Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Spiritus Sanctus Academy

Private | K-8 | 193 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Plymouth

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $163,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

We feel so blessed to be able to send our child to a school run by The Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist. Any parent that attends the daily mass at SSA will experience the joy in seeing that innocence is not lost in our youth. There is no need for the "Common Core" in this school that is Catholic to the Core. The challenging curriculum and integration of Catholic teachings give me no doubt that the SSA graduates are well-prepared to conquer the secularism of our society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

This is an incredible school. The teachers not only give their students the academic rigor to succeed but also the confidence and accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have a child at this school, and this has been a wonderful experience. Formation is top notch, education is great. These children are challenged on a daily or regular basis academically, physically, mentally, and spiritually to achieve their potential. The entire staff is wonderful and caring. The students family is consistently engaged. If a parent is looking for their child to have a solid catholic formation, a great education, and desires involvement in their children's education; then this is a great choice for a K-8 education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Our child has been at this school for 5 school years. If you want a school that is passionately Catholic (yes, that means pro life!) this is the school for you. Very faithful to the teachings of the Church (again, pro life of course!). You will not find a more dedicated staff. Much is expected of the students, parents and staff. Very good teacher to student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

At first we were so happy with the school. Then I began to notice things, like the over the top political and pro life campaigns that went on in the school. You can't even mention you are pro choice or not right wing repubs or your kids will become targets. Sisters openly endorse conservative candidates during class time. I saw a child holding a large McCain/Palin banner at dismissal with a teacher standing next to him. I could tolerate all of this if both sides were presented honestly, but they lie by ommision and sometimes outright to the kids. My childs class is overcrowded and both teacher and principal ignore it as the kids struggle and I homeschool in the evening to cover it. They went to washington on a pro life march and studied nothing about DC. They seem to think the ends justify the means. Not very Christian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

We have a child at Spiritus Sanctus and it is by far the best school that we have found when it comes to academics and faith formation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

We have two students at this school. We are very happy with the faith formation, academics and the caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

It is okay. I love the teachers but there are a few bad things there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
African-American 1% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sonia Zawacki
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAPCIS
Fax number
  • (734) 414-8495

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10450 Joy Road
Plymouth, MI 48170
Phone: (734) 414-8430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT