Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame Preparatory School

Private | 6-12 | 69 students

 
 

Living in Pontiac

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

Sent my son here for the Mandarin program. He has been challenged academically and made many friends. The music program was the big surprise. It has helped him socially fitting in coming from a small school. I do wish there was more diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Honestly, as a Senior looking back on my experience, NDP has it's rough patches, but which school doesn't? the teachers are there to help you become the best. They PREPARE you for college, which is all of our goals. We want to achieve, and we do with the help of this really wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2013

FROM AN EX STUDENT . The resin I left this school is not because of the academics or anything like that , but because of the cruelty of the kids who attend . The school is a huge political system and some one will befriend you then backstab you to get higher up. Don't even try to go to the administration about it . The pretend like it doesn't happen . The do every thing they can to get you in and once you're a student they could care Less . I was bullied class teachers heard and didn't intervene all year . Went to the counselor wasn't , effective , kept going higher and higher up and no one cared or would show sympathy for my situation or anything of the matter . Don't not send you're kids here . There's a small chance they will do great , but a large portion that they will be picked on , harassed , bullied , hazed , ex kids walk out of that place a worse person than when they walked in .


Posted May 9, 2013

Notre Dame Prep is not a friendly place. If you child did not go to Marist or Holy Family, please pause before committing to NDP. If they tell you that your child will be nurtured and that their students are very welcoming, this is not the case at all. The admitting department is very friendly - look beyond this. The athletic department is deplorable - coaches and staff are unprofessional and allowed to behave without bounds. NDP is not worth the money academically - class sizes can be quite large, some teachers are not great, and they cancel core classes from year to year depending on interest (i.e. AP Physics). Students act very privileged and love to form cliques and go out of their way to make others feel left out. Not a Christian atmosphere. Having attended a Catholic high school myself, I expected better from NDP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

I love Marist Academy K-5, Mr Frank is an EXCELLENT teacher and I wish there were more teachers like him, but I am deeply disappointed with the middle and higher school. For outside kids transferring into the higher schools The administration leads you to believe that they care about your child and want whats best for the child, but that isn't true, it comes down to an interview and test scores without ever really getting to know the child!! All along they keep telling you, oh we look at all types of factors but that isn't true! It is very disappointing to think one thing and learn another...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

sounds like if you have money your in and if not, oh well we dont want you. After reading these reviews I am going to pass on ND for my two daughters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I disagree completely with the poster who said that NDP has a bias toward the Marist Academy kids. My daughter transferred to this school her senior year. I was apprehensive as she didn't know anyone, but I could not believe how quickly she was accepted by the students and staff. She made a ton of friends and excelled in her studies. The classes were tough and motivated her to try harder. I think she finally learned how to write papers due to her AP English teacher's efforts. I can't say enough about the student body--the thing that stood out in my mind, at NDP it is cool to be smart. I would recommend Notre Dame Prep to anyone looking for a private school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

It seems that most of the good reviews for NDP embody what the school really is: a big advertisment of "what they have to offer". The attitude of the students, staff, and administration is that once you've registered for the school, they don't need to put up the smokescreen anymore because they've "already got you". It's always about the money or the trophy with them. NDP's academics are basically slapping an IB sticker on everything they assign, and bias toward the MA kids is apparent. The entire school is comprised of cliques, and it's extremely hard to mingle with more than one of them. The school is incredibly "exclusive" in that they don't care about your child unless you donate money for them to buy a new building or an addition to a sports team. Notre Dame Prep is not worth the time, money, or aggravation.


Posted May 1, 2010

I am currently a junior at NDP, and I sincerely couldn't be more happy. There are so many positive aspects of the school. The main focus is academics, in which we rank highest among all Catholic schools in Michigan. The education I am receiving is unparalleled to any area school. There are so many opportunities for advancement within the school curriculum. Some classes are harder than others, but all classes are academically challenging. A parent below seemed to suggest the school does little to help struggling students, yet nothing could be farther from the truth. Tutoring by fellow students is done every week by members of the National Honors Society in the Media Center, and teachers, at least in my experience, have ALWAYS been accommodating when I needed assistance in their classes. Our beautiful landscaping (which is done by a former student's company) reflects the positivity of the atmosphere inside.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

I am the parent of a sophomore student and couldn't be happier. The school is a great balance of academics, athletics, arts and extra-curricular activities. The environment is very welcoming, the families nice and the teachers and coaches will do anything to help a student be successful. I highly recommend that parents check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

Our son just finished his freshman year at NDP and we're glad we chose this school over Brother Rice or Shrine. The school is the right size (about 800 students), is challenging academically, and offers fantastic facilities for athletics and the arts. We consider this experience an investment in our son's future. When you consider the Class of 2009 earned nearly $12million in scholarship money to some of the best universities in the country, it's an investment we can't afford not to make. We Are.....N D !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Notre Dame Prep is a great school that gives it's students the proper tools that they need to succeed in college. As a freshman in college I found my college courses to be easier than the classes that I had previously taken at Notre Dame Prep. It is definitely a preparatory school and I'm very thankful that I had the opportunity to attend this prestigous school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2008

And outstanding academic environment on a beautiful campus with great facilities. Has added the International Baccalaureate Program to its already impressive academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

When the school became NDP it was small, intimate and supported the students. However if your child is experiencing any academic difficulties there is little to no support. I had a great feel for the school with my first 2 kids, it was wonderful. I had to pull my youngest and there was very little empathy for his situation. I gave up using my time and checkbook to keep him afloat. He will graduate this year with a good feeling about himself as a person, not the loser kid in class, and he has had the same level of classes and teaching in the public setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Good place if you are rich. Mostly spoiled brats here. Religion is used as a cover for everything. What a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

The education provided at NDP is one that is likely lesser than on of a public school in the oakland county area. I made the move to private education in seventh grade, and until i reached high school it seemed worth it. Money from fundraisers is used to support building renovations and outrageous landscaping to lure new students to the campus instead of a much-needed increase in teacher salaries and better pieces of educational equipment for classrooms (books, labaratory equipment, etc).


Posted January 18, 2007

The academics at this school are excellent. Offering around 20 AP classes so the kids can get a jump start on college credits. The teachers challenge the kids which is something some parents don't understand, but it is necessary. There are 3-4 types of bands, and 4 choirs. Art classes ranging from beginning painting, drawing, and pottery, to AP Art History. They offer countless clubs my son was only in varsity club, and national honor society, but there are others such as sadd, optimist, pro-life, and robotics. Sports are a good activity there but most programs are still growing. Overall its a good school with strict disciple and high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

Academically, this school was pretty good. There were a quite a few good teachers, but some who were very inexperienced and hard to learn with as well. This school was by no means a pleasant learning environment. While this school boasts a good Catholic status, various forms of bullying go unnoticed or unattended. I have known kids who end up hatful and full of resentment after being sent to this school, and efforts are not taken to make improvements for this matter.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 25, 2005

This school is awesome for academics, you can actually get college credits to end up skipping a semester or even 2 for college.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
African-American 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jill Mistretta
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Giddings Road
Pontiac, MI 48340
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 373-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI



Havenwyck School
Auburn Hills, MI


Gull Lake Virtual School
Auburn Hills, MI


Oakland Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI


Kennedy Center
Pontiac, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT