Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blanche Sims Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 331 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2012

We moved here last year from another district. I am so greatful we did. The staff is amazing!! The teachers and even the principal are the most caring staff at any school my son has attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Great great great school! We have moved to another district and boy do i miss blanche sims. Faculty knows your child by name. They are very patient with children, and have a good discipline method which has taught my son a lot of valuable qualities. Teachers and prinicpal are very friendly, as well as the staff bearing the cold and rain to help students get out of vehicles and inside. Great at keeping the drop off traffic flowing. The school is just amazing, and we really miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

We have three children currently attending Blanche Sims. First off, the staff is great. There is constant communication with email, phone, send-homes ect. our children are doing very well and I credit this to the attention the Staff gives to each student individually. Of the 5 years we have dealt with the school each has been a pleasure. The school itself is located within the Village of Lake Orion. This offers many activities for the students such as walks to the local merchants to learn about our town and things offered within the community, trips to LOFD and LOPD Stations. Would not change schools for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My child is on his third year at blanche sims and has adhd, I cannot believe the lack of understanding and patience that have been shown by the principal and some teachers towards my child.I am seriously considering changing districts considering I have to drive him to school and pick him up everyday due to the horrendous transportation dept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

The teachers at this school are amazing. However, the principal leaves quite a bit to be desired. I hope that the performance of the teachers is not affected by her poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

I have had one child completely go through this school (Kindergarten to 5th grade) and have 2 other children in the school now and 1 more starting next year. The school is top notch! We got a new principal this year who's wonderful. I have no idea what the parent who feels parent participation in kept to a minimum is talking about! This school encourages and VALUES their volunteers! We absolutely love it! Also, bullying is NOT an issue. Any issues that we've encountered have been handled fairly. There are some snobby, cliques but for the most part, the families are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

We have three children in this school and have been very happy with all the teachers and the principal. Everyone is very caring. We had one child with a learning disability and his teacher and the principal took a real interest in helping him and he has been able to over come most of the learing problems he has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Had a major issue with school staff. Parent involvement is kept to a minimum at this school. There is a definate lack of communication between staff and parents. Definately need a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Ms. Healy is a wonderful teacher. We have a 5 yr old enrolled in all day kindergarten. Highly recommend! Costs extra $1500 per semester. Not impressed with the principal at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I have loved Blanche Sims for my children. The Teachers and Principal are the most caring and helpful staff I have ever encountered. They have gone way above and beyond to help my children. When they see a problem, they intervene immediately and always find a positive solution that meets everyone's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I love Blanche Sims Elementary School. The Teachers are fantastic. They care so much about my kids and it really shows in my kid's attitudes. Whenever there is a problem, it is addressed immediately and a positive solution is found that meets everyone's needs. The Principal is great. He is always open to listen and help address any concerns. My kids love it there and have commented on numerous occasions that they love school and love their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Found the same problem with the bullying, lack of Administration intervention, and an unwillingness to help the child. Just moved my son out of the school because the bullying just escalated throughout the year. Does not challenge the children there enough...band program has been eliminated....lack of teacher professionalism a huge problem
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

Unfortunately this school has a real bullying problem facilitated by a principal who wishes to ignore the problem. Poor experience for my children. The teachers were unexciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

I predict that Blanche Sims will outpace the district and county for improving scores and parent/student satisfaction. Excellent school and great team.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 3% 3%
African-American 2% 18%
Hispanic 2% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Goethals
Fax number
  • (248) 693-5322

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

465 East Jackson Street
Orion Township, MI 48362
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 693-5460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph School
Orion Township, MI


Oak Hollow Christian School
Oxford Charter Township, MI




Lake Orion Baptist School
Orion Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT