Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakland Academy

Charter | K-6 & ungraded | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

Amazing staff, teachers, principal and PTO. It's the best school we've had our child in and we went through four elementary schools already due to being a military family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

PLEASE DON"T TAKE A CHANCE ON THIS SCHOOL. This school is very bad for academics. My daughter attended kindergarten thru second grade. We we moved and she started at a new school and she was so far behind even though she has been a good student at OA. Her new school staff could not believe how little she knew. I had to spend thousands in additional tutoring to make up for the lack of basics she should have gotten at Oakland Academy. PLEASE DON"T TAKE A CHANCE ON THIS SCHOOL. Until I left the school, I loved it because of the small class size and the family feeling, but we send our kids to school to learn and she was not doing that. My daughter is now in the 8th grade and thriving. She still blames OA for her struggles in early elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I cannot say enough positive things about this school. The teacher/parent communication on a weekly basis is outstanding, and allows even the busiest of parents to stay on top of their child's education. My two children are extremely motivated, and excited about learning and attending here. I have seen a dramatic improvement in my children's test scores, as well as their academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

This is our 2nd year at Oakland Academy and I love this school. My son is in first grade and he can read!! The teachers are excellent and keep the parents updated on what is going on in class on a weekly basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love this school! My son excelled (especially in math). The teachers are so genuine and really care for their students. My son get more than enough help due in part to the 10-1 ratio of students to teachers. Last year my son had 3 teachers in his class. There was always a teacher there to help him with any questions he had. They are very inviting to parents to come into the classroom anytime and see what the kids are doing. We just moved to Rhode Island due to the military and my son misses Oakland so much, that I've decided to take him back when his dad deploys next year. This is the best school I've come across in our years of Military stationing. Great great school! If you can drive your child to and from school, you owe it to yourself to give this school a try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Oakland Academy is a great educational choice for families. Strong communication is established between the school and home through weekly progress reports that provide detailed information on how a student is performing in each curricular area. Oakland Academy also provides a 10:1 student teacher ratio to promote individualized and whole group instruction. Oakland Academy strives to teach the whole child; socially and academically. At Oakland Academy everyone feels like they are a part of the Oakland family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

Oakland Academy is the best school in the area by far. They have the best teachers I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. The school has won awards for the best charter school in the state and some of the teachers have been recognized as the best as well. The 10 to 1 student/teacher ratio is the best thing for all children in early education. And the weekly progress reports mean that you can stay on top of how your student is doing at all times and help them succeed. I really wish that the school would add 7th and 8th grades as I want my child to attend for as long as possible. I am so glad that I took my child out of the regular public school system after one year and found Oakland Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

My child started at Oakland a little over two months ago, after having attended another local charter school for two years. I have been THRILLED with every aspect of this school, and so has my child! Behavioral problems with students in the classroom are all but nonexistent. Instead of wasting time dealing with problem behaviors (which was a major issue at our old school), the teachers are able to spend every moment in some form of instruction or development. Having two teachers in each classroom (with no more than 20 kids/class) allows the teachers to offer customized instruction to each child, instead of the standard 'one size fits all' instruction model. My child's reading has improved more in two months of 2nd grade than it did in the entire YEAR of 1st grade! He's having fun AND learning more -- what more could a parent ask for??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

OA recently won the Statewide School of Excellence Award. We've been at OA for 5 years and absolutely love it! Although there are not as many extracurricular activities as there might be at other schools, it makes up for it in adacemics. My daughter who is in their 6th grade is performing at an 8th grade level. They have the ability to continue to challenger her. We think so highly of the school that our newborn will go there as soon as he is school age. Never ever will I go back to the public neighborhood schools. I do have one grievance. After this year we have to move to another school as they don't offer a 7th grade. They have really spoiled us for other school programs. Thank you OA for everything you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

My son has attended O.A. since kindergarten and is now in the 6th grade. The class size and weekly progress reports are great. The rules for appropriate behavior are clearly defined and enforced. The students are able to to do advanced work within their classroom or with another class. The principal is a great motivator to both the faculty and the students. You never have to worry about the children's safety at this school. The school does not have some of the extracurricular activities of other schools but I will happily miss that for small class sizes and personal attention that all of the student receive. Oakland Academy recently was awarded 'Michigan Charter School of the Year for 2007 '. Need I say more !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

We are so glad we found Oakland Academy! We are in our second year at Oakland and have been impressed again and again at the caliber of education our children are receiving. The teachers are top notch, and if you do have a concern as a parent, the Principal is always willing to talk with you and help problem solve. The Principal knows all the children by name and is out in front of the school greeting them and the parents daily. I love the teacher to student ratio (1:10)-- it helps the teachers stay fresh and the kids get a lot of personal attention. The only downside is that there is not a gymnasium and not enough emphasis on developing computer skills. However, my kids are very happy at their school and I feel like we have found a private school education for free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

I love this school. You need to check out the test scores and then visit for a day and you will be convinced, as I am, that this is the best school in the Kazoo/Portage area. Don't worry about the lack of extracurricular activities - there's always AYSO, the YMCA, and Little League. My kids started at Oakland this year and the other kids accepted them right away...very nice kids. The principal is incredible, the teachers are wonderful, the parents are involved. I can't say enough about it. Thank you, Oakland Academy, you are a gift from heaven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is our second year with Oakland Academy and our second child in the school. Both our daughters (3rd and K)love this school. We were previously homeschooling and chose this school because of the student to teacher ratio (10 to 1) and class size. It fit great for our family. The principal or a teacher are always outside in the morning to great each child. They know every student in every grade. They encourage parents to be involved and drop in on the class anytime. Lots of opportunities for parental involvement. No substitute teachers, they all fill in for each other so there is not a problem of the teacher being taken advantage of. Uniforms make mornings easy. Summer homework packets to help kids retain what they learned throughout the year. Kidnergarten teachers are the best! A great way to start your children off for their first school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

This is by far the most outstanding learning environment I have ever seen. With a 10 to 1 student to teacher ratio and an extremely caring staff, our son has excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
Multiracial 12% 2%
African-American 7% 18%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/A48%
Female 247%N/A48%
Male 253%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Henry Winter
Fax number
  • (269) 324-8974

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6325 Oakland Dr
Portage, MI 49024
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 324-8951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT