Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
354 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at St Joseph are gifts from God. They are passionate about Catholic education and are care about each child. They are great examples to the students.

St Joseph School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The homework at St Joseph is just right. They start homework (without urgency) in Kindergarten so that an early age they learn time management. Homework is a positive thing in our house. Our children our excited to show is what they are learning and enjoy what they are learning. As parents, we are able to see online their real time grades and then we can see where they may be struggling.


St Joseph School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
St Joseph develops persistence, grit and determination in it's students by setting high academic standards. It is a nurturing school, but not coddling. The educators make sure that the technology is used as an end result of already having learned the subject matter.

St Joseph School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
St Joseph develops respect in it's students because Christian values are a part of everything they do. The respect values that are expected at home are expected at school as well. Not only for adults, but to treat everyone you meet with respect.

St Joseph School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
St Joseph school has a culture of compassion, caring and empathy because it's Christian values are a part of everything they do. The family atmosphere between educators, parents and students promotes understanding between each other. The service projects help the students to have understanding for the world outside them.


St Joseph School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
St Joseph school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in it's students because it Christian values are a part of everything they do. The educators and Father Mike set tremendous examples. There is individualized attention to get to know each student.

St Joseph School 5

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
We are in our 7th year of sending our 3 boys to St Joseph and we could not be happier. Every parent wants to do the best for their children and we sleep very well knowing that academically, spiritually and socially, we are doing just that by sending them here. The academics are challenging, the educators are extraordinary and the families are so nice. Our favorite piece of their education would be the service learning projects where they learn to apply their gifts from God, along with the subjects they are learning to help others. An example would be 3rd graders utilizing adding fractions to make soup base for the local food center. It's a great experience as a student and as a parent.

St Joseph School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
I have 4 children and we have with St Joe's for 14 years and will be there for quite a few more years. I was lucky to have experienced Sr. Theresa and Mrs. Evoy. The school, staff and parents were wonderful 14 years ago and are still just as wonderful now. It is truly a family atmosphere. My oldest 3 have graduated St Joe's and are excelling in high school and college. My last one is thriving at SJS and I strongly recommend this school to everyone. In high school, when we go to parent / teacher conferences, the teachers all ask where our children went for middle school because they are very prepared for high school.


St Joseph School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
I would like to tell all of the teachers, leaders, staff thank you. They go above and beyond in my opinion. I can email any of them and ask a favor and none of the staff have ever told me no.

St Joseph School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
At one time, I thought the kids had too much homework, but I found out it depends on the child. I have 4 and one does homework quickly, two of them take the normal amount of time and one takes a lot of time, but that is not the school, that is the child and how they work. No wrong or right way, just different.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph School
703 North Lapeer Road, Orion Township, MI  48362
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (248) 693-6215
Last modified St Joseph School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top