Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arts And Technology Academy Of Pontiac

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 405 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pontiac

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

This school os the worst school in Pontiac. I would recommend not to bring your child there. The teachers are disrespectful. They demand and ask for respect. Students bully so much and if the teacher likes them alot, the student gets away with everything. This school is the worst in Pontiac. My kid sometimes comes home wishing they never were alive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Absolutely happy with this school! I have 2 children that attend here (my son is in 9th and my daughter is in 1st) and this has been the best school they've attended by far! The teachers and Principal are active in all the kids education and treat all children fairly. There is plenty of after school actives and my kids actually like going to school! (That's a 1st for my son). I look forward to seeing what each year brings. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We have had alot of changes since I started teaching at ATAP 8 years ago. Leadership is phenomenal, the dedication from the teachers is amazing and the students are always challenged. with differentiated instruction. This is the key to success! ATAP is on its way to the top! Our MEAP scores continue to increaase each year and enrollment shot way up this year. Now we are a preschool-10 grade school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2012

My son has attended this school from K-7th grade. The school has gone through too many principals since he started. There are only a few good teachers and staff members that I really believe genuinely care about the students. But for the most part, the teachers don't really care about them. I am taking my son out of this school. He will not return for his 8th grade year b/c I am so frustrated with the staff and teachers. They do not reach out to the parents as much as they should. If your child has an issue in school, whether academic, social, etc., you will not hear about it until the end of the school year. They do not treat all of the children there the same. They have little to no activities for the children. Overall, just a terrible school. I should have pulled my son out of the school earlier, but I kept thinking things would get better. 7 years later, I can honestly say things haven gotten worse and worse each year. Honestly, I feel guilty that I have possibily deprived my son of the best education and learning experience that he may have had had I enrolled him in a different school. Please don't make the same mistake I did by sending your child(ren) to ATAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I have two daughters that attend A.T.A.P one is in preschool and one is in first grade. Ms.Griffin and Ms. Looby are their teachers. Both of there teachers have a great relationship with me as well as with my children. Ms. Looby has gone above and beyond to keep my daughter challenged, and Ms. Griffin has taught my other daughter more than i realized she could learnat her age. I love A.T.A.P and I feel the teachers and staff are just as concerned about my kids education as i am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

My daughter is enrolled in the preschool program at Arts and Technology. Her teacher Ms. Griffin is an absolute blessing and an answer to my prayers. My daughter knows her letters, sounds, colors, and shapes. I do recommend this class to anyone I see on the street asking about a place to send their child. My daughter has started sight words and will be over ready for Kindergarten. Discipline in the classroom is handled by Ms. Griffin and Ms. Debra who just started and is a wonderful co-teacher. My daughter gets 'homework,' and always completes it. My daughter is only four and already she cannot wait to do whatever is asked of her. I am trully blessed to have Ms. Griffin and Ms. Debra in my child's life. Thank you Ms. Griffin and Ms. Debra for your hard work and many blessings to you both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My daughter is in preschool. She's been thought so much in a short time. She has a great teacher Ms.G. My daughter can't wait for school to start especially over the weekend. This school is a home away from home for her. She started here at age 3 & I just couldn't believe all the knowledge her teacher has taught her. I didn't know kids that age could learn so much. I'd definetly recommend this school to parents of preschool children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

My children have attended for 3 years and I feel they are getting a quality education. My son was struggling and although he attended the after school tutoring he was held back. The only negative I have concerning this school is I feel I wasn't informed of my sons lack of progress until the end of the year... and yes I did attend conferences. There needs to be more communication about academics as opposed to discipline. I will get 2 or 3 calls about him acting out but none about his academic performance. I'm glad they have a basketball team now but I wish there were other sports and a music class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2006

We are definitly taking our kids out! They attended 2 years and to me, it was no better than regular pontiac schools. Very few after school activities, except the dance class that met 1 day per week. And then at the end of the year is when the teacher decided oh, maybe your student needs extra help. They just move them along to the next grade. The school is over crowded, the parking lot arrangements and child pick up this year was an absolute mess and very dangerous, and unorganized. The priniciple seemed okay. But I'm trying to figure out why my 5th grader had 3 different teachers this year. The teacher and the special education teach are not on the same page at all. And they just move them along. Its unfair to the students and to the parents. I need a school who cares not to move students along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

This is the third year my child has attended this school, he will not be returning next year. The teacher spends more time disciplining than teaching. No sports, no art, no GYM! Maybe there will be changes now that there is a new principal but I'm not waiting to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

My kids are in their third year at this school. I liked the school initially, however when problems have come up with my son it seems they are not listening to us, the parents. We are trying to get the schools help with diagnosing him ADHD. But they have little or no experience with this. Its a great school as far as what the kids learn, and I love the uniforms. However, they really need more teachers that are experienced in dealing with kids such as my son. This year I am actually considering placing my kids elsewhere because of my disappointment in the way my son's situation is being handled. I would love to see them get some after school activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I was not happy with this school at all. My daughter attended Pontiac PSA, now known as Arts and Technology, for 6th and 7th grade. I really feel like my daughter did not get quality schooling. During her 6th grade year, she never had a steady teacher until the second semester. They never had a class trip. It seems that the administration could have did something for these kids, seeing they do not have ANY extracurricular activities. Her 7th grade year was not much better. I will admit that I loved her teacher but the school did not do a good job of keeping the disruptive kids from disturbing the kids that wanted to learn. I left that school feeling like I had really let my daughter down by choosing that school. This school is not what school is all about. It is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

We have been in the school since the day it opened and though I still have some uncertainties about the leadership and quality of the school. I still believe it to be one of the best school choices for those living in the Pontiac school district. Reminder this is not part of the public school system. It is a charter and often this is confused. Things I would like to see more in the future. Less concern about the numbers and the financials and more about the children that are there to learn. We had several behaviour incidents this year and none have been addressed to my satisfaction. My belief being they are more concerned about numbers then the childrens well being. I believe that if they could get this part under control that they would be able to compete with Walton Charter without a question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I wish this school offered after school activities (sports). The staff there is very nice. I love the idea of uniforms. They need to enforce it though. Overall if it wasn't for this school I was going to drive my daughter to Waterford schools, because I didn't believe much in the Pontiac school district. But now I do.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
8%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 65% 18%
Hispanic 29% 6%
White 4% 69%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 189%N/A48%
Female 253%N/A48%
Male 247%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Septembra Williams
Fax number
  • (248) 452-9312

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

888 Enterprise Dr
Pontiac, MI 48342
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 452-9309

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT