Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Navigator School

Public | 5-6 & ungraded | 585 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2012

I believe that there are some great teachers here. The curriculum is fabulous. The administrative staff and lunch room personnel could be improved on. Complaints go unheard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

We moved here from out-of-state and my son has done really well at Navigator. The principle, vice principle, office staff and teachers have all been very welcoming to us and made my son feel like he "belonged". The extra activities they offer (at no charge) after school has really added to his enjoyment. This school is full of nice kids too. It was such a relief to see how well my son adjusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

The poor ratings comments simply are not true. My son struggled during his years there. I too wanted to blame the school. His teachers helped my son and I see that working hard is a life skill and now that he is in the 10th grade at New Tech High (inside PHS) he is excelling at a very high level and before his experience at Navigator/Pathfinder we as his parents did not think he would be this kind of hard working student. Thank you to all the teachers and staff there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Way above average school! Dedicated teachers and administrators on top of the social climate and their professions of teaching. Students have a variety of extra courses in Spanish, technology, and music. The School Improvement Team makes real progress. Teachers collaborate with other school districts to ensure top level instruction. They are also open minded and strive to balance the constant changing state education requirements and innovative teaching goals. A global perspective is taught through the sister school: Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala and student social studies websites. The 5 - 6 grade separate building is highly effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

As a family we were extremely disappointed by this school. Many of the teachers and administration do not demonstrate encouragement or compassion. It is a shame because there are so many wonderful teachers who teach because they love children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

It is a bad school. It's true, the entire staff is negative. The only good teacher is Mr. Cogswell. My child changed drastically after attending this school from good to bad. If I realized what was going on at the time I would have pulled my child out. I regret sending my child there and wish I could change it. I definitely would not reccommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

This school is awesome. The staff is wonderful to work with. They do not just focus on test results, but also teaching important life skills in a gentle way - responsibility, organization, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

The kids are really in a free for all. The art teacher throws away their precious pieces of work and tells the kids that it is garbage, then when asked about it acts like it's no big deal. Aren't we suppost to be building their self confidence? The staff really need to learn to manage their personal problems with a proffesional instead of telling the class all about thier family/income issuse. This school needs some really educators
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

268 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

265 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

273 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

262 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

282 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Stacey Urbin
Fax number
  • (810) 225-5305

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2150 East M 36
Pinckney, MI 48169
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 225-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT