Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
736 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Notre Dame Preparatory School 2

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
They seem to do very little to "prep" these kids for real life. A large portion of the students are very poorly behaved outside of the school. Kids will be kids and you cannot expect them all to be well adjusted at this age but so many of the students from this school behave so terribly outside of school it makes you wonder what they are prepping these kids for?

Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
If I had a chance to do it all over again, I would not send my children to Notre Dame Preparatory. Our grade school years were very good at Holy Family Regional School, but we should not have followed the crowd of classmates to NDP. Think carefully about where your child will thrive during these very important developmental years and strongly consider other options. Once they start school with their friends, they don't want to transfer, even if they aren't happy. Six years and two graduates later, I can tell you that NDP was a bad experience overall, despite the good friends, high GPA's/honors and prestigious college acceptances they received.


Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Don't send your child to NDP. Administration is nasty and they don't want to hear about anything that even slightly resembles a problem. They couldn't care less about your child. The powers that be will do anything to avoid or cover up any problems. The local public schools are very good, and you will probably be spared the high brow attitude, so save your money. Go public and your child will fare just as well or better, especially come college acceptance time.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Do not send you child here unless they are an academic superstar and overachiever, as well as an excellent athlete. NDP can't be bothered with less than perfect students. Administration will change the rules and use any measures necessary to cover up problems so they don't have to put in the work or mar their reputation. Save your money and go elsewhere!!!

Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
I love Marist Academy K-5, Mr Frank is an EXCELLENT teacher and I wish there were more teachers like him, but I am deeply disappointed with the middle and higher school. For outside kids transferring into the higher schools The administration leads you to believe that they care about your child and want whats best for the child, but that isn't true, it comes down to an interview and test scores without ever really getting to know the child!! All along they keep telling you, oh we look at all types of factors but that isn't true! It is very disappointing to think one thing and learn another...


Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a student
I have really enjoyed my first year at NDP. They do a great job of welcoming freshmen. I did not come from Holy Family nor Marist and I have a giant friend group. Sure NDP has their cliques, but what school doesn't? They do not hold your hand, they leave it up to you to make/use crucial social skills that will be needed in the future. The experience is what you make of it. If you don't work hard, you will not get good grades, its that simple. If you don't care about your grades why should your teachers? If you want to sit around feeling sad for yourself, that isn't going to help you make friends. Everything is mutual and what you give, you get in return. There is no better fit for me and I would recommend this school for any self-starting, hard-working, and challenge-accepting student. At NDP, it is cool to be smart. I would not 100% rely on these reviews, because everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I'm not saying NDP is the best school for everyone, you need to find the school that will make you/your child shine and push them to be the best person that they can be. To form your own opinion try shadowing. Shadowing really gives you a day in NDP to see how things work. I wish you the best of luck in your school search.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 2

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
I have kids in Marist and in the High School. It is not worth the money - they talk about the academics but athletics RULE the school! No different than the other big Catholic schools in this regard. Lots of kids come in on diversity scholarships, which are really athletic scholarships, and the mandatory $550 in raffle tickets that we have to pay, fund these scholarships. Essentially, you pay for kids to come in and take spots away from the kids who pay tuition! Coaches are tight and most have kids at the school that are on their teams. Lots of favoritism and good ole boys! Athletic Directory turns a blind eye to the favoritism. Some coaches are very unprofessional and belligerent to the athletes. Agree that if your kids did not go to Marist or Holy Family, the high school is a very unfriendly place. Seriously look closely before committing!

Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Sent my son here for the Mandarin program. He has been challenged academically and made many friends. The music program was the big surprise. It has helped him socially fitting in coming from a small school. I do wish there was more diversity.


Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a student
Honestly, as a Senior looking back on my experience, NDP has it's rough patches, but which school doesn't? the teachers are there to help you become the best. They PREPARE you for college, which is all of our goals. We want to achieve, and we do with the help of this really wonderful school.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
FROM AN EX STUDENT . The resin I left this school is not because of the academics or anything like that , but because of the cruelty of the kids who attend . The school is a huge political system and some one will befriend you then backstab you to get higher up. Don't even try to go to the administration about it . The pretend like it doesn't happen . The do every thing they can to get you in and once you're a student they could care Less . I was bullied class teachers heard and didn't intervene all year . Went to the counselor wasn't , effective , kept going higher and higher up and no one cared or would show sympathy for my situation or anything of the matter . Don't not send you're kids here . There's a small chance they will do great , but a large portion that they will be picked on , harassed , bullied , hazed , ex kids walk out of that place a worse person than when they walked in .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Preparatory School
1300 Giddings Road, Pontiac, MI  48340
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (248) 373-5300
Last modified Notre Dame Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top