Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Morning School

Private | PK-8 | 45 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plymouth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $163,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2012

Our child is in 2nd year preschool at NMS and it has been has a phenomenal experience. The teacher wears education, sincerity and love on her sleeve. NMS appeared to be an answer to all of our needs and wants for our child, a school where all kids were the focus and equal. The philosophy behind the program is amazing. The teachers that implement it combined with family participation and support are what makes it work in an inspiring and loving way for each student to receive what they need and DESERVE. Unfortunately, the lack and misuse of leadership has pushed us out the door. The resignation of teachers, lack of transparency and trust has greatly saddened us and has proved there are larger issues than just the much needed updating of materials, particularly in the later elementary and middle school. The internal issues creating conflict has gutted the attention of the school's main focus, our children. In the past we recommended friends and family only to be disappointed and embarrassed by the current state of the school. When a program can no longer function to nurture and elevate the education and social development of each child an in depth reevaluation must be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

We feel so fortunate we found this school! It is a dedicated community of families and teachers that go out of their way to make learning meaningful and fun. The kids are happy and loved. For us the investment is worth it. We believe we are providing our children with a foundation that will be to their advantage for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

Excellent Learning Institution: My husband and I investigated many private schools in the Metro-Detroit/Ann Arbor areas. We are confident that we made the right decision to trust the Head of School, teachers and Board of Directors with the education of our son. The Elementary Program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

Don't look behind the curtain. Although the director knows all the right buzzwords and things parents want to hear when looking at NMS, the puppet master is inept and the school is a house of cards. The director has NEVER had a performance review and uses the Board as her puppets. There is no written curriculum. There are very few written procedures for many important school functions. Children are not held accountable. Some elementary teachers are truly incompetent and the classroom environment is chaotic. Teacher turnover is rapid and good teachers do not stay for long. Many great knowledgeable families have left over the past few years. Do not waste 10K+ every year while you figure all this out... instead invest in a more sound school that will serve your child better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My daughter attended NMS for 2 years of preschool. It was a really creative and fun learning environment. expensive than . They have a co-op option, but if your main aim is to save money, its not worth it. I have a younger child, and had to find a sitter for everytime I was scheduled to work in the classroom. This usually entailed atleast four hours, with preparation and cleaning. It was fun but also exhausting. In addition to the classroom work, you are required to attend the auction and purchase at least 2 tickets , which at the time were $75 each. We did not send our 2nd child there for preschool, and found ourselves relieved when we were done with our NMS obligations.The director's and t communication skills are very lacking, something I would have thought someone in her position would have spent some time and effort cultivating (i.e.toastmasters)


Posted March 28, 2010

New Morning School is an amazing, outstanding, and unique place for both children and adults. If you are an involved parent, who cherishes your time with your child and trusts in the intentions of teachers, you will find this school to be a great fit. Teachers are accessible and knowledgeable, and the program is based on sound, proven philosophies of how children learn best. From preschool through middle school, students are provided with multiple strategies to get to the heart of their own learning. It is the rare student who would not fully benefit from an individualized approach. We're so thankful for our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

My child is in preschool at the New Morning School. I love what happens inside the classroom. Despite the fact that there is a lot of playing, I have not seen 3 and 4-year olds writing their names, let alone stories and doing math problems at other schools. I like that the kids have to 'plan' their days and report back. My child now likes to do that at home too. The kids are all incredibly comfortable - a real feat for my excessively shy, attached to Mommy's leg child. He runs off the minute we arrive. I do wish the children were a little more directed into the direction of the very cool art, science, sensory table, and math/language games, but this really only happens for the young 5's. The rates are reasonable, but be prepared for a slight shock of the expectations of you. Would go here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

New Morning School offers an individualized curriculum for every child focusing on their strengths. The sense of community between the students, teachers and parents is tremendous. New Morning School focuses on building independent, self confident students that know how to work within a community of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

New Morning School is truely a very unique school with a unique teaching philosophy. I am personally an advocate of unconventional or 'out of the box' teaching methods. I also feel that every student learns differently and progresses at different rates. New Morning focuses precisely on this human nature and accomodates the differences in how children learn. When choosing a school for your child you research, tour, talk to staff, and current students to decide if the school will fit your childs needs. What might be a great fit for my child may not be the same for yours and visa versa. I think that if you are looking outside of the public school system there is this hidden gem in Plymouth, MI. an incredible school available to your child that is fostering a love of education and learning resulting in incredibly intelligent, confident and respectful young adults....our future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

New Morning School really helped my child get a great Math foundation. thanks,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

This school nurtures children, and encourages a life-long love of learning. Children progress at an individualized pace. It is possible for a student to be working several grades ahead of age level in mathematics, and a grade behind in reading, making the school a good fit for gifted children, or those with a learning disability. Teaching methods foster a life-long love of learning. Inquisitiveness is encouraged, and talent in any area is nurtured and encouraged. Go to New Morning School on any day and see a dedicated group of teachers and a fabulous group of kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

My daughter started preschool at New Morning School and has continued into the elementary program. She is happy, well-adjusted, has reading and math skills way beyond her grade level, has high self-esteem, a strong peer group and loves school. You will not find a safer, more nurturing environment for a child. In over 5 years my daughter has never reported a negative social altercation. The children are not perfect, they are after all, kids, but issues are immediately and appropriately addressed. The focus is on doing the right thing, not simply avoiding punishment. Because the class sizes are so small, any type of issue immediately rises to the surface, both academically and socially. Students work within a required framework of academic activities but are allowed some extra pursuit of things they particularly love. Academic program is strong with emphasis on individualized learning, parental involvement, small class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

There are many significant problems with the elementary program at this school. Teacher turnover has been high, while student test scores are low. Decreasing student enrollment over the past few years provides solid evidence of families' overall discontent with the quality of the elementary program. The classroom environment is chaotic and loud, making it a difficult place for children to work. Students plan their own day, but are held only minimally accountable for completing work, so many end up being distracting and/or disruptive while other children are trying to work. Classroom materials are worn and out-of-date. Computers are ancient. The two high points of the elementary program were the science and Spanish programs. The science teacher moved away, a real loss to the school. The Spanish teacher continues to be outstanding. This school needs to rethink its elementary program and find a way to return to the successful program it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

New Morning School is an excellent opportunity for children who might have a difficult time assimilating into a traditional educational environment. There is an exceptional focus on individual solutions to learning issues. Some teachers are the best you will find anywhere, others are simply average, none are below average. Most are state certified. Significant parental involvement is expected, both in time and monetary donations; it is after all a cooperative environment. Some parent-run fund raising groups are very political, others are not. There has been significant turn-over in staff during the past year, with some new staff being better than others. Multi-age classrooms provide plenty of real-world socialization skill development. There are, however, some concerns with parents who do not heed the professional advice of the teaching staff which can affect the personality of a classroom for many others. That might, however, be the trade-off for significant parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

This school used to be great. However, in the last year, 9 staff members have left and 2 staff members have gone from full-time to part-time, discipline policies are not in effect and there is still no written curriculum for parents. Also, tuition has gone up to help compensate teachers but there has been no raise for staff members in the last 4 years. This school advocates parent involvement but most parents work and are not able to aid or get burned out from aiding. My child was bored, had too many choices and not enough adult intervention and was always getting in trouble. We have since moved on and are now enrolled in a school where my child is challenged, rarely gets in trouble and is held responsible for any unacceptable behavior. What is preached at New Morning is not practiced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

New Morning is a private school whose techniques are based on the theories of Piaget. The school has Preschool through 8th grade with all classes being multiaged. Parents are encouraged to aide, participate in the auction, and make yearly monetary contributions through the capital campaign, bowl a thon, and other fund raisers. Most teachers are certified. Curriculum is based on each child's individual needs. Children also plan their day, deciding what they want to learn and what materials they wish to use. Discipline is not very strict until middle school. There are few extracurricular activities. Tuition is high-about $8,000 a year. Elementary teachers also give homework packets for students during the summer time. It is a good school for children of average intelligence. However, children of higher intelligences could become bored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

Our daughter received an outstanding education at NMS from pre-school through 8th grade. After graduating she attended a very competitive college preparatory high school where she will soon graduate in the top quartile of her class and as a National Merit Finalist. She was very well prepared for high school in all respects. As a professor at a public university, I know that if more of my students acquired the skills and attitudes for learning that NMS instills, they would be more successful in college. NMS is different- it requires parental commitment to both participate and understand the system. The system works for most children, including learning disabled and gifted. Each child is treasured and nurtured as an individual. The school director and teachers are incredibly dedicated and talented. The cooperative system allows families of modest means to afford a private education. This school is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

This school is great for kids that want to have fun. Great Science teacher and Middle school teachers and music teacher but the rest are not good at all.The principle or founder never works in the classroom only stays in a 4x4 small room which she calls her office, and likes to meet with people. This school has never posted there by-laws or posts or hands out there minutes from there board meetings,and never comes to who really owns the land and school. Stay away from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 69%
Multiracial 17% 2%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elaine Kennedy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (734) 420-0324

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14501 North Haggerty Road
Plymouth, MI 48170
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 420-3331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT