challenges given to the children are right within the expected level for each grade. Sending my second child to school there- after attending private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

This is our first year at Carpenter. I love how attentive the teachers are. Its a "lottery school" so you have to choose to want to be there, and it feels that way too. Its like our own private school!! I love it! The staff is fantastic, and the families are very caring and interested in what is going on. Very much like our own community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Carpenter has such a positive attitude. The teachers are all very dedicated and they have attracted some of the best students in the area. They also succeed to involving the parents in a very positive way. A very outstanding school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

Both of my children have attended Carpenter. They recieved the attention and care that they need to suceed. We all need more that just education, we need individual care, and understanding. That is what my children recieved! This school has given my children the skills to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I am a parent of a child in Kindergarten. I am absolutely pleased (estatic, extremely happy) with Carpenter Year Round Elementary. The schedule (year round) provides an environment for better retention and allows for breaks for the children during the year which I am finding to be beneficial. In addition to the schedule, I am very pleased with the educational environment. I believe today a challenging enducation is needed and it must begin at a younger level than it has in the past. This is provided and the school is very quick to provide needed support to help and work with the students (this has been confirmed through discussions with other parents in other grade levels). The school encourages parent involvement both for schoolwide events and in the individual classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Our son attended Carpenter and we loved it, I have to quote one of the other reviews 'T-E-A-M or F-A-M-I-L-Y are two words that are used to identify with the administration, faculty, staff, parents, and students of this fine school.' We felt involved, respected, listened to, and the principal, Mrs.Edwards was the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My children attended Carpenter. My daughter, who needed little encouragement , did fine. My son, however, did not get the help he needed. He has since been doing extremely well in the new school we put him in. Carpenter is a good school for children who do not need much extra help. However, they are very interested in keeping their students scores high, so they will encourage holding your child back a grade, even when not necessary, as in my child's case. It was a lesson learned for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

I have two children who attend Carpenter. One in kindergarten and the other in 2nd grade. I think the teachers are great! If I ever have a concern they always take the time to help me and my children with whatever it may be. The principle is very friendly with all of the children and greets them in the morning and in the afternoon makes sure they are going where they need to be. I hope things work out so they can itleast finish elementary at Carpenter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

My three children went to Carpenter. Last year I was sad to see my youngest graduate the 5th grade. I am a teacher myself and have never seen as supportive and nurturing environment as I have experienced at Carpenter. T-E-A-M or F-A-M-I-L-Y are two words that are used to identify with the adminstration, faculty, staff, parents, and students of this fine school. Everyone assists each other in making a child's elementary school experience the very best that it can be. The year round approach is a definite plus and retention gained by a shorten summer vacation is remarkable. Unfortunately, its personal approach is not echoed in the middle or high school level. Kudos to everyone involved with Carpenter Elementary Year Round School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

This is a wonderful school. We have have 1 child who was switched to Carpenter starting 3rd grade(now in High School) and 3 that have gone there since day one and are still attending. They love going to school here. Everyone seems so involved with each other. The principal is great. The teachers go the extra mile to make sure the student is never left behind. The parents/families always participate and are so much closer than the other schools. I could not recommend a better school. This is what the kids look forward to. This is what they need! Carpenter is The Best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

We have two children at Carpenter. The teachers are very capable and caring. If you ever have a question, the office staff is always able to help. There is a lot of parental participation, which makes a huge difference. We have been in other schools, and this one is the closest to private school we have found.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kerri Anderson
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (248) 391-5461
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2290 Flintridge Street
Orion Township, MI 48359
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 391-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Divine Grace Lutheran School
Orion Township, MI


Orion Oaks Elementary School
Orion Township, MI


Webber School
Orion Township, MI


Lake Orion Baptist School
Orion Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT