Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph School

Private | PK-8 | 384 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orion Township

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

We have attended SJS for 10 years with 3 children. One child has since graduated from SJS. Since the new principal has been at the school these past 2 years, the family like atmosphere has diminished. She is focusing on getting new members into the pre-K and is forgetting about keeping the middle school enrollment strong. The middle school teachers are not teaching my children to their full potential. The elementary teachers are fabulous. The school has turned into a business rather than a community. Parents used to be very involved in the school. Now a days, parents are not that involved. That speaks a lot about the administration. The principal and pastor have not listened to parents disagreements or how to discipline the children. Bullying is a huge factor in the middle school. The principal is unsupportive of the middle school kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

St. Joseph School is worth every penny. Test scores are consistently higher than Lake Orion public. Classroom size is excellent. Our son loves St. Joes. Those teachers that left in the previous review, either retired or needed to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Teachers are extremely dedicated and compassionate. A year ago a new administration and principal came on board and since then there has been a decrease in enrollment and huge turnover in teachers, many of whom have left with very little notice to go onto positions in the public system. Administration seems most concerned about issues related to student discipline, which in the grand scheme of things are relatively minor. There is little to no dialogue about the change in "spirit" of the school. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

St Joseph school is an outstanding school. The teachers are very kind and extremely competent. The school staff is very helpful. It is amazing how my child has grown spiritually and academically since Elementary school. I am very thankful for having the opportunity to send my child to SJS and I recommend this institution to any parent that want to invest in the education and well-being of your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

I have one child at St. Joseph and another that will be attending next year. I will say that every penny you spend on private school tuition you will get back tenfold in years to come. Our family is so blessed to have found a school that truly cares about the children in a way all parents hope for. Everyone from the teachers, administrators, clergy and parents all take a vested interest in each student's academic success and most importantly their success in life. If you are considering the school I think you could find no better place to get a great education, great friends and a great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I have three kids at St. Joe's. All are excelling academically and morally. It is putting an excellent foundation in place for when they transition to public high schools. I highly recommend St. Joe's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I think the Lake Orion schools are outstanding. I have had children in both the public and St. Joseph School and I think Lake Orion is fortunate to have these schools to offer to people. Academically the the schools are second to none. The parent raises the child, your child can be a morally responsible person and an exemplary student if you care to raise them that way no matter where they go. The choices are ALL good in the LO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

My experience with St. Joseph School and it's staff have been extraordinary. The spiritual as well as academic growth I have seen in my child has been priceless. I highly recommend St. Joseph School to those who are wavering the decision. It is a choice in which you will not regret. It has become more than a school, it has become family!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Meghan Evoy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (248) 693-0958

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

703 North Lapeer Road
Orion Township, MI 48362
Phone: (248) 693-6215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oak Hollow Christian School
Oxford Charter Township, MI





Daniel Axford Elementary School
Oxford Charter Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT