Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 852 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

this school is awesome i think this schoool is great. we learn a lot it is fun


Posted March 23, 2014

My son attends this school for sixth grade. We find all of his teachers to be wonderful and encouraging. They readily provide their e-mail addresses and ways to contact them if you need to discuss anything regarding the class or your child. As for the comments regarding recess and not having anything to do, the media center and gym are open during lunch so students DO have the opportunity to engage in these activities. If the parents are concerned that their children have nothing to do during recess, they should encourage their child to participate in the intermurals that are happening during this time. In addition, many teachers offer additional tutoring during lunchtime for students that may need it. We love the Central 6th grade teachers. Keep up the great work and thanks for doing such a great job teaching and mentoring our son!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

Dear parents, How do you suggest teachers control the size of their classes? That is a district issue - please don't take it out on the teachers. Believe me, we don't want 33 students in a class either! As for standing in a parking lot for recess, be thankful they get a recess. Many middle school so not have recess. We do what we can with what the district has provided for us. As for 8th grade ceremony, we have been telling your student that they are incredible all year. That is not the only night where they are being recognized for their excellence. Central is a very hard working, student-centered school. We lead the district in many initiatives, including PBIS. I absolutely love being here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2013

I have been teaching here for 13 years and love the community! We have a diverse group of students who are wonderful. Teachers work collaboratively to create the strongest learning communities!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2012

I have never been more disappointed with administration before with a school. The teachers are unorganized and the classes are so crowded and kids get lost in the system. Recognition for students who excel is non-existant. Attending honors night last year for my 8th grader who was a straight A student...I was stunned to see that we collected the "awards" in an unmanned hallway and the kids were not acknowledged personally in the program...."please stand if you have a Math award in your folder"...WHAT?!?! How about show some respect for their hard work - call their name, announce their award and shake their hand. Is it really that hard??? The bullying is off the charts and when teachers are asked to re-explain something the kids are told "you should have been listening". Dont even get me started on the counselors....monkey see monkey do. Can't wait to get the heck out of this crazy, rediculous environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

All the teachers are so nice and I learned so much. Dont listen to the 1 star reviews, this is really a special school.


Posted September 6, 2011

So both of us went to Central Middle school. Yes, the school has its flaws such as buget cuts and an older school, but that's just every school at this point! No AC can be put in as result of it being 110 years old, and it gets hot, but so is Atlanta. It's tough to get through, but at the end you get to meet good friends, good teachers and it really is a growing experience. You learn wrong from right and learn what you learn even outside of the normal cirriculum. There's a place for everyone and it's the time where everyone gets to find it; it's middle school, not trying to get a degree at Harvard. You have to find yourself and Central does that AND teaches people. PLUS WE HAVE A POOL! ;D


Posted January 23, 2010

I was a student at this school for 7th and 8th grade and had a wonderful experience! I love most all my teachers and found them very helpful whenever i was having trouble. While the school is pretty old and has some kinks, i've always thought it adds to Centrals charm. While i understand parents who have kids coming from elementary school recess with playgrounds, middle schoolers are at that age where that stuff seems way too childish. Middle school 'recess' gave us a break from school in order to socialize with our friends, plus its a good start to transition them for high school where you don't have recess at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2009

Okay, I find it mean how some of you are writing about how horrible CMS is! It's not the schools fault your kid gets lost in the wrong croud or they get E's. You maybe need to pay attention to your kids more maybe. Or help them with their homework. And one person wrote that reccess is just an empty parking lot. Well, it is but it's the same at all the other Plymouth-Canton middle schools and high schools. CMS is very old, that's the only thing I dont like about it. Ww have no air conditioning! That's all I have to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

My child goes to this school, and this is a great school. We will be sure to recommend this to everyone we know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

The classes are too full. My 6th grader has an average of 33 kids in his classes. The teachers seem disorganized and scattered, yet they expect 11 year olds just moving up from elementary school to be totally organized and able to cope with 6 different classes from the very beginning. The 6th grade math, science and English classes have no textbooks. Many teachers seem to have unreasonable expectations. Both of my parents were teachers and I myself am a teacher. I have spent my adult life in public education and have always strongly believed in the importance and quality of public schools, but am currently on the verge of home schooling my son. This school is awful. They make good kids dislike school, and they have lost all credibility with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

I love Central, my student was going to a dearborn school which she was not doing the best at. We moved to Plymouth and she was enrolled and went from getting a D to getting A ssss. She is now on the honor roll. I am very happy. The teacher mrs. Matevia seen that my daughter was having problems in math and was able to put my daughter in another math class which really helped. My daughter has improved 100%. She is now doing advanced math. We are pleases with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

Horrible school. My staight A student who was in HALO is now recieving some E's. She is getting lost in the crowd. This school is over crowded and the teacher don't spend the time with the kids one on one. Even teacher conferance and open houses are done in groups with other parents. They have recess with no equiptment. No activities for them to do except stand around. They stand on a empty parking lot for their recess. Hum, I wonder why they have problems...Let see maybe they are bored. The bus system is horrible. I complained about the violance on the bus and was told maybe I want to drive my kids as that is a rough bus. I was stunned, why not take care of the problen rather than victims having to be punished. Pick another Plymouth/Canton school. There are plenty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Great school, great athletic program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

228 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

241 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

238 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

258 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 15% 18%
Asian 6% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Anthony Ruela
Fax number
  • (734) 416-7699

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Church St
Plymouth, MI 48170
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 416-2990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West Middle School
Plymouth, MI


East Middle School
Plymouth, MI



New Morning School
Plymouth, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT