Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 802 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pontiac

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

The school is a great school my daughter has learned a lot. I always recomend this school to other parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I love that my son is treated and loved as an individual and that each teacher he has had takes a special interest in each student, and that as a parent I am a part of every aspect of his education and included in the loop
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

I was searching for a great, trustworthy school for my then kindergarten child to attend, I knew I wanted Walton Charter to be that school (recommend to apply at least a year in advance). Love everything about the school! Love how the principal, dean or any teacher greet the kids when they walk in & shakes their hand with a smile. How they challenge the students to do better. If you have a concern the school work with you to feel ease at whatever the situation is. My son is in the 1st grade now & could not ask for better school. The downfall is the parking lot, but besides that this school is the BEST there is in Pontiac. Academics its a PLUS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

Great School, my child has been a student here for the last 4 years starting in First Grade, I have no Complaints
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

I am so impressed with the school and its leadership! i am so proud of the quality of the education my children display here at home. I love everything about the school such as......security,secretaries,teachers,and parent involment is encouraged. I just wish the parking lot situation will just get better :/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I am a parent with an all 'A' student that attends Walton. I also have a child that performs 'C' average that attends here as well. My problem with the school is that they seem to focus very well on the excellent students but the ones the that are not so great that performs average gets lost in the storm. Therefore I am pulling my 'C' student from the school while letting my all A student remain....so unfair
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This is a great school!!!Why are you still using the ratings from 2007 to judge this school. The principal has changed, the teachers have changed, more parent involvement, better teacher quality!! The whole school has changed, yet it's being judged by some parents that had their kids there in 2007. It's not fair to the children, the parents, the teachers or the school. This is an excellent school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I love this school! My children have been there 6 years. Mr Brillhart is an amazing principal. The worst part of the school is the parking lot in the afternoon. I wish they went thru high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

Ever since Mr. Brillhart arrived at this school according to my children it has been a better place and alot of fun. The staff always find ways to make learning interesting. Security is more than adequate. I would like to see more performing arts classes such as a band, choir etc. especially for middle school, and also more use of computers to keep up with technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I would say this school is a 4 out of 5 stars!! the principal is great, the teachers really care about the students. The faculty run a tight ship in terms of security. This is almost like a boarding school in terms of training the children, academics as well as behaviorial. Its a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I love this school!!My son has been going there since K and Iam very happy with the new principal and teachers..They really care about your child in everyway!!And they are great on keeping us informed about our children in weekly reports!!Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I am very pleased with Walton! This is only our first year at the school and I will continue to keep my child enrolled there. Everyone from the Priciple, teachers, and staff all seem to care tremendously for the students and keep the parents informed. I have seen alot of parent participation and it is greatly welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

I was a student of Walton from 1st to 6th grade, although I'd be more than delighted to give a review. I personally this school is one of the best, if not the best school in Michigan that is neither pulic or private. I left to a public school in 7th grade, and compared to Walton it was a living nightmare. The teachers didn't care, the students were inconsiderate, and the staff was overall rather idiotic in terms of how they organized their school. Yes, we have more extracurricular activities in this public school, and it is unfortunate that Walton only proceeds to the 8th grade, but I would recommend enrolling your children in Walton Charter Academy, take it from a first-hand experience. My mom does regret enrolling me in this current school, and wish I'd stayed in Walton until I graduated 8th grade.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2007

this school is a very nice school,have very good meap scores, i fact my daughter goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

The school has fantastic teachers that work endless hours each day and on the weekends for the children at this school. The turnover of teachers though is outrageous due to the endless list of tasks outlined by the principal. Parents need to accept responsibility and be a part of their child's lives by volunteering at school and being their at home. My children enjoy the school but wish their were more extracurricular activities, but these extra activitities can't be possible if the teachers are already bogged down. We will be giving it one more year, though my children get upset when their favorite teachers or assistant principals leave each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

This school is the pits and it is true the parent/ administration relationship here is non existent. The safety and well being of our children at Walton is in danger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

The teachers here really try to care about their students. Unfortunately, they have very little(if any) experience to draw on. This and the principals lack of respect for the parents is why we will not be returning. While you can't please every parent, I've seen numerous occasions where parents were treated like misbehaved students of the school. She does not partner with parents and treat them as equals. We were very will to partner until we realized we weren't considered equals by the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

The school has wonderful teachers that care about the students.


Posted April 25, 2007

I am very happy with the school and its quality. We have had nothing but wonderful teachers and nothing but concern for their success. We did have a serious incident this year that could have happened in any school anywhere and I am still working towards a better resolution regarding it to be put in place. I fully intend to pursue every avenue to assure that happens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

This school is over rated. If only I heard the complaints before I signed my children up. Don't let the waiting list fool you, they just wait to the last minute to contact you, which is what they did with me. There are no extracurricular activities, except basketball and even that was a joke. I must say that they have two handfulls of excellent teachers but if the administration is lacking what do you expect from the teachers? The principle is clueless and she really doesn't care about any parent concerns. If she is there next year I will not send my children back next year. One bad apple will spoil the whole bunch! Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 41% 18%
Hispanic 39% 6%
White 16% 69%
Asian 2% 3%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 186%N/A48%
Female 248%N/A48%
Male 252%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mona Boersma
Fax number
  • (248) 371-1642

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

744 East Walton Boulevard
Pontiac, MI 48340
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 371-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI



Kennedy Center
Pontiac, MI


Havenwyck School
Auburn Hills, MI


Herrington School
Pontiac, MI


Rogers School
Auburn Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT