Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Portage, MI
Students enrolled: 156
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
I am very satisfied with Kalamazoo Country Day School. The new head, Deb Hof, is excellent and is turning an already good school into a truly outstanding one. The teachers are interested and committed, so pupils respond with enthusiasm and willingness to learn. I am delighted that the pupils are taught how to think and to learn, rather than being educated by rote. That will fit them for their future in any field far more than information alone. I am excited about the new technology initiative including flipped classrooms and individualized lessons. The techniques in my daughter's math classes are taught by video at home, followed by reinforcment while doing 'homework' in the class setting. The small size of the school means that it has a strong community where parents enjoy spending time together too. I highly recommend that you look at the school if you are looking for an academic environment that teaches life skills rather than just how to pass tests, and where children are given confidence and support to be the best they can. While it is a fee paying school, as a not-for-profit institution all the fees are going towards providing good education and facilities.

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted April 14, 2013
- a parent
We love KCDS. The teachers are excellent! The other families all share the same values - responsibility, caring, and academic excellence. That's what made this school a great fit for our family.


Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
KCDS is the best! My two children have been at the school since they were three years old and in preschool. One is currently in middle school and one in the upper elementary. This is an amazing school, with an amazing faculty! My children have thrived at this school in all ways. They love to go to school, and have made great friends. The academics are top notch and the teachers are the best around! It is a small, family-oriented school, with small class sizes, individual attention, challenging academics, and excellent extras! My kids have taken Spanish every year since preschool. The school has a strong math and science curriculum with excellent middle school faculty that fully engages the students in meaningful projects and writing assignments. Middle school is an akward time for kids anyways, but the faculty at this school has helped my child excel, (even with learning issues) and to grow and learn, while allowing her to be herself. This small middle school is the perfect place for my child. She is confident, organized, armed with study skills, and ready to take on high school! I highly recommend this school.

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended KCDS Pre-school for 2 years and we have been extremely happy with the experience. The staff has been top notch and they seem to find the right combination of work and fun for the kids. My son loves his school and has made a ton of friends.

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
KCDS is a clear winner! When we arrived in Kalamazoo a few years ago, we visited just about every private school in the area for suitability for our 2 kids. Our assessment criteria covered academic excellence, breadth of curriculum, variety and availability of extra-curricular activities of course, but we also wanted a well-managed school that was financially secure, well maintained facilities, student/teacher ratios which were small enough to ensure our kids would get individual focus and teachers who stood out when we talked to them by their passion. We weren t disappointed and in fact, we got a whole lot more! KCDS buzzes with excitement and creativity. Its supported by amazing teachers, the Head and Board who really care about the holistic development of children. A proactive Parent Association that go the extra mile putting on regular themed events throughout the year. Our children have thrived here and their confidence has grown. We feel heavily connected with this school as parents and have made multiple friends amongst this community. We re so grateful to have found this school and the amazing team who support it.


Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
KCDS has done wonders for our children, who attended the school from preschool through 8th grade. It prepared them extraordinarily well for high school. The middle school science & math curriculum is so strong that our children are breezing through AP classes in high school. We moved to a different state for high school & everyone asks which middle school did we come from. The science project experience given to students in middle school is invaluable. Because of that experience, our children won science fair competitions and competed in the state finals in high school. One of the science teachers in high school could not believe that such a strong science curriculum is being taught in a middle school anywhere in the US. He thought we may have come from an international school. The elementary school at KCDS is also excellent, and prepared the kids very well for middle school. The Spanish program at KCDS is outstanding! It enabled our children to skip first year of high school Spanish. They love the language because of the great Spanish experience they had at KCDS.

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
Sending our kids to Kalamazoo Country Day School is the best decision we have ever made as parents. Our son had a very hard time at a different school because the class size was so large and he wasn't being challenged. KCDS teaches to the top of the class while supporting the bottom, and the class size is around 15 per class. There is no limit to what our kids can accomplish and achieve at this school. We never have to worry about what our kids are learning or if they're being challenged enough. Even though it's an academically rigorous school, the teachers are all patient and caring. Tutors are at the ready to help kids who need extra assistance, and other staff members are available to help the kids who need extra challenge. We can't say enough about this precious little school!

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
Kalamazoo Country Day has been a great fit for our family. New to the Kalamazoo-area five years ago, we sought a school with full accreditation from the Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS). The academics have exceeded our expectations, as has the quality of the teachers and faculty. Love the annual science fair, the Spanish program that meets daily, the middle school's integrated social studies, literature and composition program, and the arts enriched through partnering with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra. Most importantly, our son and daughter are happy.


Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
Our 2 children are excelling at KCDS! We came to KCDS last spring from a locally owned, for profit private school. What a difference! Everyone is very nice and helpful. The curriculum is up to date and progressive. KCDS offers top knotch technology. Teachers go above and beyond to help your child succeed. Our kids' zest for learning has blossomed in this environment.

Kalamazoo Country Day School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
One of my children presently attends this school and throughout the years has had very capable and stable teachers which have given him a solid base for his future education. My other child had attended the pre-school through eighth grade here and was well prepared for the honors track in high school. The student to teacher ratio is excellent and the students are consistently supervised and guided. The teachers are always available for any questions or concerns from parents. A wide range of subjects and projects are taught to the children giving them a well-rounded education by the time they graduate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kalamazoo Country Day School
4221 East Milham Avenue, Portage, MI  49002
(269) 329-0116
Last modified Kalamazoo Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Kalamazoo Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top