Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kalamazoo Country Day School

Private | PK-8 | 156 students

KCDS is known for our strong academics,emphasis in STEM and small class size.
 
 

 
 

Living in Portage

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

I am very satisfied with Kalamazoo Country Day School. The new head, Deb Hof, is excellent and is turning an already good school into a truly outstanding one. The teachers are interested and committed, so pupils respond with enthusiasm and willingness to learn. I am delighted that the pupils are taught how to think and to learn, rather than being educated by rote. That will fit them for their future in any field far more than information alone. I am excited about the new technology initiative including flipped classrooms and individualized lessons. The techniques in my daughter's math classes are taught by video at home, followed by reinforcment while doing 'homework' in the class setting. The small size of the school means that it has a strong community where parents enjoy spending time together too. I highly recommend that you look at the school if you are looking for an academic environment that teaches life skills rather than just how to pass tests, and where children are given confidence and support to be the best they can. While it is a fee paying school, as a not-for-profit institution all the fees are going towards providing good education and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

We love KCDS. The teachers are excellent! The other families all share the same values - responsibility, caring, and academic excellence. That's what made this school a great fit for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

KCDS is the best! My two children have been at the school since they were three years old and in preschool. One is currently in middle school and one in the upper elementary. This is an amazing school, with an amazing faculty! My children have thrived at this school in all ways. They love to go to school, and have made great friends. The academics are top notch and the teachers are the best around! It is a small, family-oriented school, with small class sizes, individual attention, challenging academics, and excellent extras! My kids have taken Spanish every year since preschool. The school has a strong math and science curriculum with excellent middle school faculty that fully engages the students in meaningful projects and writing assignments. Middle school is an akward time for kids anyways, but the faculty at this school has helped my child excel, (even with learning issues) and to grow and learn, while allowing her to be herself. This small middle school is the perfect place for my child. She is confident, organized, armed with study skills, and ready to take on high school! I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My son has attended KCDS Pre-school for 2 years and we have been extremely happy with the experience. The staff has been top notch and they seem to find the right combination of work and fun for the kids. My son loves his school and has made a ton of friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

KCDS is a clear winner! When we arrived in Kalamazoo a few years ago, we visited just about every private school in the area for suitability for our 2 kids. Our assessment criteria covered academic excellence, breadth of curriculum, variety and availability of extra-curricular activities of course, but we also wanted a well-managed school that was financially secure, well maintained facilities, student/teacher ratios which were small enough to ensure our kids would get individual focus and teachers who stood out when we talked to them by their passion. We weren t disappointed and in fact, we got a whole lot more! KCDS buzzes with excitement and creativity. Its supported by amazing teachers, the Head and Board who really care about the holistic development of children. A proactive Parent Association that go the extra mile putting on regular themed events throughout the year. Our children have thrived here and their confidence has grown. We feel heavily connected with this school as parents and have made multiple friends amongst this community. We re so grateful to have found this school and the amazing team who support it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

KCDS has done wonders for our children, who attended the school from preschool through 8th grade. It prepared them extraordinarily well for high school. The middle school science & math curriculum is so strong that our children are breezing through AP classes in high school. We moved to a different state for high school & everyone asks which middle school did we come from. The science project experience given to students in middle school is invaluable. Because of that experience, our children won science fair competitions and competed in the state finals in high school. One of the science teachers in high school could not believe that such a strong science curriculum is being taught in a middle school anywhere in the US. He thought we may have come from an international school. The elementary school at KCDS is also excellent, and prepared the kids very well for middle school. The Spanish program at KCDS is outstanding! It enabled our children to skip first year of high school Spanish. They love the language because of the great Spanish experience they had at KCDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Sending our kids to Kalamazoo Country Day School is the best decision we have ever made as parents. Our son had a very hard time at a different school because the class size was so large and he wasn't being challenged. KCDS teaches to the top of the class while supporting the bottom, and the class size is around 15 per class. There is no limit to what our kids can accomplish and achieve at this school. We never have to worry about what our kids are learning or if they're being challenged enough. Even though it's an academically rigorous school, the teachers are all patient and caring. Tutors are at the ready to help kids who need extra assistance, and other staff members are available to help the kids who need extra challenge. We can't say enough about this precious little school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Kalamazoo Country Day has been a great fit for our family. New to the Kalamazoo-area five years ago, we sought a school with full accreditation from the Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS). The academics have exceeded our expectations, as has the quality of the teachers and faculty. Love the annual science fair, the Spanish program that meets daily, the middle school's integrated social studies, literature and composition program, and the arts enriched through partnering with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra. Most importantly, our son and daughter are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

Our 2 children are excelling at KCDS! We came to KCDS last spring from a locally owned, for profit private school. What a difference! Everyone is very nice and helpful. The curriculum is up to date and progressive. KCDS offers top knotch technology. Teachers go above and beyond to help your child succeed. Our kids' zest for learning has blossomed in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

One of my children presently attends this school and throughout the years has had very capable and stable teachers which have given him a solid base for his future education. My other child had attended the pre-school through eighth grade here and was well prepared for the honors track in high school. The student to teacher ratio is excellent and the students are consistently supervised and guided. The teachers are always available for any questions or concerns from parents. A wide range of subjects and projects are taught to the children giving them a well-rounded education by the time they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

Wonderful school for our children! Since coming to KCDS our children have spoken positively about school because of the exciting academic challenges that await them each day. School personnel work hard to continually assess the learning curriculum and there is a definite feeling of partnership between parents, teachers, Head of School, and the Board. Parents' opinions and desires for additional learning opportunities matter and promptly are acted upon. We like the fact that the school offers Spanish and Mandarin and can also offer Latin. Smaller classes allow for more extensive interaction between children and their teachers and that interaction has fostered confidence in our children when they are in larger groups of children and adults. Our experience with the school has been extremely positive and our children thrive here! They even enjoy art and music - which is saying a lot for our two. Before care and after care are available which is helpful to parents. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

KCDS has provided an amazing learning environment for our two girls. This is our 6th year at the school and we have been very impressed with every grade level -- academics are excellent as well as fun and creative! The students flourish in this environment with small class sizes and incredible opportunities for extended studies. The school is very family oriented -- we always feel welcome, comfortable and secure. The faculty are outstanding and dedicated to teaching your individual child and taking them to the next level. Truly a hidden gem in Kalamazoo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

We love this school. This has been the perfect place for our child. The academics are challenging and our child has learned amazing things. Middle School is a difficult time for kids and this has been a great setting for our child to get through this period in her life. They do amazing science dissections throughout the grades! They teach leadership and reach out to help the community! Parents are involved at many different levels. We love that KCDS is a non-profit AND accreditated. We started in preschool and stayed throughout. Our family feels it's a hidden gem in the Kalamazoo area and we are thankful we found it. Wish I had had an opportunity to go to a school like this when I was a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

My children have excelled and gained academic confidence at Kalamazoo Country Day School. The school's math and science program is top notch with many graduating students placing in the highly competitive Kalamazoo Area Math and Science Center. I would highly recommend this private school to anyone looking for academic excellence in a caring and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Academic standards are high, along with verbal bullying. Safety and discipline is a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

Our family loves this school. We came for the academic standards. We got that plus Spanish, and other great specials like Computers, Art, and Music. The kids are taking music lessons onsite after school. It is a great community of teachers, parents, and students. My kids are really happy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Kalamazoo Country Day is a Great School. The music and arts programs are very good. Spanish is taught to all grades. The teachers care about each child and help each child to reach his potential. Parents are always welcome at the school and the size of the school helps everyone feel that they are part of a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

Ok, so i went to KCDS, formerly known as KA, from 6th to 8th grade and it was an AWESOME experience. I was a complete stranger, because I'm from out of town, but i felt welcomed by both the teachers and the students. The middle school experience made a difference in my life and future studies and I'm very grateful of the really good teachers i had throughout that period.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 69%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
African-American 7% 19%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Deborah Hof
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular,Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (269) 329-1850

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • kalamazoo community foundation
  • Hall Technology Iniative
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$8000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
None
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4221 East Milham Avenue
Portage, MI 49002
Website: Click here
Phone: (269) 329-0116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Milwood Middle School
Kalamazoo, MI




St Monica School
Kalamazoo, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT